Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Prime Music Sweepstakes egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Gifts for Her Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Cyber Monday Deals Indie for the Holidays in Prime Music Outdoor Deals on HTL

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on October 12, 2011
I've been a big fan of New Balance, and these Trail Running shoes continue the great tradition. I got them a day prior to a 20+ mile hike and took them with me. While I don't recommend not breaking them in prior to major use, they did amazing and fit well right out of the box and while on my excursion. They're even great for regular use, although I'd rather save them for more adventurous things. I highly recommend these shes. Having a Wide size (15EE) I had no problems with this product or fit at all, unlike some other trail shoes available. You will love these!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on January 2, 2012
After wearing my last pair of U.S.-assembled NB trail runners for over three and a half years I decided it was time for a new pair (those held up VERY well, btw. Just lost their cushion, traction and look dirty).

As for this model--it seems to be well made and it looks nice, but I found the shape of the soles to be too narrow. I usually wear standard "D" (medium/regular) widths in all shoes including New Balance, and while my last pair of NB trail runners fit my foot like a glove, these are very slender. Too slender for me so I'm sending them back. I'm considering ordering either a size up or the same size in a 'wide'. The problem is, I'm not sure which I need, because the shape of the sole almost seems like it was made for weird, long alien feet. The toes are also a bit pointy and close inward, so my left big toe was jammed up against the side. My toes in general also just felt a bit cramped. So basically I feel the problem is twofold: slender soles in general, AND the toe area is cramped.

I may just pass on this model and hold out hope for next year's U.S.-assembled trail runners. And one more thing--I purchased a similar, cheaper model (Chinese-assembled), still New Balance, and they had the same problem. I'm not sure why they're doing this, but I don't care for it. Wish I'd have bought several pairs of my old 2008 model!

***Quick edit: I do want to point out that the overall stability, balance and cushion of the shoe is excellent, just what I'd expect from a U.S.-made New Balance shoe. The "Made in China" models just feel cheaper to me, though you do pay less for them. I'd recommend this shoe to those with long, slender feet, or to those that can try them on in a store beforehand.***

***Last edit (hopefully)!! I decided to try out the 11 D (same standard width, went 1/2 size up) and they fit me properly for the most part. My toes aren't cramped anymore, BUT!!--because of the pointiness of the shoe's toe end, I have a just a little excess space. Not much, but I can tell I'm wearing an 11 when my shoe size is 10.5. I'm not a runner so it's not a big deal to me, but I probably wouldn't want to use these for running, at least in my situation, with my feet. So there you have it. A really good shoe, but watch out for fitting issues. I'll be keeping these.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on August 19, 2012
Pros: Look nice. Feels solid. Made in the US. I can run noticeably faster in these.

CONS: Feels very uncomfortable even when just sitting. They are too constrictive. Also they feel like you are running on hard surface all the time even when you are running on a padded track.

I run 5-8 miles and I notice that when I wear these I can run faster and seem to spend less energy doing so. The problem is that I am painfully aware that these are on my feet at all times. They feel way too tight. My Fila Trexa look better and are so much more comfortable and breathe better. However I run slower in those and they are pretty fragile. These look like they are built like a tank but too bad I can't tolerate to wear these for long periods of time.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2012
Oy. I am using New Balance since 1984, and usually love their structure, support, attention to detail, the innersole inserts (until last year). Also. twist stability and firm holding of heel. I run 12 km, but this model's heel is WAY too soft for "all terrain". It may be good for uber-hard paved concrete in Germany (2.5 meters of rock bedding by DIN standard)? but otherwise slowed me down by 1-2 minutes on unpaved stuff. This shoe provides an excellent simulation of running in mud. Highly recommended for SEAL teams simulating the Okifenokees on dry land. In this regard, it has too much lacing. One half would be enough. I hope NB will read this and (1) make corrections (2) give a great discount to the Navy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2012
Bought these online and was initially concerned about sizing and quality. The price was good, particularly given prices here in Australia, and with shipping was still cheaper than buying locally. I purchased them for casual use and wanted a wide, stable and hard wearing shoe. They fitted perfectly and are wearing in slowly but have been comfortable right from the start. They are stable and so far are holding up to the large amount of walking I do everyday. Top quality shoes for a great price with good ship speed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2013
In terms of the length and width, these seemed to fit appropriately. However, as soon as I started running, I would usually have to loosen them up because the sides and top were extremely constrictive. The shoes are durable, but quite heavy for any extended run. The padding around the heel is thick enough to survive severe abuse, but it migrates after a few months. I've moved on after 11 months.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2012
Shoe is very well made. Seems maybe a LITTLE tighter fitting than my other pair of New Balances (same size and width), but it's negligible.
Only thing that took some getting used to was this shoe seems to have a slightly curved sole. Not a bad thing, just takes some getting used to.
Shoes breathe well.

I know what brand I shoe I will be buying next time!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2012
I have had these shoes for at least 6 months and tried running them as soon as i got them and it gave me blisters on my heels because I have a narrow heel and I guess these aren't for narrowed heel people. That and now my feet hurt when I walk in them probably because i wear them so much. I think its got good color in it though, I guess overall an ok shoe.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2015
I am finally getting around to writing a review of these shoes. They are very good quailty made in America shoes. I have had them for almost 4 years now and still going strong, of course now I just use them for mowing the lawn they are still comfortable. I will always buy new balance show from now on...very good products that last a long time.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2012
Love NB, and made in USA (assembled), but this shoe was a little of a disappointment. The outside is stylish and durable, but the inner sole is cheap and thin. I had three problem with my inner sole, it provides little cushion or support, it was too big for the inside of the shoe, and it started to fall apart.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.