Automotive Holiday Deals Up to 50% Off Select Books Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Train egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grooming Deals Gifts Under $50 Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer bf15 bf15 bf15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $15 Off All-New Fire Kindle Black Friday Deals Entertainment Collectibles Outdoor Deals on PlasmaCar

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on September 11, 2010
I received this product three days after I ordered. It came in a package with clear instructions on how to set it up. It took me less than five minutes to follow directions. Once installed, it works better than the original one. I tried several times since then and it just works great. It has enough power to make sure the moisture gets out. I installed in an old model Broan 633 which was in the house when we bought it. Our bathroom is not very large and it doesn't have windows. This helps a lot. I highly recommend this product to. I am really glad I ordered it. As far as I noise goes, it has a regular level fan. Not different that what I have heard in other houses. It is not superquite though. If you are looking for a superquite one you may have to another model.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on January 7, 2010
I use these Broan motors to replace the failing non-Broan "builders grade" (garbage) motors that were/are installed throughout my five-year-old house. They aren't direct replacements, but with very minor modification I now have cost-effective replacement motors that are much quieter than the junk builders-grade motors they are replacing. Time will tell if the new motors last any longer than the originals, but given the short life of the originals, I would be amazed if not.

10/18/10 edit: Since the above review, I have ordered three additional fans from Grady's to replace my remainig builder-grade junk fans and all are working as well as the "original" replacements. The difference is like night and day.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on March 21, 2007
I installed this into a Nautilis N678-C. It took about 15 minutes. The motor has been in for a over a week and is working great. The sound level is low.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on September 29, 2009
Had no problems installing this replacement motor and fan combo in my unit. The entire job took less than 15 minutes. There doesn't seem to be much difference between the old motor and this new one. Performance is as expected. It runs like the old one before it died. Cheap and easy solution.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on July 28, 2008
This replacement fan motor bolts right in and works like the original, and slapping it in is a lot easier than replacing the whole unit. If your original is making a ton of noise, this is a cheap/easy fix.

Don't expect miracles--it won't be as quiet as a good modern vent fan.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on June 21, 2009
As a contractor this was the easiest and cheapest way to upgrade their bath fan without climbing in the attic. I've used these replacement motors for over 4 years and they are the easy answer for an old bath fan upgrage. Thanks.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on June 7, 2010
I needed a fan cage to replace a Nutone 669LN that cracked (the motor was still good). I seen this option and thought it was a great price for a replacement kit. There is nothing wrong with the motor or fan but for my setup, it should be a little different design fan. The one I removed was more like a wide mouse wheel that pushed air from the inside forcing it out (and out the vent pipe). First off I had to modify the mounting bracket a bit to get it to set down right. Next, I had to grind off the shaft about 1/4" to get it short enough not to hit the housing. Then I had to push the fan down right next to the motor to get it to line up with the vent opening. Does it work in the end? I think it does. I used the old smoke test and it pulled smoke into it. Does it work as well as the old one did? I don't believe so, as I could hear the damper forceably open and close before. One thing for sure, after all my work, it is staying in there until the day it dies. The shipping was fast as I got it in four days.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on August 16, 2011
This motor/wheel is not an exact replacement for Nutone fan/light model 668N. I later found out that the part number 53709000 is correct. I don't know if there is a Broan number for it or not. I was able to make the Broan BP27 work for my 668N but it was a pain. Verify the correct replacement part with Nutone rather than trusting a Google search.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on April 26, 2015
My master bathroom toilet room exhaust fan was installed who-knows-when by the previous owner so when it started making wobbly grinding sounds it was time for a fix. I ordered this kit.

First, let me say that reading through these reviews has been VERY helpful. I consider myself possessing a moderate amount of DIY skills and what arrived was what you see in the picture plus a one pager on how to reverse the motor mounting. Not that I understood WHY I would need to do such a thing, I figured I'd get the old one out, and put in the new one just the way the old one was in there. Luckily I had no need for the mounting reversal instructions. The only trick for me was to get the plastic propeller assembly FIRMLY and FULLY pressed onto the metal spindle head. I felt like I might break it, I had to apply a great deal of force to get it to slide onto the mount. I guess that's a good thing, it's a friction mount and you want it to say mounted! Unfortunately the new assembly was taller than the old assembly by what looked to be to be a frightening amount (at least 1/2 inch) but I'm relieved to say that I was able to re-install everything back into the in-ceiling housing and nothing rubs or hits. The sound is noticeably more of a purr and a whoosh than a RABBLEGRINDBGDRK!

The key to the whole thing, of course, is once you unplug the old motor from the housing's outlet, remove the single slotted screw that secures the metal mounting plate to the housing. Then you pull out the side of this mounting plate where the screw was and the opposing side's tabs will come out of their slots. There you have the mounting plate and old motor and propeller unit ready to go. Unscrew two rather flimsy looking mounting nuts and the whole motor assembly comes free. Do yourself a favor and give everything a good brushing and wipe-down, both the mounting plate as well as the housing still up in the ceiling. Get that linty build-up out of there!

I'm ordering another one of these to do the other bathroom's exhaust fan, that's how satisfied I am with this replacement kit.

The attached photo is of the old motor and fan blade unit, my my my does it get dirty!
review image
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on November 11, 2014
Save yourself a few headaches and take the time to check the fan's model number, and the motor assembly part number, before ordering a replacement. Also, don't assume it would be easier to simply buy a whole new unit (box casing and all) and swap it with the existing one. First, it's no trouble to replace the motor alone. Second, many of the new units (box casing and all) require top-down installation, meaning if you don't have access from an attic above, you won't be able to install it.

All that said, this motor works great. It does what it's supposed to do. Directions were included, but unnecessary. The motor isn't silent, but it's no louder than the original. Bathrooms are the noisiest rooms in any house (hair dryers, pulsating shower heads, electric toothbrushes, etc...) so I'm confused by reviewers who complain about the moderate buzzing of an exhaust fan.

I approached the installation process slowly and deliberately from the start. As noted, replacing a motor sounded complicated, so my first step was to remove the fan grill to get an idea of what I was in for. Once I did that I noticed the model info sticker on the unit casing, so I snapped a pic of it with my cell phone and headed for my computer. The sticker provided me with the model number (It's a 678 F/678 F-F) as well as the motor assembly part number (97012040). Unfortunately, motor assembly part number 97012040 no longer exists as a Broan product and my online search turned up empty. Rather than take a risk on ordering the wrong part, I turned to the Broan website and sought help via their product Q&A forum. About a day later, a Broan customer service rep responded to say that, in the 14 years since this unit was installed, Broan changed the motor assembly part number from 97012040 to 97012038. That, of course, is this model.

Much as I appreciated the help provided by the Broan rep, I didn't buy it from their parts store. Instead, I purchased it here on Amazon for less than half the Broan list price.

In the end, the project was easier than most DIY projects because there was no need to cut and splice wires. The fan casing was already equipped with an outlet and the motor came prewired with a plug. The rest was just screws and bolts. I shut the power off at the breaker box, unplugged and unmounted the old motor, then installed the new one and plugged it in. Done and done.

I've since ordered a couple more to preemptively replace the fans in the other two bathrooms.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 20 answered questions

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.