Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports

Price:$12.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon January 4, 2009
I got hooked on the original Oregon Trail several years ago, so I was excited when I saw there was one that would be compatible with my new computer. I had to look for a "cheat sheet" online to figure out how to catch fish, and it had some other pointers that helped me navigate through the game. The worst part of the game is crossing some of those rivers and seemingly getting "stuck" and unable to move without ending the program from the task manager (saving the game is an option), then going back into the game. Other than that, the game was a delight. The only thing I miss from the original is being able to have families with you on the trail. Instead you have two other, unrelated people, who may or may not give you good advice along the way.

This game is addictive - I played for hours; died once, and made it all the way to Oregon twice. There is a checklist at the end that determines how much land you get - I got 80 acres the first time, 40 the second.

Again, lots of fun for old and young alike.
11 comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2010
This game is awsome. But take note that it needs to be up dated so that it can run on windows 7. If your not running XP or something older your out of luck.
33 comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2010
Oregon Trail is just like when we where kids because it IS the same game. The only thing ever done to this game over the last 20 years is that it's been adapted (sort of) to run on newer computers. I had to turn the graphics way down on the computer to get it to run and it periodically crashes still but it has an auto save feature that comes in real handy. Its still a campy game though.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2014
Even though the CD states that the disc is compatible with Windows, it is not. I ordered the game to play with my students during the WestWard expansion unit and was sorely disappointed to find out that the disc did not work. After emailing my tech person, it was determined that the version on this CD was just too outdated to be compatible with my system.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2014
Windows 8 hates this but i love it! I had to do alot to my computer to get it to play this game, so if you have a windows 8 pos this game might not be for you. But when I got it working it was awesome and added many cool features to the ol' fave!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2011
I was excited at first, because it was a newer version of what I had remembered. But once you get on the trail, you are finished with the game extremely soon. Maybe it seemed way longer when i was little, but It's pretty much only good for getting your fix of the game. Good otherwise though, came early and in good condition.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2011
I had to return this product. Contrary to advertisement it was not compatible with Windows XP. I had 3 different people try to download and open this program to no avail.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2013
Guess it's tp play on older computers. Not able to play CD on my laptop. Not worth sending it back and paying postage again. So guess I'm stuck with it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2014
wont play on new versions of windows
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2014
I loved this game in the past but it doesn't work on my windows 7 I tried and tried but sorry it doesn't work.
I wish they had it for Wii or nintendo ds.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.