Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Pearl Izumi Men' Select Gel FF Glove, Medium, Black
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 11, 2011
Most full-finger gloves are designed for mountain bikers. Mountain bikers and road bikers hold the handlebars differently, so the padding and reinforcing on mountain bike gloves is usually inadequate for road biking.

These PI Select Gel gloves have a medium amount of padding in the palm, which is good enough if you're not leaning on the handlebars all day (use your core muscles instead). Most importantly, they are reinforced along the inside of the thumb and forefinger, which is where road bikers usually grip the handlebar and shift and brake. Mountain bike gloves start to self-destruct on me after a couple of weeks, but these PI gloves are still going strong after I used them all spring. Can't beat the $20 price here, either.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2011
Gloves returned after first ride.

These Pearl Izumi Select Gel Full Finger gloves have a stylish look and breathable mesh uppers, but the construction falls short at a critical point: where your palms meet the cushioning.

I have a pair that I purchased back in 2008, which were manufactured with a one piece leather (or leather-like) lining that completely covers the silicon/gel pads. I went through several different pairs of gloves at the time, looking for padding protection for the heels of my palms during my daily commute and longer rides on the weekends. The old models were the closest thing to perfection that I found in the <$45 range.

These newer models have a thin layer of poorly sewn nylon that leaves the edges of the gel pads exposed. The exposed edges were initially unnoticeable, but 5 or 6 miles into my first ride, the discomfort caused me to remove the gloves and give them a more careful inspection. I was surprised that Pearl Izumi put out a product where the frayed nylon edges of the un-hemmed lining were so readily visible.

It's hard not to assume that Pearl began cutting back on quality (and cost) soon after Shimano took over the company a few years back.

UPDATE April 2103: Found a great replacement: Specialized Body Geometry Gel Long Finger Gloves. Breathable, comfortable padding and, after a year's use, I'd say they are quite durable.

By the way: this same issue occurs with the Pearl Izumi Elite gloves Pearl Izumi Elite Gelvent FF Glove
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2012
I bought a pair of these gloves recently and as soon as I put them on noticed a tear along one of the seams. I look them back to the store and exchanged them for another pair which I have worn on about 10 rides. Sunday while on a long charity ride I noticed that the seam along the left index finder has split open. Two for two is enough for me to avoid in the future
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2012
I know that these gloves are designed for cycling, but I found them to be outstanding for HPDE (Track Days). I was at Willow Springs over the weekend in the Mojave Desert, and it was 115 degrees. My hands stayed cool and I never once had to take them off the wheel to wipe the sweat off of them. The combination of the fabric, the mesh, etc. made them perfect. The gel cushions are very low-profile and so don't interfere with gripping the steering wheel. The fingertips and the base of the fingers have grippy material that provides better grip than sweaty hands ever would.

My only problem with the gloves (and the reason I'm not giving them 5 stars) is that when putting them on, the velcro-type closure ends up getting caught on the fabric of the finger of the other glove. So, after only 1 day of use, some of the white fabric on the index finger of my right glove is looking worn. I'm careful now to pull the gloves on without touching the velcro, but it does make it slightly awkward putting them on.

I would not recommend these for 'normal' driving. The grippy bits make it hard to allow the steering wheel slide through your hands as you should do while driving normally. However, on the track, this is not an issue because you don't let go of the wheel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2012
Great gloves for using on your road bike. The little bit of gel in the palm completely alleviates pressure. The sleek black looks great with my steal road bike. A previous reviewer mentioned that they didn't keep his hands warm.. these gloves are really to help alleviate sweat and pressure, not to keep your hands warm. If you're looking for something to keep the mits warm look for something else.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2013
I bought these gloves for a bike trip that my old Boy Scout troop does every other year at spring break. I love the gel pad at the palms, the only problem I had with them was they seemed to run a little small I bought a medium thinking that would be large enough and as I said they seemed to be a little small. The fabric would be great for late spring or summer for those mornings that might be a little chilly but not great for eary spring or windy weather.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2013
Most full finger gloves are made for colder weather. I wanted something light weight and moisture wicking for warmer weather. This are excellent gloves with decent padding and thin, lightweight material used. They look and feel great. High quality velcro closure. Generally I can fit medium gloves but buy Pearl Izumi gloves one size larger --they are nice and snug.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2011
I've only worn these gloves a few times but, like all Pearl Izumi items I own, they are a good quality product. I do prefer my fingerless Pearl gloves for the dexterity they provide. Wearing these makes it next to impossible to adjust the volume or anything else on my ipod, but that is pretty much to be expected. Other than that, they are an excellent choice for the cold weather biker!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2012
Others have said these allow too much air through the front. If you live somewhere with snow on teh ground, these arent for you. In AZ, FL, TX, CA etc., these are perfect to take the edge off the wind-chill and still provide a comfortable riding golve. Ive only worn these for 100 - 200 miles, but so far they're holding up OK.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2012
I have had these for a little over a month and the seams have already come apart on two of the finders. I have used them 5 or 6 times. My girlfriend has the women's version of this glove and she had the same problem. Pearl Izumi usually makes great stuff, but they have really dropped the ball on these. Try a different brand.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.