Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Pyrex 14-Piece Glass Food Storage Set with Lids
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 29, 2012
I love this set. Since I threw away all my plastic leftover containers, I bought 2 sets. I always let them cool down before I refrigerate food in them. I also don't put them in the oven or microwave directly from the refrigerator. They clean easily, won't stain as plastic does, and the dishes are attractive enough to use them to serve food.the covers fit tightly, keeping the food really fresh.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2012
Both lids and glass containers are made in USA. Lids fit tight but easy to be put on. The various sizes really meet the daily needs of my entire family. All of them look same as the one I bought from local store (which is ~$5). This is really a good deal.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon November 16, 2012
Unfortunately these lids leak with liquids such as soup. If any liquid sloshes while moving it such as to place it inside the fridge, the liquid instantly comes out and runs down the outside and into the refrigerator. I do not fill these to the top either because that also causes the leak to happen. The leaking is caused by the design of the Pyrex lid -- it is flimsy and is not double walled to have a lip for the glass to go inside.

The lid is not airtight as a result of the design that Pyrex chose to use for the lid (see details above). That is not good enough if you are looking for a glass storage container to store dry foods in to keep pantry pest bugs out.

Formerly I used an Italian company's glass container that had a red plastic lid. That lid was thicker plastic and had a lip to make it airtight. I mean to say, the glass top was hugged on both sides by the plastic forming a seal (just like the plastic Rubbermaid and Tupperware storage containers). Unfortunately the Italian product is not as readily available as the Pyrex so I decided to give Pyrex a shot.

These are less expensive than other glass containers on the market.

The glass is sturdy and thick enough.

I am disappointed in this product due to a poorly designed lid.

While I love glass containers and prefer them to plastic for health reasons, the product needs to have an airtight lid and a lid that will not leak if liquid sloshes.

I rate this 3 stars = It's Okay because for the price it is alright for storing solid foods such as leftovers in the refrigerator. I probably should have rated it 2 stars because of the liquid leaks.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2016
I bought this set when we were experimenting with a microwave oven that had a browning element. We needed cookware and food storage that is not only microwave safe, but also oven safe. I saw a lot of people on the Internet that were complaining that Pyrex is not as good as it was years ago, because they have changed the formulation of the glass. So far, however, we have not had any problems with this Pyrex after about 4 months of use. (We have taken the microwave with the browning element back and have gotten one without the browning element. We found we really weren't using the browning element all that much.) Some cautions: 1) This Pyrex cannot be taken directly from freezer to oven. That much of a temperature gradient will almost certainly cause it to break. 2) When this Pyrex is hot don't set it directly on a cold or wet surface. 3) Don't run cool or cold water on it while it is hot. 4) the lids might be okay in a microwave, but only if they are not snapped tightly in place. 5) The lids are NOT usable in a conventional oven or in a dishwasher. One real advantage of these Pyrex containers is that flavors and smells do not migrate through the glass the way they sometimes do with plastic containers. Another advantage is that sauces and cooking oil doesn't stain the glass.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2016
I really like these containers. I'm converting all of my plastic containers over to these glass ones to cut down on microwaving plastic and I have been very satisfied. The glass is thick and very strong. On more than one occasion I have dropped one on the ground and none of them have broken. The only complaint I have is that some of the lids will develop a crack on one side, which reduces how effectively the lid stays in place.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2015
I bought three sets of these storage containers. They are that impressive. But with my past experience using Pyrex, do not use the lids until the food has completely cooled off or you may ruin the lids. I actually plan to buy more because they are a healthier alternative to using plastic, especially in the freezer or microwave.

Another cool aspect is how they nest beautifully when you are storing them in your cabinet or on a shelf. They nest even with the lids on and this helps with finding the lids in the future.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2015
Now that I own these I will never go back to plastic containers again. I've never liked how plastic containers always felt hard to clean and carried odors. I'm kind of a stickler about feeling like my dishes are clean.

In any case, these do the trick marvelously. I'm a single guy in my 20's, which makes it very hard to cook- because few meals are portioned for only one person. So I cook meals and save the portions in these Pyrex containers to eat at work the next day. I'm very pleased with these and will likely purchase some more small containers- as I've found these great for pre-prepping veggies and fruits and adding them to recipes later.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2014
These are as expected. Good quality seals on the lids. For me personally, the weight of the glass is a drawback. I wanted to get away from microwaving foods in plastic containers, but the weight of carrying these every day for my lunch (and needing a potholder at work to take them out of the microwave) make them less convenient.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2015
I bought these some time ago (2014) and still using them. The food taste fresher and last longer stored in glass. And, you can take from the fridge and put it in the oven and even serve in the same dish. And I have baked in it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2012
I love Pyrex glassware! It is easy to maintain (no smells like you can get with plastic) and I love the option of baking and serving in the same dish, then storing in the refrigerator. Thanks Amazon!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 10 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.