Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Gitzo GT1542T Series 1 6X Carbon Fiber Traveler 4 Section G-Lock Tripod for Cameras
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 24, 2013
The ballhead must be removed for this to folded to its stated dimensions. The newer 1544t has a shorter center column to allow for the ballhead to be covered by the legs when they are folded back. I bought this one and was disappointed until I realized they came up with the 1544t. Much better and only a few bucks more. The only difference again is the slightly shorter center column. 99.9% of the time you should not raise the center column anyway to keep the tripod more stable. I now have the 1544t with a Really Right Stuff BH-30 ball head and the combo is perfect for backpacking and travel.
1515 comments| 53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2013
I purchased this tripod for a recent international trip as I was traveling with only carry-on luggage and my other tripod is far too large to fit in such an arrangement. Knowing that this is a rather tiny unit, I didn't have particularly high hopes regarding overall stability, even considering the name brand. It turns out I was mostly wrong and this unit has done so much to impress me that I've yet to go out with my large tripod since obtaining this one. It works very well for me. It won't necessarily work very well for you, so please read on.

I'm 5'11" and with the legs fully extended, the center column all the way up, with a Really Right Stuff BH-40 and a Nikon D600, the viewfinder sits maybe an inch below eye level. As far as I'm concerned, this is as close to perfect as I'm ever going to get from a tiny tripod. Yes, I'd much rather have a tripod that gets to eye level with no center column for the added stability, but that's clearly not going to happen with this class of tripod.

The unit is mostly very stable, but not as stable as the Manfrotto 055 series. My other tripod is a Manfrotto 055CXPRO3 and it's a tank. It's also ridiculously stable. It's also a completely different class of tripod, thus making the comparison a bit ridiculous. I guess what I'm saying is that if you value stability more than portability, shop elsewhere. There is a little bit of wobble if you have the center column up and there's wind, but I've not had any issues with the center column down. This is a little surprising given the 4 section legs and how small the end sections are. I'll chalk it up as a testament to the quality of engineering. Also, my Manfrotto, which I previous thought was very nice, kinds of looks like a toy compared to the tiny Gitzo, which is very clean. Not that the look of a tripod has anything to do with anything, but I thought it was worth mentioning.

Finally it's worth noting that this thing is, as advertised, tiny and lightweight. On an interesting note, to fold it down to its smallest size the center column must be fully extended and the legs inverted. I'm yet to get tired carrying it around, and I can easily clip it to my camera bag without worrying about it getting in the way of anything, both of which are issues I frequently have with my big tripod. It very easily fits into carry-on luggage, even my somewhat awkwardly shaped backpack, and it weighs as close to nothing as you're likely to find in a nice tripod.

Buy this tripod if:
- You need a good, stable tripod that collapses very small, but also extends quite a bit.

Do not buy this tripod if:
- You ultimately require more stability and height over portability.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2011
I told myself "I'll never spend $600 on a tripod! How good could it be?" Well, when I was at a local photo store I lifted a Gitzo Mountaineer in one hand and the Induro Alloy 8M Tripod AT-213 (Black) I already have in the other. The difference in weight was surprising. The Traveler is even a bit lighter. It's so much lighter than any aluminum tripod out there.

For traveling the Traveler folds up to a bit over 20" with the legs folding up over the head. I have a Manfrotto 498RC2 Ball Head with Quick Release Replaces Manfrotto 488RC2 ballhead and unfortunately I have to remove it to fold the legs back. Not a big deal but a bit of a pain.

If you carry a tripod with you hiking or just walking around town you'll quickly appreciate the weight savings this offers. It's good quality construction and should last years and years. A bag would be nice, as would spiked feet (both available as options).
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2012
I bought this as a tripod for traveling (duh). I also purchased a Benro B-2 head for it, and never intended to raise the center column. Turns out that this thing is almost as stable as my Gitzo explorer, and way way smaller folded and 60% lighter. I have since switched my Acratech GP ballhead from my explorer to this traveler, and it is now my primary pod. It will handle my 5D mk2 with EF100-400mm (heavy) attached in gimbal mode (hanging off the side of the Acratech). Drop the center column and I can even use it on a windy day! This is a fantastically light and sturdy little tripod worthy of more than just traveling. If you are willing to part with the considerable coin this thing costs, you may never buy another tripod again...
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2011
Bought this for hiking with my Leica M9 and have found it to be very light to carry and very stable. The quality of build is superb. I use it with the RRS BH-30 and occasionally the RRS panorama rig and it makes a steady platform for that also.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2011
This may be the ultimate travel tripod. It should definitely be in the upper quadrant of travel tripods. It is pricey but good. The quality to excellent. The ease of use is noteworthy. I have travelled several times, by plane with this tripod, and it is very convenient. I have yet to be asked to check it. This includes international travel. It fits very well in my carryon bag and the slightly over 2 pound weight is not a bother. This tripod, despite being light weight, is very steady. And the fact that the bottom of the center piece has a hook that you can attach your camera bag to increase the steadiness is a very convenient feature. Thus far I am glad I bought this tripod.
33 comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2011
I live in Japan where these branded tripods cost around 150% more than in the US. With the strong Yen the Gitzo is a bargain when bought in the US, even with shipping charges added. The Gitzo arrived two days after I ordered it; incredible. To compare I also bought a Manfrotto and a Benro Travelangel (the Benro from eBay). In terms of stability, compact size, low weight, and build quality, the Gitzo is the clear winner. I am partly disabled and only use lightweight gear, so no large lenses or monster camera bodies; with heavier equipment maybe the Gitzo would flex but for my Sony A55 it is rock solid.
I will now sell the Manfrotto and Benro on Yahoo! Auctions Japan for maybe 15% more than I paid for them on Amazon...
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2015
I got this for Jane who needs a lightweight tripod for traveling. She uses the new Nikon 80-400 on a D610, or a 16-35 VR Nikon. It is perfect for her. She couldn't carry the heavier tripods we have. It is stable with the 80-400 on a Mongoose 3.6 gimbal with the optional arm that allows the lens to be mounted lens foot down instead of sideways, which is essential for her.

My only complaint, is that unlike my other tripods there is no set screw in the center post plate to which the gimbal is attached. In the field without the set screw, a ball head tends to loosen and rotate on the center post plate, causing stability problems.

I posted this issue and all responses are that this center post mounting plate is not supplied with a set screw.

Inspection of the plate reveals that there is a hole in the plate, but it is unthreaded and does not completely penetrate the mounting plate.

Gitzo.l Here is a suggestion. Put a set screw in camera plate to prevent a ball head from rotating unintentionally.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2014
If you want to get the best lightweight compact tripod available, this is it (for now, late 2014). Very solid quality, extremely well-made, and very functional. The twist-lock legs extend and lock very quickly, and the twist lock is quieter (for wildlife shooting) and more durable than lever leg locks. The legs have the excellent Gitzo G-lock technology which prevents the legs from collapsing or sliding up. The long center column can be quickly removed so that you can lower the tripod almost to the ground. You can also replace the center column with a shorter one (for sale Amazon and elsewhere), so it will fold up more compactly, with the ball-head between the legs. The GT1542T really is the best for a lightweight compact tripod. Gitzo has more heavy-duty tripods, but they are not so light and small. BTW, possibly the best ball-head for this tripod is the Markins Q-Ball Q3i Traveler w/ Lever Release. Markins makes very nice ball-heads, and this one is specially modified for the Gitzo Traveler tripod. It's very sturdy and compact, just like the Traveler tripod, and is rated up to 65 lbs. load capacity, while weighing less than one pound.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2012
This is an amazing tripod. It is super light (~2 lbs), folds small (~16.75" without head), has a very clever design, and is very stable to boot. I never thought a tripod is worth $500+ until I bought this one.

With my Canon 5D Mark II, I regularly shoot my Canon 70-200 f/2.8L II lens with a Canon EF Extender 1.4x III on it, as well as my Canon 100-400 f/4.5-5.6L, and my tilt shift lenses, without stability or vibration issues. This tripod is rated to 15.5 lbs. In comparison, my Manfrotto 055CXPRO3 is significantly larger and heavier, and is rated to 17.75 lbs. With my larger telephotos, there is little if any noticeable performance gain using the Manfrotto. If there is any wobble, just hang something from the hook on the bottom of the Gitzo center pole, which is like an anchor for the tripod.

The design is very clever. The center pole can be removed for extra weight savings. With the center pole removed, the tripod can also extend down just barely over the ground. The legs flip up when transported, which shortens its length to less than 17". To put this size into perspective, I can put the tripod in a regular sized backpack or a regular sized messenger bag with the head removed. The twist locks on the legs open and close very quickly; much quicker than the locks on my Manfrotto tripod.

To take advantage of the light weight of this tripod, use a light weight head. I have a Markins Q3T ball head on mine, and it is superb. Very light weight, very secure. Although my other ball head -- the Really Right Stuff BH-55 with pano clamp -- is solid as a rock, I actually prefer the Gitzo/Markins combo because of the weight savings.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 8 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.