Automotive Deals Summer Reading Shop Women's Clothing Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 11, 2010
I have mixed emotions about this cookbook because the three recipes I have cooked (Chicken Lettuce Wraps, Beef and Bell Pepper Stir Fry, and Double Chocolate Pancakes with Strawberry Sauce) were fantastic. The reason I only gave the book three stars is that several of the recipes are obviously flawed. On page 106, the Mediterranean Meatloaf calls for 1/4 pounds (sic) ground turkey and no other meat. I'm guessing that's not enough meat to make a meatloaf for 6 people and perhaps it was supposed to be 1 1/4 pounds. On page 178, the picture of the Summer Squash Tian clearly includes both yellow squash and zucchini but the recipe doesn't include zucchini.

I haven't studied the book enough to know if there are other errors and I will still try other recipes, it just seems like a lot of money for a book that needed more time with the editor.

UPDATE: Joy wrote to let me know that the error in the Mediterranean Meatloaf recipe will be corrected in future printings so I've updated my rating to five stars. And just so you know, I've tried three more recipes, the Hoisin-Glazed Salmon, Summer Squash Tian (I added zucchini), and Sesame Chicken Tenders and they were all very good. With recipes corrected, this is definitely a 5-Star cookbook!
1414 comments| 96 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2010
I decided to try this cookbook after viewing Joy's segment on the Today show. I have to admit I was tired of cooking healthy boring meals for me, and then cooking something else for the family as they were sick of my "healthy meals". I was definately stuck in a rut, and to be honest I figured there were only so many ways to cook healthy, and I'm not that adventurous when it comes to cooking.
I have only had this book for a week and I can't wait to try all the recipes. The 3 I have cooked so far (Beef and Bell Pepper, Turkey Meatballs and AJ's Mac n Cheesy) have been a huge hit, not only with me, but my family. They have been pouring over the pages and fighting over what they want me to make next. Finally, meals I can cook that are not only healthy but tasty enough that everyone in my family will eat them. No more cooking something for me and then something else for them. This is HUGE!! Joy, thanks for making it enjoyable, easy and most importantly healthy.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2010
I have a terrible secret, I cannot cook. Burnt toast? Yes. Overcooked pasta? Guilty as charged! Food going to waste in the fridge? That would be me too. Recently, for dietary and budgetary reason I decided it was time to take the plunge and try to learn how to cook. When browsing through the endless amount of cook books out there this book caught my eye as I've always enjoyed Joy Bauer's advice on the Today Show. The recipes looked easy enough for a non-experienced cook to try. WELL, let me tell you, she had me at the Cashew Chicken Wraps!! I bought a hand chopper to make the prep work easy, and they actually tasted delicious. Healthy, easy to prepare and far less expensive than eating out. The sense of accomplishment I felt... well, it was something. Since then I have tried many of the other recipes in the book and have been cooking every week. I purchased a copy for a friend who happens to be an excellent cook, and she has been raving about it as well. The recipes in this book are easy to make, delicious and most importantly, HEALTHY. Joy certainly delivers the goods in this book, for inexperienced and experienced cooks alike. Thanks to Joy, I no longer fear the kitchen, I am eating healthy and spending a lot less money. AWESOME!!!!!
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2010
HUGE thank you to Joy Bauer for this amazing book!!
I have tried many of the recipes and they are all so yummy, it's hard to believe how healthy they actually are.
I was skeptical at some (really, no olive oil in hummus??) but OMG, I am a believer now!!
Some of my favorites: double chocolate pancakes, cream of broccoli soup, ratatouille lentil stew, sesame chicken tenders, lemon-dill salmon cakes, slim-style hummus and buttermilk ranch dip.
This would make a GREAT Mother's day gift ;-)
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2010
It's hard to find a cookbook that you actually use so often that it looks old after two weeks. I have always enjoyed cooking nutrient dense foods, but few cookbooks address both the "yummy" when their sole focus is on weight loss. Although I am lean, it is horrible being a guest at someone's house for dinner when they serve white bread, white pasta or any meal that compromises my health: I would eat everything on their table if I were served the recipes offered in this book. I am very health conscious and refuse to eat foods that are unhealthy. Since I suffer from Rheumatoid Arthritis and need to stay lean and mean, there is no better cookbook to date, which addresses the need for high fiber, nutrient dense, delicious meals while offering practical advice such as bringing out the taste without the salt, using fiber for prolonged energy or using indoor herbs year round to cut costs and up the taste bud factor at the same time.

I am not one for having to go out shopping for ingredients I have never heard of, nor do I have the patience for cookbooks which reek of processed foods and mounds of butter. This book has beautiful illustrations and a smart outlook on living healthy, living happily and above all - practical meals that are easy to prepare.

With this book, Joy Bauer not only addresses le joie de vivre with food, but also the rising epidemic of obesity in our nation. This is a must for every household. Children need to loved with nourishing foods, not greasy comfort foods. My favorites to date? AJ'S Mac-n-Cheezy because even my picky daughter loves it too! 2. Mediterranean Meatloaf (love the idea of using spinach and zucchini) because it is flavorful without having to use salt in excess 3. Banana Pecan Bread (the idea of roasting nuts has taken on new dimensions in my household) and 4. Asian Noodle Soup: I had always enjoyed this soup but never thought of using thin, whole wheat spaghetti so that I could make it myself.

This is the best book that has happened to me since I can remember.

Elizabeth Wald
Port Chester, NY
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2010
As big fans of Joy Bauer's weekly Today Show segments, we couldn't wait to run out and buy her new book, "Slim & Scrumtious". We are seafood lovers, so the first recipe we decided to try was the shrimp jumbalaya. My wife and I both loved it! Next up will be the chicken lettuce wraps~ We find the recipes to be simple, with the instructions easy and uncomplicated. We have always preferred recipes that do not take half the afternoon to put together. "Slim & Scrumtious" seems to be a cookbook with this very idea in mind. Knowing that the dishes we are preparing are healthy and do not contain a lot of processed ingredients make them all the better!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2010
The thing about Joy Bauer is that she UNDERSTANDS that we still want to eat delicious food even when we're trying to eat healthfully. I live in New York City and am surrounded by incredible food options every day. I am totally spoiled when it comes to good food. So I try to maintain a healthy lifestyle, without sacrificing the flavor and quality of my food... Joy's recipes make this so easy! I cook for my husband and myself as much as possible... And on saturday mornings, it feels really good to be able to enjoy a big plate of "Strawberry Shortcakes" (delicious, buttermilk pancakes) or Eggs Benedict! We also entertain a lot -- and it's important to me to offer our friends and family healthy food that is "guest-worthy"... Some of my favorites from this book are Bacon-Wrapped Brussels Sprouts (yum!), Cinnamon-Sugar Sweet Potato Fries, awesome dips, hummus, and even cookies! I have a major sweet tooth -- so desserts are a must. I am thrilled with the new recipes in this cookbook! And I'm already waiting for Joy to come out with another one.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2010
I have purchased more cookbooks then I care to think about. I am constantly searching the web for new ideas. I think I am done buying any more cookbooks AND searching the web because this book is AWESOME!!!!!!! Everything I have cooked so far has been a hit. The recipes are so straight forward and all of the instructions are precise and well thought out. I love how she'll explain that while something is cooking you can start chopping the veggies (or something like that) and her times are perfect! The food has been so flavorful without being overpowering. I highly, highly recommend this book to anyone...you don't need to be watching what you're eating because again, this is one healthy cookbook that didn't forget that people like their food with flavor!!!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2010
I hate to cook and my family usually does not enjoy when I do so. I have already treated them to 4 of Joy Bauer's recipes and not only were they delicious and healthy- but also easy and fast! Thank you Joy- I am my family's hero, and you are mine!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2010
Joy Bauer's "Slim & Scrumptious" is a fantastic cookbook, because unlike many others, it manages to combine intriguing foods and flavors in a health conscious, family friendly, and easy to prepare package. I regularly enjoy recipes, which she shows on "Today," and have equally savored many of the recipes in this book. Among several of my family's favorites: Bacon-Wrapped Brussels Sprouts, Cinnamon-Sugar Sweet Potato Fries, Frozen Hot Chocolates, Parm and Pepper Egg White Salad, Sicilian Quinoa Salad, Asian Noodlle Salad, and AJ's Mac-N-Cheezy. When we made the Frozen Hot Chocolates they were such a light and pleasant surprise. You will most certainly not be disappointed by "Slim &Scrumptious".
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse