Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon King easycohice_2016 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Valentine's Day Cards Create an Amazon Wedding Registry Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Winter Sports on Amazon.com Sale

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars26
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon November 17, 2012
Broan Attic Fan (340, 343, 350, 353) Replacement Motor # 97009316

After removing a 9-year old Broan attic fan for a remodeling project, it was obvious that the fan blade didn’t turn as easily as when it was new.

I cleaned the steel sleeve bearings and motor shaft and it worked fine for three more years – at that point, the motor shaft wobbled at the front bearing due to wear, so I installed a new #97009316 motor. The old and new motor appeared to be identical.

If your motor shaft doesn’t wobble, see comments for how to get a few more years out of that old motor.

I took one star off because fan motors should last longer; e.g., our main attic fan motor (also with steel bearings) lasted over 20 years with no maintenance.
11 comment10 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2013
This motor works as a replacement, but has the same steel sleeve bearings as the original that will require regular lubrication (yearly, at least) to keep them from seizing and burning out the thermal fuse. The problem is, you have to disassemble the fan to had a couple drops of oil to the motor bearings.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2013
I have had this attic fan for years, it has always performed well. One thing that would be helpfull is permanently sealed bearings. These motors are usually in the attic, where they are forgotten and never oiled.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2012
My original installation was not Broan but a Chinese knockoff. I was able to re-install from inside the attic. To fit my mounting/clamping brackets, I had to mount a new Broan blade as far away from the motor housing as possible (i.e. very tip of the shaft). The new motor and blade run much quieter, and the new Broan blade moves more air. To help reduce fan noise and vibration being transmitted to the house, I plan to add some 1" neoprene strips between the motor housing and the mounting/clamping brackets. Motor size and dimensions were identical to original Chinese OEM motor. This motor can be found cheaper on Amazon and the internet.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2011
This motor is identical to the Lomanco motor I was replacing but is more expensive. Even the part numbers are identical. The only difference is that this motor is more expensive.

I was hoping it would be a better motor since the thermal protector in my Lomanco motor burned out and it uses sleeve bearings.
0Comment4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2013
Best price and just what I was looking for.
This was purchased as a replacement part for a 25 yr old attic fan and it worked.
The descriptive detail was enough that I could determine the compatibility.
Thanks!
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2013
My old fan was making all sorts of noise and finally just burned out. I ordered this one, installed it and it runs effectively and quietly. I am guessing I will have to replace it in 7 to 10 years but it is what it is.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2011
This is the best replacement Motor
I tried to purchase one from Home Depot is cost more.
good service as usual I am very happy with it
Thank You
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2013
The original motor in the fan lasted for nearly 14 years. My hope is the new motor lasts a similar period of time. Only time will tell.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2012
This was an exact replacement for the original motor that went bad. That made it an easy fix to be back in operation.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.