Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stephen Marley Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 4, 2012
Kelty Cosmic 35 Sleeping Bag (2011 model)

Size Regular:

Length: 78 in. / 198 cm
Shoulder girth: 62 in. / 157 cm
Fits To 6 ft./ 183 cm
Fill weight: 19 oz. / 0.53 kg
Total weight: 2 lb. 6 oz. / 1.06 kg
Stuff Size: 8 in. x 14 in./ 20 cm x 36 cm
Temp Rating: 35° / 2°C
Insulation: Cloudloft(tm) Pro
Inner Shell: 50D polyester taffeta
Outer Shell: 50D polyester taffeta
Zipper Type: Right Side Zipper - 57 inches - 3/4 of length.
Color: Jet Black

Nice and comfortable (without tightening hood/shoulder cords) sleeping bag - not too long as many others, "regularly" sized, that's why it's my choice -I am 5'8", 145 Lb. I compared side-by-side 4 bags of the similar price range: Marmot Aspen Minimalist 40, North Face Wasatch 40, Kelty Cosmic 35 (2010 model, Solid Black, Regular), and this one, which is a winner.
1) Marmot Aspen Regular - the best quality hood design for synthetic inexpensive bags, very good materials, a good compression sack, but way too long (extra 1 foot), too narrow and ONLY LEFT zipper - sorry - out.
2) NF Wassatch Reg. - still longer than needed, too wide for me, though a good quality bag and its stuff sack smaller/better size than Kelty's.
3) Kelty Cosmic 35 Reg. (2010 model, Solid Black, sold on amazon by 3rd party) the same as finally purchased 2011 Kelty Cosmic 35, but the zipper is TOO SHORT - 47 in., which is 2/3 instead of promised 3/4 of a length. About 2 feet of your legs are not ventilated by opening extra space, WHY? Designers/manufacturer had ruined a good bag in 2010 with the short zipper (IMHO).

This bag, Kelty Cosmic 35, 2011, Pros:

Water repelled (as well as others above), tested with dripping water - holds well.
Comfortable width (for me) not be snagged and move/turn around during the night.
Top insulation layer is thicker than bottom one.
Breathable enough not to be hot for up to 68 degrees low overnight (used with internal silk liner and no layers)
Internal liner loops
Sleeping pad security loops (Marmot and NF don't have them)
Zipper doesn't snag.
Light, just a little over 2 lbs.

Cons:
FatMan and Ribbon drawcords without drafts on the hood, only thin fabric, not good on my face. Marmot Aspen hood, which I love, is much better and more comfortable. Kelty down bags have similar soft drafted hood too, why not this one?

Staff sack is too big (8"x14"): NF Wassatch staff sack (almost 2 inches shorter and narrower) fits this Kelty bag just right, Marmot Aspen 40 compression sack makes Kelty bag twice smaller to pack than original staff sack. I'll find something to reduce its packed size.

Have not checked it in 40 degrees yet, but feels and looks warmer than Marmot and NF 40 degree bags with noticeably thinner top insulation layer.

Very fast Amazon shipping, very well packed the Kelty retail box inside the shipping box. Perfect Amazon service!
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2011
I dont think I have ever paid more than $30 for a sleeping bag and just went to my local Walmart to pick one up. Well after years of busted sleeping bags and multiple trips to Walmart, those $30 started adding up! I finally decided to purchase this high quality spleeping bag and let me tell you, I wish I would have bought it years ago. It is absolute comfortable, light, easy to clean, durable and will definitely keep you warm while camping! High recommend it!
11 comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2012
The main reason I purchased this sleeping bag was because of the weight to temperature ratio. This is a 35 degree sleeping bag that only weighs 1lb. 15oz. for the short model. I was very impressed with the warmth of the bag, I slept in my tent with both doors unzipped when temperatures dropped below 50 that night. I was able to sleep with the bag unzipped most of the night and was still very comfortable. I would have rated the bag with 5 stars but I do have two small complaints. The first being the fact that the stuff sack included is much too large for the bag. When inside the stuff sack the bag could still be compressed further by several inches. My second complaint is with the mattress straps. They are described as loops to hold the bag in place on a sleeping pad or mattress but I found no discernible way to attach them to a mattress. Those two minor points aside I am very pleased with my purchase and plan to use this as a 3 to 3.5 season bag for backpacking and camping/fishing trips in the future.
11 comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2012
I have slept in this bag 3 times. The first night it was 38F on a thick coleman style air mattress without an insulator under the bag. Mid way through the night I could feel the cold conducting from the mattress through the bottom of the bag, not freezing, but it was clearly noticeable. After reading about this common issue, I used a thick insulator on top of the air mattress and stayed toasty warm down to 34F the next two nights. This bag is thicker on the top than the bottom so this makes sense, especially since conduction is a more efficient form of thermal transfer than convection. I was wearing thermals a cap and wool socks. This bag is super light and compacts nicely, but I would recommend a real compression sack for back packing.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2013
Like most bags, add about 15 degrees to get the true rating. This bag is suitable for summertime use, down to 50 degrees, maybe 45 if you bundle up. I bought the regular size and it was too small for my 6 foot, 185 pound frame. Otherwise the bag is fine. It's lightweight and compresses down to a small size.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2014
I purchased this sleeping bag in addition to an enormous sleeping bag that I own that is not suitable for backpacking trips. This Kelty bag is literally 1/4 the size of my other sleeping bag when in the stuff sack and easily fits in the bottom compartment of my backpack along with my ENO hammock/hammock accessories. This bag does not include a compression sack, just a stuff sack. That said I believe this can even compress smaller! I'm 5'2" and bought this in short. I had plenty of room to sleep sideways which is how I typically sleep. I am not a back sleeper so this being my first mummy I was happy with the roominess. I used this bag this past weekend on a camping trip where days were hot and nights were chilly (high 40s/low 50s). I did get a little cold at night and even in nice summer temperatures, I would advise wearing a layer to bed. If I were sleeping in a tent I would be able to slither into this bag with ease however, I was sleeping in a hammock and the experience was a little difficult to maneuver. I found the zipper a tad hard to pull while in the hammock. This sleeping bag was easy to roll on an even surface albeit slippery and returns nicely to it's stuff sack. What this bag misses that was a feature on my other bag is it's interlocking ability for better roll control. The reason for the 4 star review and not a 5: Knowing this is a 3/4 zip, I didn't realize how much I'd miss a full zip sleeping bag. Overall I am happy with this sleeping bag and plan to use it for 5 more upcoming car and backpacking camping trips. I will post a follow-up review in the near future.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2014
When it first arrived I was a little leery. It seemed so thin and small compared to my lumpy much loved but seriously worn out bag. After using it I can say I'm really impressed. Every night I've slept in it I've stayed toasty and warm even the two nights where it was 39 degrees outside I felt fine. Love being able to get it in a short size to save weight and space since I'm only 5 feet 2 inches. Its a perfect fit for me but I think if you are even a few inches taller I'd move up to the next size. Another thing I worried about was if it would feel to binding since I'm not a tiny woman like what a lot of camping gear seems to be made for but actually I have plenty of room and can easily turn over or sleep on my side. It fits in it's stuff sack easily and also fits in the sleeping section of my Kelty Lakota much better than my last bag did even though I'm just using the stuff sack provided and not a compression sack.

Because we do some much camping in all kinds of locations I don't expect to use this bag every time we head out but for the warmer trips we take I really think it's going to be perfect. Since we've been replacing our aging equipment I'm now eying the Cosmic Down 0 degree bag for our mountain trips where even in the summer it can get very chilly at night. We are NOT hardcore hike till you die types but we camp a lot and do a lot of travel where everything needs to work perfectly, be small and light since we're stuck carrying it for a month or more at a time.

I probably use a sleeping bag at least 150+ nights a year. My work involves photographing music festivals so we're always on the go. We car camp at ten or more music festivals, hike in at anther four or five festivals and between festivals if we have time we like to hike the national forest every year. Also I take backpacking international trips as often as I can and actually purchased this to replace very old sleeping bag for a trip to Costa Rica that we are leaving for soon. After Aura Music Festival, Envision Music Festival and Costa I'll update this review again with how it held up but so far I'm really pleased.

Update - Did a great job but on cold wet nights I definitely need a little extra help for warmth. Completely love this bag just understand if you're going into the mountains at elevation no matter what time of year you may need a little extra help keeping warm.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2012
I bought a couple of these, and so far they have exceeded expectations. They are suitably warm, and are big enough for me (6 ft, 200 lbs) (I do sleep with the zipper mostly undone...) The so-called compression sack they come with is very disappointing, not very small and not very compressing--in fact, I am taking off a star because of it! But I bought the SMALL Kelty Compression Stuff Sack, and this bag WILL FIT into that sack!!! And at only 2 lbs, in that compression sack, it makes for a very small, very light, very back-packable package.
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2014
I finally decided to replace my 20 year old North Face bag. My old North Face was great for all of my camping needs, but I noticed the newer bags were much lighter and smaller. In not wanting to spend a ton I chose this Kelty bag as my 3 season bag. As I only camp in Texas I assumed this would be sufficient since I don't ever go camping when it's below freezing. My first night using this bag was cooler than I expected, right around 35 degrees. I assumed I'd be fine, but I wasn't. I froze and had a pretty uncomfortable night. My feet and my entire backside (I'm a side sleeper) were way too cold.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2012
I went camping in late October and woke up with ice on the tent. i am unsure of the actual temperature but was completely warm, actually hot all night. I'm 6', 225lb and had plenty of room in the bag.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 9 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.