There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

68 of 71 people found the following review helpful
on June 19, 2012
I've read the negative reviews, and let me just say that I suspect the people writing them were just a little confused about how to set up and operate these cameras. I agree that the directions are terrible! (I mean really bad) but if you've got any level of technical know-how, you wont have any trouble figuring these things out.

Here's some help getting them set up:

Note: If you're configuring multiple cameras, I recommend you do the configuration one camera at a time. Leave additional cameras unplugged to prevent any confusion while obtaining settings information.

First, you can't just plug the camera in and expect it to work if you have a wireless network that requires a passkey to connect. (You do protect your network, don't you?!) In fact, I thinkg the wireless settings are disabled by default anyway. So, to get on the network, connect the camera to your wireless router using the provided network cable. This way it can get on the network without needing a password (This is exactly what they say to do in step one in the user's manual).

Next, insert the CD, and it should auto-run - Oh, I guess I should point out that this part of the instructions are for Windows based PCs. If you're running mac/*nux, then I suggest you borrow a windows laptop or run a virtual windows install to get this done. (Too bad they didn't supply a native app). If you're technical enough though, I'm sure you can figure out how to find your cam on the network. If so, then you wont even need to run the CD. (Hint: look at your router's DHCP client list.)

Assuming you are on Windows; When the EasyN window appears, click on "Search IP Camera". On the "Select Mode" screen, click the "Advance Mode" button. In the "Equipments" box, you should see a list, and the camera should be in it. Should be Series F, name IPCAM1, IP ###.###.###.###. single click this line in the list to select that camera. Now in the right hand side, you should see detailed info. What you're concerned with now is the HTTP Port #. Write down the IP Address and HTTP Port# of the camera, and you'll also want to write down the "sunet mask", "gateway", and "primary DNS" values from the top left pane of this window. You'll need them later when setting up the network settings for the camera.

Once you know the camera's details, you can close this program.

Next, open your web browser and in the address bar put [...] where ###.###.###.### is the IP address for the camera and PP is the HTTP Port that you found above. It should look something like: [...] (but the numbers may be different for you).

Now you should get a login prompt. The default login is "admin" (no quotes), and there is no password. Once you log in, you'll see a menu.

The option you choose here depends on which browser you're using. If you are using Internet Explorer, use the ActiveX mode (the top one in the list). This one is the most full featured (i.e. will let you control the camera, and hear/send audio from/to the camera). If you're not using Internet Explorer, select the second option "Server Push Mode". This mode still allows you to control the camera, but doesn't support audio. (I wish they had used a java or flash viewer. I hate IE, and refuse to use it. But the IE version is the only one that supports the extended features.)

Regardless of which one you selected, you should now see the camera viewer with controls at the right. You'll want to click the "options" icon (looks like a gear) at the bottom of the controls.

Once in the "EasyN IP Camera Options" screen, there is a menu on the left. Just follow along:

First, I set my own admin username and password. Do this from the "Users Settings" menu. I highly recommend you change the user name and password. Just click into the box that currently says "admin" and change it to something else that you'll remember. Then click into the Password field to the right, and enter a password you'll remember. Make sure group still says "Administrator". Then click the "Set" button at the bottom. You'll be prompted to log in again. Use the username and password you just set. The device will reboot. Just be patient because once it's finished, you'll be back on the device status page.

Next, I turned off the DDNS feature they offer. I don't want just anyone being able to connect to my cameras from outside. I know they're password protected, but I was able to find a way to capture an image without a password. So I suggest everyone turn this feature off. This can be done on the "DDNS Service Settings" menu. select "none" in the "DDNS Service" dropdown then click "Set". Again, device may reboot. Just be patient.

Next, I set up my network configuration.

Go to the "Basic Network Settings" menu, I recommend you uncheck the "Obtain IP from DHCP Server", then set the IP Address and other details according to your network config. In my environment, My camera IP was 192.168.1.12. But I decided to set a fixed address for each camera so they'd never change. I wanted to have my cameras start at 192.168.1.240 and each additional camera, I would set up with that same address + 1 (i.e. 192.168.1.241 then 192.168.1.242, etc.) So, I unchecked the "Obtain IP from DHCP server", then in the "IP Address" box, I put "192.168.1.240" (no quotes).

One important thing to note. when you select an IP address for your camera, be sure you only change the last number. The first 3 numbers should stay the same (i.e. 192.168.1.xxx, only change the xxx part). Also, be sure you don't set the value to 0(zero) or a number higher than 254. And finally, make sure you don't set it to the same value as your computer, or the gateway. I recommend picking a value well above the DHCP range defined in your wireless router's configuration. You can get that info from your wireless router's admin page. (use google or the manual for help if you're not sure how to find it.)

Next, in the "Subnet Mask" box, I put "255.255.255.0" (Yours is probably the same). In the "Gateway" box, enter the value for Gateway that you wrote down earlier. In the "DNS Server" box you'll enter whatever value you wrote down for "Primary DNS" earlier. And finally, in the "Http Port" box, you can put any numeric value you want here, but I recommend you just leave it set to "81". Then click the "Set" button.

Ok, now your camera is going to reboot. But this time, you will not automatically end up back in the menu (the IP address is now going to be whatever you set it to above). So, you will need to change the location in the browser to [...] where ###.###.###.### is the IP address you set above, and PP is the port you set. (note. you may need to wait 20 seconds or so for the camera to reboot before you can access it again). You will be asked to log in again. Use the new login info you set up above. After that, you should be back on the main menu screen. Go into the ActiveX or Server Push mode screen, and click the gear icon again.

Now to get wireless working.

You should be back on the "EasyN IP Camera Options" screen. If not, get back to it, then Click the "Wireless Lan Settings" option in the left menu.

Click "Scan". You should see a list of available access points appear. You'll want to select yours from the list. Make sure the "Use Wireless Lan" box is checked. When you selected your access point, it should have pre-filled the remaining values except "Share Key".

Ok, I dont know if it auto selects the correct "Encryption" option, and selecting the correct one can be a little tricky if you dont know how your wireless router is set up. You can find this out by looking at your router's configuration screen, but most likely, it'll be one of the WPA or WPA2 options. I'm not going to talk you through finding this info though. For that, search google, or refer to your router's manual (Hint: you'll need to look at the wireless security settings to get the right encryption type).

Once you know the correct Encryption type, select it from the dropdown, then enter your wireless password into the "Share Key" box. Once done, click "Set".

The camera should reboot again. At this point, you should unplug the network cable from the back of the camera. It should now connect wirelessly.

You'll know it worked if you can get to it in your browser. Again, give it 20 seconds or so before you give up trying. If it still doesnt connect, plug the cable back, give it a few more seconds, then refresh the page, and check your settings. (You may not have the correct Encryption type set or the wrong Share Key). Keep trying. You will find the right value. just repeat the wireless setup using different values for encryption type. Assuming you are entering the correct share key (case probably matters), one of them should work.

At this point, I assume you have wireless working.

If you want to be able to access the camera from the internet, you'll need to set up a port forward on your router. Again, refer to your router's manual, or google for how to do it (there are a plethora of online tutorials for every router model ever made).

On mine, I set up external port 801 -> 192.168.1.240:81 and because I have more than one camera, I also set up external port 802 -> 192.168.1.241:81. this way I can just go to [...] (or:802) to view each camera. I recommend [...] for dynamic DNS. Yes the camera does support ddns, but I highly recommend you not use it because anyone who is familiar with their setup could potentially access your camera. Instead, get a freedns.afraid.org address, and set up your main computer to keep the address updated with the correct external IP. (again, google is your friend here. there are plenty of tutorials around for doing this)

Once you have your port forwards in place, and you have verified you can get to the cameras from outside, the next step is probably a mobile device viewer. The included viewer is junk. I repeat JUNK! However, I came across an application for iOS that supports these cameras quite well! (including listening to the audio stream). It's called "uNetCams" ([...]) . It's not free, but well worth the money! As for Android, there are some viewers out there, and I suspect they work fine, but I haven't tested them.

One final note: If you are going to be accessing the cameras from outside, I suggest you add an additional user in the "Users Settings" section of the options window. You can enter up to 7 additional users, and assign each one its own security level. Just add a second user with its own password, and give it the "Viewer" permission. Then use that user info when configuring the mobile viewer. This way, even if someone was able to "sniff" your settings, they wouldn't have administrative access to you camera.

Hope this writeup helps somebody! Good luck!
1010 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
47 of 50 people found the following review helpful
on January 16, 2012
It's easy to set up for LAN access. Almost plug and play. It took me a few hours to figure out how to set it up for internet access though.

Here are some tips.

1. Be sure to set up your router for port forwarding. Usually from port 80(external) to 81(internal).
2. The URL is ????.dns.ipcam.hk instead of ????.ipcam.hk as described in the set up software and outside of the box.
3. The default username/password to access the URL is admin/. The other password on the box is for DDNS.

The manual sucks. But once you get beyond the setup, the quality of the cam is great. No need for me to say more. Just get one... Read more
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
48 of 53 people found the following review helpful
The camera has excellent quality and the pan features make it a high value for the dollar. I am disappointed in the iphone/ipad software. It does't seem to get the camera to load at all. I have tried it both with 3G and with a local wifi connection and the software still doesn't work. I don't have any problems viewing security cameras through commercial services on my iphone or ipad.

The documentation isn't very clear either. I took my relatively advanced level of networking skills to get the camera to work over the internet. They had a domain that they use, that is supposed to work, but I could not get it to work. I had to manually configure a port through the router's firewall, and finally guess at the IP address of the camera to work. Once I did that, it worked very well over the internet. IE9 version of the software the comes with it likes to crash, and the software for the other web browsers tend to be sluggish, especally when trying to pan

Bottom line is this is an excellent camera if you are looking to use it on a PC inside the same network it is on. If that is how you use the camera, it is easy to use. If you are planning on using it on a PC over the internet, it will be a test of your networking skills the you may enjoy. I don't know if I enjoyed the test, but I did enjoy passing the test. If you are planning on viewing it on your iphone or ipad, this is not the camera for you.

I give the software 1.5 stars, but the camera is a solid 5 star. If they would fix the software this would be a first class product at an excellent price.
66 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
on September 24, 2011
First of all, kudos to Amazon and Topsources for the fast shipping!

The cam is exactly as pictured. It feels sturdy and seems well-made. I was excited to unbox it and get it going. My excitement lasted three minutes.

I attached the antenna, connected it directly to my laptop with an ethernet cable, and plugged it in. The Infra-red LEDs came on immediately, and I watched in fascination as it went through a full POST (power-on-self-test). It panned and tilted through a full range of motion, then settled at "straight ahead" with a few degrees of up-tilt. So far so good! It answered pings on the default IP and the web interface worked.

I put the CD into my laptop and chose the advanced option. I'm a network ops manager and I refuse to do anything the "easy" way when it comes to networking :). The setup software found the camera and allowed me to configure basic network settings. I set the IP, netmask, and DNS for my network. I didn't see any wireless settings so I assumed that I would set that up later. I saved my changes and the cam rebooted.

And I could no longer get into the cam. It didn't answer pings on either the new IP or the original. I could not get into the web interface and the setup software could no longer find the cam. I tried a lot of things from the simple (different eth cable) to the advanced (looking for gratuitous ARP with a protocol analyzer - which, BTW, it does not do). Nothing worked. Not even the reset procedure in the manual. Holding the reset button for 7 to 10 seconds would re-boot the cam, but it would not default the settings.

Eventually I tried a re-set procedure that isn't in the manual but works on other devices: unplug the power, press and hold the re-set button, insert power, continue to hold re-set for 10 seconds. This time it went through a full POST procedure just like the very first time I plugged it in. It still was not defaulted, but it responded - on the IP address I had set it to! Go figure. I have had no further issues accessing the camera.

Operationally, the cam works well. It pans and tilts smoothly and the mechanism is quiet. Pan and tilt speeds can be changed from glacially slow to almost uncontrollably fast. Nice! IR LEDs come on when necessary and do a decent job of illuminating the area in front of the cam. Color reproduction is not so good. The default brightness and contrast result in excellent visibility in varying light conditions, but colors are way off. I was able to adjust brightness and contrast for better colors at the expense of some low-light performance. The tilt range on this cam is 90 degrees. I was expecting 45 degrees down and up, but it seems to be 90 degrees up. The lowest it can be depressed is level or maybe a couple of degrees down. I wish it could tilt lower.

The web interface is "kitschy". It works, but I prefer a more "industrial" or "professional" look rather than the jazzed-up pretty interface provided. I have encountered one very significant flaw - if I use IE 9 and choose the "Active X" option, my entire computer freezes and has to be powered down to recover (Windows 7 64-bit). I can use Firefox and Chrome with no problem, but some options like video recording are not available in those browsers. Motion alarms work. The cam happily e-mails pictures to me every time my kids or cats go up the stairs. I haven't tested FTP or the dry contacts yet. I should note that the motion detection does not follow the motion - it only snaps pics when it detects movement.

Wifi works well and is easy to setup if you know your wireless network settings. Auto detection did not find any of my three WiFi networks (I'm a network geek, remember?), but manual configuration was straightforward and worked on the first try.

Overall I'm pleased with the cam. It gets only three stars because of crashing IE 9 on two different computers and because it does not tilt down far enough. The issues I experienced during setup could be a fluke, and it seems like every cam of this type at this price point has setup issues. For $60 I think you get more than you paid for with this cam.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
on March 14, 2012
I bought this on a whim. I was going out of town and wanted a camera where I could keep an eye on my house while I was gone. Initial setup was a little sketchy. I was on a wireless laptop and I had the camera wired into the router. Apparently the camera doesn't just get an address from DHCP like any normal host. It has a pre-configured IP address. Luckily the setup software has a setting where you can just directly attach the camera to the PC via ethernet. Once I did that, the software discovered the device. I was able to give the camera an IP address for my network and give it the wireless settings it needed to connect to the WIFI.

Then the real fun started. So you can view live video, pan, tilt and control the video settings but you can also do the following...

-Configure the camera to activate on motion and send pictures in an email. (You can use gmail for free)
-Set a schedule for the motion alarm

These are very important to me because if someone breaks in and sees the camera it should have enough time to snap some pics and send them to me before they smash or unplug the camera.

Overall I'm completely satisfied with the camera's functions. I was looking at Cisco units for around $250 that aren't as feature-rich as this unit. I'm thinking about buying a couple more because you can view multiple feeds through one web interface.

EDIT: Initially my camera's green light would flash constantly. I found how to disable that.

Go to settings>PTZ Settings> and set Indicator Display Mode to "Been Extinguished"
review image review image
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
37 of 44 people found the following review helpful
on December 19, 2011
I've only had it a few days, and so far this camera is amazing. It was really easy to set up on the network, even the WIFI.

The only trouble i had was when it asked me for the admin password, i thought it wanted me to set one.. when it really wanted me to type in the default admin password.. which is blank. (which it didn't alert a wrong password, it just wouldn't change the gateway/ip settings... so it made me read the manual)

The image quality is good, and the pan/tilt is really good also... and it seems to be at least a little durable, as when I first got it, before installing it, i was playing around with my cat.. and he knocked it a few feet to the ground, and it was fine.

Given this is the first IP Camera i have purchased, I couldn't imagine wanting any more out of your camera except for being weather proof.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on April 3, 2012
I had IPCam up in 15 min. The booklet nor the CD software tells you to connect cam to your local network with a wire on a 192.168.1.x network. I notice on the box the box the IPCam had a 192.168.1.126 IP which would cause a problem of my network as it was set to 10.0.0.x. Once I set my laptop to the 192.168.1.2 I was able to configure the IPCam to my network with a static IP of 10.0.0.126.

Now after configuring the IPCam to your network you can log into the Cam to setup the wireless configuration which is not in the book clearly.
After you are able to log into the IPCam, look for the wireless section and their should be a button to search for network. Your network and others should pop up. Choose yours network name and enter your security key or paraphrase.

Once this is done the IPcam will reboot and take up to 5 min to restart then you should be able to connect wirelessly and control it.

I received my unit March 31, 2012 I must say I think the unit on is great for the price! Like i said I had mine up in 15 min and it has not dropped a connection so far. I connect to it directly and using Blue Iris which I am considering also.

If you are going to view from the internet; you need to make sure you configure you Port Forwarding setting in your router or you will not be able to view from the Internet.

I view from my BlackBerry Torch, Iphone, Laptop, and my wife uses her Andriod phone and laptop.

Also, I put the IPcam on a battery Backup so it will not drop the connection if the power goes out. I will still be recording at all times. Good Luck

I think for the price you can't wrong with this product.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on October 7, 2011
I've had mine for over a month now. It was very difficult to setup. I had to use DynDNS service instead of the one in the instructions. Instructions were very poor. I almost returned mine but I didn't want to quit after all the hours I invested. Now that I know how to setup I would get another one because they are really capable and cheap. Sometimes when I am panning it goes into a "coma" for an hour then recovers. If the green light stays on (no blinking) then you need to unplug the power to reset. That has only happened a few times. I use the free "TinyCam" Android app to view from my phone. It has audio too.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on March 1, 2012
Spent hours and hours and hours trying to get this to work. The best I could do is a direct (wired) connection to the home network. The video image, as well as the pan/tilt worked well.....the only reason it got two stars instead of one. The wireless did not work. Connecting to an android phone (why I purchased the camera) was impossible. The instructions are great....if you are Chinese. The english interpretation is spastic. Don't bother trying to contact the manufacturer/distributor.....three emails were never answered. Needless to say, its going back.

A little help from the manufacturer/distributor could make this a winner...but for now....forget it.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Received the EasyN FS camera today. It shipped really fast. Got the box open, did a quick look at the instructions (to see whether you hook it up first, and then load the CD, or load the CD software, then hook it up), and started installation.

Install was a little trying, but I've put up wired and wireless cameras before, so I kinda knew what I was getting into. First, plug up the camera power, connect the camera, then (and this is A MUST, if you use a router), you MUST FIRST CONNECT THIS to your router with the included cable (best to table-install this baby indoors, before you get into playing eaves-and-ladders outside). Now, install the software onto your computer. THAT IS A MUST. The software will control the axial movement of the viewing head later. Don't say 'I don't need that', because you do if you want to have it stop moving and rotating in initialization phase.

Now, go into your router admin screen, and allow the device. SET A STATIC IP, if you have a router firewall, so you can keep locating it (and, so when you reset your router, your webpage link to your camera stays the same). REMEMBER to set up the WiFi settings on the Cam Software settings too! You will not be able to reach your camera via a browser if you don't, once you unplug your Cat6 cable otherwise.

If done well, the camera will hold the settings, even if you power down the camera and close your browser. Check first (before getting that ladder out) to make sure it does boot up, and that a quick IP address in your browser's bar gets you to your camera. If it does, congrats. If not, go back, do it again.

The great thing about the camera, is that it has GOOD night vision, auto-adjusting to light levels, it has wifi, rj45 connects, and also has a 4-wire plug (with set screws) for CCTV setup. I'm not a super-fan of the included mount, but it does work. You can control rotate and elevation directions and speeds, or you can set up auto-rotate (as well as speed). It has a recording function in the included software. There is an app for this for your smart-phone or tablet, too. Look up EasyN FS on G-Play.

For $37 it is an absolute steal! The set-up is the real trick, and does require a moderate amount of technical savvy to set it up. Laypersons who are intimidated by Microsoft Word need not apply (unless you are just going to cable-run this directly to a desktop, then it should be relatively easy). The price is you, paying for the tech support you will require (if not competent yourself) to install what would otherwise require a major software package. Documentation is almost non-existent, so don't plan on a giant installation book. This comment-rating is about 10x what you get with the camera, already!

Great camera, tech-deep install not for the weak-of-heart, awesome price for experienced hardware installers!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 16 answered questions

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.