Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Chi-Raq easycohice_2016 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Valentine's Day Cards Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now Sale

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 3, 2013
I was looking for an ugly ass hat that would keep my head warm and look good with a beard. This is it, I LOVE this hat.
33 comments37 of 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2012
I always heard that 90% of your body heat escapes through your head. Whether or not that's true is up for debate, but with that in mind I decided I would get a nice, warm hat this winter. It seems like my ears are always cold so I was specifically looking for something that would cover them.

I just couldn't bring myself to wear one of those logger "ear flap" type hats. So I tried this out. It's soft and warm. I feel kind of like a roman when I wear it, but it's reasonably fashionable. One thing to note is the size of this hat. I have a relatively large head - 24" circumference at the forehead, for reference - and this fits OK, but a little more snug than I like.

All in all, I'm happy with it. I like Carhartt stuff; its usually well made. This is no different. It's stitched well and I'm certain it will last for a long time.
22 comments13 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2012
The price for this hat is fair. It is made well since it is from Carhardt. The inside wool can keep your head mighty warm in the cold weather. It covers the entirety of my head which is awesome since my head side is 7 3/4 so it's hard to find winter hats this size. The only downfall is that to hat looks a little bit goofy. Deal with it if you want to be warm and comfortable.
0Comment11 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2014
You buy this hat if you're trying to keep your head as warm
as possible under very cold circumstances.
You do not buy it to look sharp.

That said, is it your BEST extreme cold weather option?

The only other hat that compares, for warmth, is Carhartt's "Akron" model.
I own both, so can help with the difference.
Both have the same warm lining, the only difference is that the Akron
provides just a bit more coverage:
When pulled on snug, this "Marled Ear" version comes down about 3/4 past the bottom of my ears.
The Akron, by comparison, has longer ear flaps that go about 2 inches past my ears,
and a little further down the back of the neck, too. The Akron costs a few bucks more, too.

Both are great hats...the Akron just covers you a tiny bit more,
which may or may not be desired. I do think that the brown Akron looks
a tiny bit less dorky than this green hat.
22 comments10 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2013
Alright lets be honest you look like you are wearing a condom in this hat.

However, it is super warm and very functional. I use this for deer camp when I am in my sleeping bag on below freezing nights. It works great. The fact that there are no flaps or folds was the reason I bought it; I wanted it for sleeping. Your hair will itch like crazy after a night though.

VERY warm an fairly small package.
11 comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2012
I use this hat for cold weather camping and it works like a charm. The inside lining is very toasty and the outside looks stylish (Which doesn't matter to me but was a plus) It blocks the wind very well while keeping in heat from your head-piece. Great buy.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2013
I dont like it because it's too tight and I cannot really wear it comfortably. I would like to, its pretty nice and all, but for one size, you'd think that they would make them larger than a kids size! Or else I may have a large head.... either way, I cannot wear it.

Otherwise, it feels warm and I like the design. I'm going to try to contact Amazon or the seller for a return/refund.

I would have given a better rating if they had a size that fit me, but for one size fits all, it's too small. I dont remember seeing a size chart either.
22 comments4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2012
This hat is just what I was looking for to wear though a Minnesota winter. It comes down over my ears and it is super warm. It doesn't seem to build up much static, which is a bonus.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2015
This is a high quality hat that feels very warm on the inside, and does look very nice, but it was very small, and too uncomfortably small to wear.

I wear a fitted had size 7&3/4, and i could barely get this on my head, and it was very tight. If your head is smaller than a 7&3/4, you should be ok.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2012
I bought this hat because it looked like it would be warm and cover my ears while wearing a hard hat. I work outside during the cold months in TN and this hat is perfect!!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.