Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Shop Women's Clothing Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Enter for the chance to win front row seats to Barbra Streisand Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
40
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 27, 2010
I suffered from plantar fasciitis, and could never find a shoe that seemed to help the problem of over-pronating. Finally, I found these babies, and I am back in the game. Lightweight, great balance, they hug the foot and keep me landing squarely. The absorbent cushioning also helped correct a little knee discomfort I felt during runs over 12km. They're equally good on both the treadmill and the road. They are not as breezy as other shoes (my Reeboks were great for letting in the breeze), but it's not like they're a sauna, either.

I bought a size larger than usual to accommodate my orthotics, and I've heard it recommended to buy a half-size larger even without adding extra support.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2011
Been running Asics for routine runs and marathons and they have kept my feet and knees very happy. I have had the GT 21xx's and the Nimbus. I think the 3020's are more snug then the GT's for my feet in a good, glove way (am slight over protonator and wide). The gel adds extra comfort and I like the stiffer, higher heel cushion compared to the GT's. I am a lazy man who does not like to lace up all the time or use a shoe horn. Finally they were at a better price point the nimbus and I didn't see the added value in paying more for them. I am still breaking them in but expect them to provide a comfortable ride for 400-500 miles.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2011
I have a foot problem (Plantar fasciitis). I am not a sports or athletic person. I do 50% Brisk walk and 50% running. I used low to medium range shoes (including Reebok and Asics GEL 1150 series)in the past. Asics GEL 1150 was good for walking and slow running but, for a medium phase running, I feel strain. Also, some times the pain kicks in.

Now the new GEL-3020 : Used it for about 2 weeks now. Don't see much difference (including comfort) for a walk / brisk walk (compared to GEL-1150). Running (especially medium phase @ 5.5 miles/h), I see 30 % plus difference. Better grip/control, less strain. Felt the running was more easier / comfortable than earlier. Didn't get into the Plantar fasciitis problem. The price paid was more than double (compared to GEL 1150) but, GEL-3020 are well worth the money. Strongly recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2013
I bought this shoes twice in a span of 2 and half years. I got the second one from Amazon since they stopped selling this shoe(a new version had come out). I wanted the same for the third time but unfortunately it was not available on Amazon in my size. I suggest GEL 2000 which is an upgrade to this shoe. And if you are willing to spend a little more, get a Asics Kayano 19. All these shoes cater towards people who overpronator. Hence, this gives a good stability control with cushion control.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2012
I got hooked on Asics back in my wrestling days. I still love running although I am much heavier now. I have worked out and run in about every possible brand, Nike, Saucony, New Balance, Reebok, etc.. I ALWAYS came back to my Asics. Have been a tried and true fan for the last 10 years. And buying Asics on sale is pure bonus!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2013
I suffer from something called DISH disease, where my spine is starting to fure itself together. When I walk it hurts like hell and I needed a pair of shoes that would cusion my hear strike and these do the trick.

Very well made and comfortable for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2011
I'm moving up from the Gel-1000 series, which has been my running shoe of the last three purchases. The shoe's a great deal for one of Asics's top-of-the-line stability shoes, but that's because it's a model year behind (the current iteration is the 3030). But that was fine by me... let others pay top dollar for the brand new shoe, and I'll pay deep discounts by buying last year's model. Suckers.

Shoe's great: it's my distance shoe, which I alternate with the NB Minimus Trail. The shoe's a solid stability shoe for neutral runners (which I am) and overpronators. You won't go wrong with it.

Major props to Road Runner Sports, who got the shoe to me very quickly, shipping it the very day I bought it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2012
These shoes are wonderful. I got them for marathon training and I have not been disappointed. they are roomey, and cool while running with lots of heel cushioning, which takes a lot of the pain out of my knees while running.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2013
Although I am a female runner, these trainers have been a godsend for my feet! I am flatfooted and overpronate, and none of my previous trainers have done any good for me (Brooks ghost, Saucony Omni.) I finally decided to try a men's shoe, reading that they are designed slightly differently than a woman's, and the relief for my feet is overwhelming! I feel like I can make the most of my running now; my muscles certainly feel it. I can still feel a little soreness in the area between my arch and my heel, but I hope this will go away as I break in the shoe.
The cushioning and stability is great, and I love the colors. The only question I have is why there are several spots on the shoe that are covered with a sort of waterproof material...? It's certainly odd, but doesn't seem to detract from the quality of the shoe.
All in all, this is a wonderful trainer that I would not hesitate to recommend!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2012
I bought these shoes for my pre-teen son who has a wider foot. He really likes them. The shoes are comfortable and not too tight. They look nice and feel good. They run true to size and provide more foot support than the other brands he wears.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.