Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on November 26, 2013
Pros:
ergonomic
accurate
fast clicks
accurate scroll wheel
two side buttons
LONG braided cable
gold-plated usb
3500 DPI capable
1000hz ultrapolling
good software

Cons:
finish wear in only a few weeks
tiny tracking gimmicks

I've heard a lot about Razer products, especially their mice. Some have said that they all are fashion, and some have worshiped them like a god. I play a pretty wide range of games from RTS to FPS to MMORPG, but I found that you only need two buttons on the side so I was in the market for a no nonsense solid mouse. I ended up buying the DeathAdder Black version. I believe this is the 2nd generation Deathadder and the black version has a rubberized finish.

My first impression on the mouse was that the Razer never holds back on designing their boxes. It's got a flip-open door that lets you see and feel the mouse (sorta over the plastic). Inside, you'll get a quick start manual, full user guide, and other useless advertising. I did not get a driver disk but you can easily get them off their website. Installation was easy, took some time, but in the end, their software is effective and easy to use. You can program macros to your mouse, set DPI (400-3500), and set yout ultrapolling (up to 1000Hz).

Now the actual mouse is actually quite impressive. I've heard stories of bad quality control but mine has no problems whatsoever. First off, the mouse is extremely comfortable. I have a medium sized hand. The length from the tip of my middle finger to my palm is about 17cm or 6.5in, give or take a little. I used to use a claw grip on my smaller mouse, but I've since transformed into a palm grip. The DeathAdder fits me like a glove. If you want an ergonomic mouse, I'd definitely recommend this. It's got a long braided cable so you don't have to worry about snags, tangles, or tears. It also sports a gold-plated USB connector. The buttons are very crisp. I believe they were designed to be like a "hair-trigger" where you can click very fast since the bottom-out distance is pretty short. The scroll wheel is suited for FPS games or any game where you need a solid click. You can feel each rotation/click on the wheel so you never go past the gun you want. If you're scrolling through long pages of Excel documents, you might want a different mouse. The side buttons are also very crisp. They aren't squishy and (at least me) I can easily discern one button from the other. They can be completely programmed using Razer's Synapse software to virtually any key or keystroke possible. It comes stock as MB5 and MB4 or forward and backward. The sensor is very nice. I heard stories about bad optical tracking but I didn't have any problems. It was probably a bad mousepad or something. Although it is capable of 3500 DPI, I have it to 1700. It comes stock at 1800. Don't buy mice just because they're capable of a million DPI, you'll never use it. The 1000Hz ultrapolling is nice. Although you really don't notice much difference, it's nice to know it's there. If you don't know what it is, it's the latency that occurs between when the mouse and the computer are transferring and receiving data.

I only have a few gripes which is why I docked a start. I've only had it for a few weeks and I can already see the finish on top of the mouse starting wearing off. Maybe I have really acidic, oily hands or something but it's kind of a bummer to see wear on a brand-new mouse. I don't know if it's a setting or just high DPI mice in general, but when I lift the mouse say 0.5cm off the pad, it continues to track. This is a little pet-peeve because when I lift the mouse to reset it's position on my pad, it twitches the screen a little bit. It kind of screws up my aiming sometimes, but I guess I just have to live with it.

In all, a really solid, no-nonsense gaming mouse. It does exactly what you want it to. Be comfortable and accurate. I'm very pleased with the quality.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on September 6, 2012
I've owned this mouse for about 3.5 months now and the surface of this mouse is already worn out. Areas of the left and rights mouse buttons, and the bottom left corner of this mouse are worn out and feel very rough to the touch. I tried contacting Razer directly and they wouldn't exchange it even though it is clearly a problem with their manufacturing of this mouse. The surface they painted on this mouse should last and remain the same for at least 6 months minimal. However, it is worn and feels extremely rough. I'm the type of person who takes very good care of my electronics, and don't have sweaty hands and oily/dirty hands when using the computer. This is my first Razer mouse, and previously used Logitech and Microsoft and never had this problem. Sure those products get worn out eventually, but NOT within 3.5 months of careful and delicate use.

Maybe it is my bad luck with this mouse, but I actually had to return two of the same mouse before due to manufacturer defects. The first one had a middle mouse scroll button that wasn't smooth and I could feel a weird click to it every time scrolled with it. The second one had a hard kink in the cable about 3 inches away from the top of the mouse. This hard kink was permanent and no matter how I twisted the cable it wouldn't budge. This meant that the mouse would always sit at a weird angle.

The poor products and very poor service is the reason I gave them two stars. I expected more from a well known company like Razer, but I am very disappointed.

Update:
This is the reply I got from Razer:
"As previously stated, we can not offer you an exchange for this product. Cosmetic damage and wear and tear is not cover under the warranty terms and conditions." ~ Terrell at Razer Technical Support

I expected a $45 dollar mouse to have better durability. I expected this company to provide better support to their customers and stand behind their products. They failed in both regards hence the two star to one star. Also I had to return two of these due to manufacturing issues I talked about above. One star is fair.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on September 10, 2012
I am editing my precious review because of what has happened. After owning this mouse less than 3 months, the wiring started to twist itself to the point where I could not untwist it. In my experience of things like this happening, it means that it will continue to twist until it finally snaps. Since Razer was kind enough to offer a 2 year warranty for free and I was passed the Amazon return date, I contacted Razer. Well THAT was the biggest mistake I could have possibly made. Expect to wait 2-7 days for a response, only to be asked for information you have already provided multiple times, plus actual proof of your purchase even though you have already registered your mouse. Follow this for no response for 5 days, calling customer service and getting an Indian who you can't understand, then having an e-mail sent the next day for a shipping label to be returned. And don't even THINK of asking for your money back, or for a different mouse! The representative told me that their "policy" does not allow exchanges for other products or refunds! So you would have to send in your mouse, be without one for over a week, before they would send you the same exact one. I e-mail them again saying I want a refund and that I was going with Logitech to get the G700 gaming wireless mouse. No response still and it has been several days.

It left me no choice but to contact Amazon this afternoon and ask if there was anything they could do for me. I explained my story and the nice woman told me that they would do a one time exception and give me a shipping label and full refund. I thanked her multiple times and decided to come on here to let others know about what happened to me. Razer still has no responded to me. I am sending the mouse back and purchasing the Logitech G700 gaming wireless mouse.

Logitech strives for customer service. I purchased the Illuminated keyboard, it has an error with playing games on the PC, and they upgraded me for free (with free shipping) to their $130 gaming keyboard. I had fast responses and courteous representatives. Stick with Amazon and Logitech, take my word for it. It will save you time, money and frustration.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on August 27, 2013
It's a good high precision gaming mouse, but only gets a three star rating from me for two key reasons:

1) The *only* driver package provided with new purchases is the Razor Synaspe 2.0 software package, which *supposedly* works by syncing to the cloud;
2) Razor Synaspe 2.0 is buggy and very problematic;
3) Razor customer support is either unresponsive or totally clueless on how to resolve Razor Synaspe 2.0 issues.

The Razor Synaspe 2.0 software has had me pulling my hair out for months now; up until I found a simple community provided solution: uninstall Razor Synaspe 2.0 and download the legacy drivers. As another reviewer wrote:

"Also I do not recommend using razer synapse. Just download the previous newest version (I believe it is 3.03) of the driver that does not use synapse." ~ProLurker

This is gospel, you'll be soooo much happier with this product if you follow this simple solution. Also, the legacy drivers are now up to version 3.05, and they work great with Windows 7 64-bit.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on March 13, 2011
Razer is at is again with a new addition to the Death adder! This time with a matte black finish instead of the sticky shiny sweaty finish they once had before. The new sensor is good, but it seems that I received a bad one and must RMA. I'll be playing or just moving my mouse and the pointer will randomly hop to the left side of the screen out of no where! Pretty upset after waiting 3 months to finally purchase mine. I refuse to go back to the shiny surface as it makes your thumb sweat very noticeable.

Keep in mind that these usually go on back order relatively quick so grab one while you can.

_Things the mouse comes with vs. Original Deathadder 1800dpi model_

New 3.5g Sensor

Rubberized Sides of Mouse for Anti-Slip/Anti-Sweat control

Equipped with Razer Ultraslick mouse feet

Braided USB Cable instead of rubber coated

Non-LED

Works well with Razer Destructor : )
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
19 of 27 people found the following review helpful
on August 14, 2011
The really good:
-It looks awesome
-The 2 thumb buttons are very comfortable and the design allows for quick thumb presses.
-The weight/thickness are perfect

The bad:
-The middle mouse button is very difficult to press without using a 'claw' grip. I need that button. This was the biggest reason why I returned this mouse.
-The contours for left and right mouse buttons are really odd; they feel too wide. Setting your fingers properly (pointer for left mouseB, middle finger for right mouseB) you'll have a gap of 2.5cm between your fingers. It's a stretch and my hands aren't small (I'm average sized 29yo). Also using it this way your ring finger and pinky don't sit comfortably in any position due to the way the mouse flares outward. What I mean by that is on the left side of the mouse it's curved inward to fit the natural shape of your thumb, and it feels great, it's perfect actually and every mouse should adopt this design exactly, however the opposite is true on the other side. The mouse curves outward (the design here makes no sense) near the end of the right mouseB and makes your ring and pinky finger uncomfortable to use in any position. It almost feels more natural to use your pointer finger for left, middle finger for middle mouse, and ring finger for right mouse (but that's just crazy).

I tried it for 2 weeks of gaming and browsing and I just couldn't get used to it.

*Edit*
I sent this back and got the G500, after only a few minutes of using it I can tell I'll be keeping it, but it has its own faults too.

-The biggest thing I noticed immediately was that the DA glides much better than the G500 on my (cheap wooden) desk. The difference is night and day. I'm keeping the G500 but I think I'll have to get a slick microfiber mouse pad for it.

-The middle mouse push is still a little bit tougher than a 5 button MS intellimouse, but it's no where near as difficult as the DA.

-I like the DAs thumb buttons much more than the G500.

-I like how the r/l mouse buttons aren't contoured like the DAs are. They're also rounded down allowing your hand to cup naturally where as on the DA it's not rounded at all so your fingers are flexed almost straight out (which becomes very uncomfortable after a short time).

-I prefer the laser positioning on the G500 more than the DA. The laser on the G500 is nearer to the fingertips as opposed to a normal mouse with its laser in the center. I've never had a mouse designed like that before but I like it. The DAs laser is in the middle of the mouse.

-Liftoff: You have to lift up the g500 much more than the DA.

-Other thoughts:
-The adjustable weight system of the g500 seems to me to be a cheap gimmick that I would never use.
-The G500 feels like a sturdy mouse but the DA has the look and feel of superior build quality as well as superior materials.
-The on-the-fly DPI adjustment indicator light on the G500 is annoying, I prefer the solid black of the DA.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on December 8, 2013
I bought this to replace an original Intellimouse Explorer that was past its prime. I had a hard time finding a mouse to use at work, and I finally settled on the Logitech Performance MX. While that mouse is great for the office, I found it extremely difficult to use for gaming (the side buttons were too small and too hard to reach quickly, plus the wheel was difficult to click down to register as mouse button 3).

The Razer DeathAdder is extremely comfortable to use (feels VERY similar to the Intellimouse), the buttons are all easy to reach/press, and it just works. I have only had it about a week and due to the many negative reviews about the quality, I chose to purchase a 2-year warranty...just in case. I also purchased the black version because I find LED lights all over the place extremely annoying. It turns out you can disable the LEDs in software if you wish.

There are many reviews out there for Windows and Mac, but I run Linux exclusively so that is what I will focus on. I'm currently running Ubuntu 13.10 and the Logitech devices work great with the Solaar program (which allowed me to lower the DPI for the Performance MX as it was too sensitive by default). There is a razer config tool for Razer products, so I wanted to see how it compared with Solaar. Unfortunately there is no PPA for the razer config tool so you will need to build it yourself. It's not difficult, just three commands (cmake . && make && sudo make install), but it's certainly not as simple as installing via apt either. The README file does a good job explaining installation and configuration, such as init scripts.

The razer config allows for much further configuration than Solaar allows for Logitech products however. For this mouse I can:

- create/modify numerous profiles and toggle between them
- toggle DPI settings between 450, 900, 1800, or 3500
- toggle LEDs on/off or even modify the LED color (obviously these settings don't apply to the black edition)
- modify the scan frequency of the laser
- flash firmware images

I honestly only use the tool to lower the DPI. I found that everything 900 and above was way too sensitive, but 450 was not enough. Ultimately I set the DPI to 450 (and saved this to the config file /etc/razer.conf), then used the "Mouse and Touchpad" settings panel built into Ubuntu to do more fine grained adjustments to the DPI. I increased it just enough to where it was perfect, and the settings are persistent across reboots. This is all configuration stored on my computer however. Thus, if I ever connected to another machine or reinstalled on this one, I would need to configure everything under Linux again. To store information directly to the memory inside of the mouse (hardware profile), you will need to use the Windows/Mac software.

Ultimately I'm extremely pleased so far with the feel and performance of this mouse. It is so overly sensitive that it is nearly impossible to use out-of-the-box on Linux. Fortunately, by combining the razer config tool with the built-in mouse settings you can dial in the perfect settings for you.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on October 31, 2012
Edit: I left my initial review below, but have added a star. I have noticed the left/right button clicks have a faster response because you do not need to put any effort into pressing them before they click and activate the press. This is especially good in FPS games where reaction time is important. I still wish it had dpi buttons, but will be keeping this mouse.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
First of all this mouse is extremely comfortable, so far the tracking is reliable, and it lets you set X/Y axis speeds separately. Those were the 3 stars it received.

I'll start my dislikes with what I already knew in buying this. 3500 dpi is as high as this goes. I was worried that may not be enough, but it is actually about the same speed as 4500 on my old Logitech. (That had a separate "mouse speed" that I had set very low, so it actually could have been much faster than this is capable of.) The software is acceptable, but not great. It's settings are fairly basic and it requires you to have an internet connection for no apparent reason. I did not know this buying it, but it is also a bit small for my hand, and hand size matters a bit because of the flat shape. It is still fairly comfortable, but I have to slope my hand upward and have it sort of hovering above the mouse with space in between to keep from having major pinkie drag. If I lay my hand flat on it as it seems intended I would have to click with the joints of my fingers.

One very serious issue I have is lack of dpi change buttons. You can program side or scroll buttons to do it, but then you lose those buttons. It advertises "on the fly sensitivity" on the box and Amazon page, so I expected those buttons for it. While it is technically true, it is so impractical for any serious gamer to waste your side buttons that it is basically false advertising. I likely would not have bought this mouse if I knew I will not be able to change dpi mid fight, that severely affects me in FPS as well as certain other games.

Honestly I haven't decided whether to keep it or request a refund. It might just be worth buying a new Logitech every year or two as it's scroll wheels break.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on October 29, 2012
I have been using a Razer DeathAdder for many years. It doesn't have the most buttons, but it is by far one of the most comfortable mice I've ever used - and I have tried many. If you've never used a DeathAdder before and you want a mouse that feels extremely natural and comfortable in your hand, this is the mouse to get.

Pros:
-----------
- Highly responsive and precise sensor
- Possibly one of the most comfortable mice on the market, gaming or otherwise
- Rubberized sides and smooth "non stick" top reduce/eliminate accumulation of dirt & grime
- Five buttons total - two standard plus 3 additional (two side & scroll wheel).
- Dark, blacked out appearance. No internal LED lighting like the original DeathAdder.
- Wired connection: no lag, no interference, no batteries to worry about.

Cons:
-----------
- Some may complain that 5 buttons are not enough for a gaming mouse.
- The USB cable is covered in a stiff nylon jacket that tends to snag.
- Right-handed design may be a dealbreaker for lefties.

*** If you buy this mouse be sure to also purchase a quality mouse pad to get the most out of it. I am using a Razer Scarab which is semi-rigid, and allows this mouse to glide effortlessly with just the right amount of resistance. ***

If you already have a normal DeathAdder, why buy this one?

As you can see from the pros and cons, this mouse has some notable improvements in the comfort department - probably the most important aspect of a peripheral and often the least talked about. That along makes it a solid upgrade, and while I think that some people will be put off by the limited number of buttons, I find that with a gamepad like the Logitech G13 this mouse is more than adequate.

The actual function is about the same as the standard DeathAdder even though this updated version has a higher resolution sensor. The original Deathadder's sensor was already very precise so I did not notice a substantial improvement in gaming, however it is possible to move the cursor with a higher degree of accuracy in applications like Photoshop.

The main improvement the black version offers is the rubberized side grips and smoother top surface. It feels even more comfortable than before and does not accumulate nasty dirt and grime like the regular version of this mouse does. The mouse also feels cooler to the touch, due to a lack of LED lighting most likely.

Overall I recommend this mouse, not only for playing games but also as a great all-around mouse for any type of computer activity.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
The manufacturer commented on the review below
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on September 12, 2012
Pros
-Decent price
-Decent amount of customization

Cons
-SOFTWARE

I used this mouse for about a week and returned it. One of my problems with it was that at the end of the day, it doesn't feel comfortable in my hand. Not their fault, I'm sure many others would disagree. My other gripe is that I must grip this mouse harder than most because I constantly click on accident. The left and right buttons depress extremely easily, and I don't like that. The straw that broke the camel's back as it were, was the software for this mouse. Absolutely horrible. The mouse did not seem to be effected by the internal Windows settings, so the software was mandatory. Not a bad thing, as the software driver provides features past the Windows settings that I thought were pretty cool, like acceleration.

Here is my experience with the software though. I download it from the website, install it, and I cannot use it. Why? You are forced to create an account with Razer, otherwise the software is useless. Unacceptable in my opinion for local functionality of a device. Next, once I create this account, the software requires two updates, both requiring reboots. WTF? I downloaded your software from your website directly, and it's not up to date? This is not an MMORPG, it's a damn mouse. Then, 4 days later, ANOTHER update requiring a reboot. Only this time it is worse, I had since configured this mouse to my liking. After this last update, all my settings were erased and the mouse was left unconfigured again.

Sorry Razer, there are plenty of options in the way of gaming mice. This has been the worst peripheral experience of my life, and I will never buy another Razer product. Never did I think I would find more inconvenient driver software than Creative's.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
The manufacturer commented on this review (What's this?)
Hi Dandy,

Thank you for your feedback regarding Razer Synapse 2.0. We work tirelessly to make sure that our customers are happy. We'll be sure to include your feedback and take it into consideration.

Regards,

Razer Customer Satisfaction

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.