Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Stephen Marley Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
19
Price:$44.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 16, 2008
I picked up Hodgson Mill's Buckwheat pancake mix at my local grocery, not expecting anything much, but knowing how good buckwheat is for one's health. Wow, was I surprised to find pancakes or belgian waffles made with this taste great, too!

I find that pancake/waffle batter is a wonderful place to hide healthy additions like soy protein powder (add a little water), flax seed, etc. I use organic coconut oil and add fun items like chocolate chips, banana, or walnuts to the batter for a breakfast that makes me (and my whole family) feel upbeat and energetic for many hours into the day, even if I only have one pancake!

Well done, Hodgson Mill!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2013
These make 'cakes that will keep you full for hours. There's no sugar rush followed by a sugar crash as is the case with typical pancakes. My only complaint is that they cook up very dry. I've followed the directions in re: the oil amt., but may add applesauce to make them moister. They hold up very well to the blueberries, bananas, and pecans I throw in the mix, and can take a very strong syrup like cane or molasses. There's no price savings by buying them from Amazon, but my grocery store doesn't always have them in stock, so I stocked up via my fav. shopping place: Amazon.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2013
My parents always had buckwheat pancakes. My brother and did not know what regular pancakes were. Buckwheat mixes are almost impossible to find in stores. Finding this was a delight. I have given a box to my son in law who also grew up on buckwheats. I will purchase this again when supply is gone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2010
Made pancakes the day after I received it and was very pleased. Hadn't had buckwheat pancakes since I was just a young one. They were great.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2013
Mix is to coarse @ gritty like corn meal. Some people may like this because it's so hearty, I do not. Even when I mixed it with normal pancake mix it was to gritty. This is not the Buckwheat pancake mix I grew up with. I hope the local food pantry likes the five boxes I am stuck with.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2010
This pancake mix does not taste gritty. They are pretty light and fluffy, and taste great.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2015
This was very good! I had gotten it before, and wanted more, but couldn't remember what I had gotten. I tried another brand/supplier, and it was just as good, although a lot more expensive! The Hodgson Mill Buckwheat pancakes were every bit as good, and a much better value.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2012
It is very hard to find at the store. So I ordered it online Thanks to amazon. It is great with blueberries and lemon zest and anything else you want to put in it. They make a great meal. Thanks again. I hope this helps.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2010
Its been a long time since I had Buck wheat pancakes and waffles. Just had a desire to try them again. They are just as goods as I remember and this product has a great taste as well as being economical.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2013
Excellwnt buckwheat pancakes. My wife likes them a little thinner than the recipe. I like to add some baking powder to make them fluffier. they have a good buckwheat flavor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.