Automotive Deals HPCC Shop Women's Clothing Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 28, 2012
This is an update to my review below:

I'm sorry to see the negative review of this body lotion featured so prominently, I guess because many people thought it was helpful and "saved" them from buying a faulty product. I would suggest that people reconsider and try this lotion. I'm being self-interested here in that I want to see this company stay in business so I can buy from them.

I first came across the Loving Natural's when I read a newspaper article saying that the preservative "paraben" had been found in the tissue of women with breast cancer. I looked at my creams and lotions at home, and sure enough, they all had some form of this chemical. I researched formulas without this chemical and found the Loving Natural's brand.

I've been very happy with the LN body lotion and like it for reasons other than its safety. I like the light and interesting smell of the Grapefruit and Lavender, and the lotion makes my skin much softer than the drugstore brands I was using before.

Knowing the problems with mold that others have experienced, I've decided to order the smaller bottles of the lotion so that I won't having it sitting around too long. Also, I keep it away from warm spots in the bathroom. And I do peek into the bottle once in awhile, just to be sure (the dark spot in the middle's just the impression from where the pump has been).

I don't often review products, and I've never re-reviewed a product, but I hope I can add a balancing voice to the criticisms of this brand.

***

I just got this and am enjoying it. Great that it's made in the US and contains only safe ingredients. I don't usually buy scented products but decided to risk it and try the "Grapefruit & Lavender." I like the scent! especially for daytime. It's vigorous. Could be used by a man, too. The cream makes my skin feel soft right away. I don't think I realized what a small bottle the 8oz. would be. The price does include free shipping, but I'm being careful not to waste this as I need it to last a little while in order to make it feasible to use regularly. I'm looking forward to buying more of the Loving Naturals products.
33 comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2011
MOLD! Wow, how disgusting! I had a friend mention that she found mold in her bottle of Loving Naturals Unscented Hemp Hand & Body Lotion so I checked mine. Sure enough, there is black mold on the top layer of lotion! I can only hope that since it pumps from the bottom, I haven't been applying mold to my hands. I will never purchase from this company again. I'm disgusted. I sent an email to the company as well as posting about the mold on their Facebook page, so we'll see if I get a response.

This was my original review until finding the mold.
I was searching for a lotion with a rating of 0 or 1 from the cosmetic database and decided to give this one a try. I love it! The unscented hemp really is unscented, which was pleasing. I've tried a lot of products that claim to be unscented, but still have a smell that lingers. My hands get dry from washing dishes, washing hands after changing my little one's diaper, giving my little one a bath, etc. I also live in a very dry climate so this review is based on my moderately dry hands (no cracking, bleeding skin). When you first put it on it is a bit greasy, but that goes away within minutes. A little goes a long way, too. You don't have to keep reapplying it like you do with some lotions. I put some on 3 - 4 times a day and my skin feels great.
88 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2011
I've been using this for a few weeks and have found it to be an effective moisturizer for mildly dry skin. It feels a tiny bit greasy going on, but it absorbs quickly, leaving soft, smooth skin with no residue. It also has a mild cooling effect, which was a pleasant surprise. I only have two complaints with it - first, it doesn't relieve my skin's itchiness, and second, the smell is a bit strange. I love both peppermint and vanilla scents by themselves but have never used a product that combined them, and I don't love the combination. However, I realize that smell is very subjective and everyone has quite different preferences there. I do love that it's as healthy as possible - it scores a 0 for toxicity in the Cosmetic Safety Database, which is a feat!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2012
I recently made the switch to healthier/safer products and found this one highly rated on Amazon. I've been using it for 3 months and can't wait to try some more flavors.

Loving Naturals carries "Champion Status" at the Environmental Working Group's website that ranks products based on their danger/toxicity. This means they have signed a pledge to use only the safest ingredients in all their products. On a scale of 0-10 (0 being the safest), this lotion (and many of their products) scores a 0 - meaning it's the best!

-The fragrance is just amazing. Peppermint & vanilla is like heaven. I always put a little on my hands before bed, rub it in a little, then breathe it in deeply through my nose for a soothing effect.
-As with most moisturizers I've ever used, if you don't use enough the effect dissipates rather quickly. If my hands are really dry I might need to use more or use it twice. It does the job but I got spoiled by my last moisturizer which I always proclaimed to be the best...because it would linger on your skin for a LONG time. Turns out it was an 8 (very toxic) on the EWG scale! Some crazy chemicals must have accomplished that...
-If you just want a little moisture, a small amount goes a long way.

After using it for months, I can't wait to buy more. I've sent a few bottles to friends and family already and they have been very happy with it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2012
I have eczema and very dry skin, so must lotion my entire body every day. Because of this, it is important that I find a lotion that is both effective in moisturizing my skin (and ideally, helps to control the eczema), while also not having potentially toxic/harmful ingredients, as I expose myself to a lot of the lotion! I have done a lot of research on different lotions and tried a LOT of different ones, and I have been happy enough with Loving Naturals' Unscented Hemp Lotion that I have stopped looking!

Most lotions that I have tried (all which had many more ingredients than this lotion, even if trying to be "natural") just kept my skin acceptably moisturized; this lotion actually helps reduce eczema flare-ups. And with so many fewer ingredients! The cost of the lotion is also very manageable, especially given how quickly I go through it.

I think the only thing that would make this lotion better were if it were sold in more physical locations. However, the fact that it is sold through Amazon (and thus, eligible for Prime shipping) made it an acceptable choice for a product that I buy on a regular basis.

I have read the reviews of people finding mold growing in their lotion, which is unfortunate, but is an issue to be aware of when using any cosmetic products with fewer ingredients/chemicals. The price we pay for not using toxic preservatives requires us to pay more attention to their condition. But assuming that the mold-growth is the exception rather than the rule, I cannot recommend this lotion enough, especially for anyone with eczema.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2012
I initially bought this lotion because of it's "0" health hazard score given by the Environmental Working Group, but now that I've been using it, I also love it for the smell and feel (This one says unscented but I bought the Lavender & Grapefruit). It leaves my skin soft but not at all greasy and a little bit goes a long way. I bought one for my daughter, also, trying to get her away from all the chemical laden products she uses and she loves it too!! I will be ordering more when this runs out.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2012
I recently purchased Adorable Baby SPF 30+ Sunscreen Non-Nano Zinc Oxide UVA/UVB 4.3 oz made by Loving Naturals for my pregnant wife after reading about it on EWG.ORG Skin Deep Database. With only a 1 Hazard Score by the EWG it was the safest natural product I could find to help protect the development of my future child. This will also be the product I use in the summers on my child, but I feel adults should use it too. It definitely did the trick on our recent trip in Aruba. Although for only 4.3 oz it was extremely expensive, but it was worth the price for the protection for my wife and future child. After reading the customers reviews about the Loving Naturals Body Lotion having mold growing inside the bottles I was a little hesitant to buy this product, but again with a 0 Hazard Score by EWG I figured it was worth the purchase. Well I am glad I did! I purchase both the 16oz and the 8oz for myself and my wife and after a detailed inspection inside the bottles, there was NO sign of mold.

Don't give up on this company their natural and organic ingredient are safe and not hazardous for you and your family, they have the best Hazard Scores on EWG and the best part about it Amazon sells their product! All the other company's that have low Hazard Scores on EWG are very hard to find. I just wish they would come down a little on the prices.

p.s. With the people that experienced mold, I am thinking I might store my lotion in the refrigerator. Not sure if that helps the shelf life of the product, but with the ingredient they use, sounds to me that it should be keep in a cooler area than in room temperature. Does that sound stupid?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2012
This lotion is great--I use it almost every day. It soaks in nicely without a residue and really is unscented. I do use a more intense hand cream, especially for around my cuticles, but this lotion is perfect for anywhere else, especially my legs after shaving. I will order it again.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon June 15, 2012
I have been switching my daughter off of all products containing the ingredient "fragrance" after finding out that it is a catch all word and you really don't know what chemicals it contains. Ordered this lotion to try. Works well in a dry climate, doesn't have a weird smell and my daughter likes it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2010
I have tried other natural lotions but this one is by far the best! It has really helped my dermatitis. It soaks in well. The Cosmetic Safety Database rates it as a 0 for one of the safest products available so I have no reservations about using it on my children. I plan to reorder this again and again.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.