Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Indie for the Holidays egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $15 Off All-New Fire Kindle Voyage Cyber Monday Sweepstakes in Prime Music Outdoor Deals on HTL

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars221
Price:$59.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

104 of 110 people found the following review helpful
on January 7, 2012
my daughter - who is five - spotted the purple section when we visited our local lego store yesterday. after looking at all the new sets, she chose "olivia's tree house." i am thrilled that lego has created a girl-themed product line. i have no complaint about what lego has offered so far, as our son and daughter have enjoyed our many lego sets throughout the years. i just read an article on yahoo that chastises lego for its gender stereotyping. but come on! my son and daughter have a variety of lego sets. the holiday-themed sets that we put together each christmas; the "pink" starter box. countless DUPLO sets that they have both played with. but she is a girl and she likes "girly" things too and that includes "girly" colors AND she is able to tell you the name of all the planets in order and has the space shuttle lego set. creating a "girl" themed product line in no way forces her into a gender role, limits the possibility of what she can achieve in life nor does it undermine her equality; rather it gives her the option to play with sets that appeal to the girly part of her personality. thanks LEGO!
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
44 of 49 people found the following review helpful
on January 7, 2012
My six year daughter asked for Lego for this past Christmas. Having searched the Internet and stores I was discouraged that the selection was primarily marketed for boys with some unisex offerings. Knowing my daughters play habits, I decided to buy her lego creator apple tree house and Lego city corner. I figured that she could build a town to play with. I was hoping to buy her some female figures separately to play with. The problem I had with that was, there were precious few female mini figs. I was a little irritated with Lego for largely ignoring what is appealing for girls. While There are aisles of barbies and Disney princess, Lego is in the boys section of the toy store. And while we have barbies and princesses, which she has fun with, they don't really build her brain. I remember playing with Lego as a kid. It was a hand me down from a cousin so by the time I played with it it was essentially a large tub of blocks, but it was fun to play with. I knew my daughter would have fun following the plans and creating something she could play with. I also knew she wouldn't be much interested in building the mellinium falcon. So When I saw the add in toys r us for the new Lego friends, I was delighted that Lego had finally come out with something a little girl could get excited about. While I'm still glad that I have the creator house and city corner. The friends sets complement what we already have. Our apple tree house now has a olives tree house in the back yard. My little girl spent two hours following the directions and building the tree house all by herself. I watched her young brain figuring it out and growing and I was really proud of her. These toys are good for their brains and fun. As I watch her play and create I know this is only the beginning. I expect we will buy many of the friends sets and as she develops more of the creator sets as well. I'm just so happy that there are now friends sets to get her interested and engaged.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
on November 18, 2012
The set itself is cute, and it has some fun details, but the minifig doesn't move the same way that regular Lego people do--specifically, the hands cannot rotate nor can the legs separate. What's more, the only piece of the figure that is interchangeable with regular Lego minifigs is the hair, which was disappointing as my daughter and I were really looking forward to seeing how Olivia would look in a spacesuit or with a pirate hook instead of a left hand.

The blocks themselves can be combined with other Lego sets, so that is a plus. However, creatively mixing and matching the minifig pieces to create new characters is one of the fun things about traditional Lego, and this element is conspicuously lacking in the "Friends" line. Swapping clothes and hairstyles between the "Friends" just isn't the same.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
on January 7, 2012
My daughter was so excited to see the new Lego Friends range. We already own a lot of Duplo and recently purchased the LEGO Bricks & More Deluxe Brick Box 5508 and the LEGO Fairy Tale Historic Miniature Figures - Contains 227 Pieces. Olivia's Tree House is a great addition to our collection. My daughter was especially excited about the new mini-doll figure and she would like to collect them all.

This was her first real Lego set and she was able to assemble it herself by following the instructions. I had to help her out a couple of times - building the brown parts of the tree was more complex than I expected. She was very proud of herself after she'd completed the 40 plus steps involved.

The tree house set has a lot of nice touches - a little secret hiding spot for treasure, ladders that swing up & down and a very cute bird and cat. Regular mini figures also fit nicely in the set and my 4 year old son also joins in the play with his own mini-figures in this set.

Olivia can switch her hair with regular mini-figures and my daughter likes to add the red witches cape to Olivia, so she can be Super Girl. Olivia can also hold Lego items. My daughter likes to have her use the bow & arrow from the Fairy Tale figures set.

We will be purchasing more items from the Lego Friends line.
review image
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on February 27, 2012
Like many 5 year olds, my son is obsessed with Legos. He has built virtually every Hero Factory guy and stages endless battles and adventures for them. With duplos, he has built all manner of spaceships and fortresses and yeah, guns, and this Christmas he got the Lego Star Wars catalogue I mean Visual Dictionary, which is creating a huge problem for our annual lego budget.

We won an auction at his school which included eight different Lego sets, including this treehouse. At first he wanted to give it to his best girl friend for her birthday, but after looking at it for awhile, he decided he wanted to build it. Why not? he asked. I like treehouses, and I like flowers (he is a gardener like his father), and I like building things.

I hear a stuff coming out of his mouth sometimes which alarms my feminist heart (boys are like this, girls are like that), and I was one of those parents who was offended at the idea of Lego for Girls (it reminded me of the brilliant Chess for Girls SNL skit).

But this morning walking to school, he told me what a great toy it was, and it wasn't just for girls, but for girls AND boys, and he doesn't care what anyone thinks.

So thanks, Lego, for teaching my son and important lesson about gender equity.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on January 16, 2012
I was so excited to see this new line of "girlie" Legos at Target! Why couldn't they have made these when I was a kid? My daughter had Christmas gift card money and chose to spend most of it on this tree house set. That tells you something! Everything appealed to her, from the purple packaging to the girl figures and especially the themes of the sets. She loves animals and several of these new sets feature animals, plus other fun things like a cafe, beauty shop, convertible, house, etc.

My 7 year old daughter and I spent part of a rainy afternoon making this. She really enjoyed it. I like that this is more engaging and gives her a feeling of accomplishment when finished. They separate the pieces into different bags marked #1 and #2 so you do the one bag first and the other bag second, and aren't overwhelmed with all the pieces at once. The directions are good, they only show adding 2-3 different kinds of pieces at a time so it's easier to follow along.

I liked having something to do with her that wasn't boring for me ;) My daughter is an only child so I am frequently her playmate. Well I'm 35 so often times I have to feign excitement. This was fun though! We BOTH want to get the other sets, ha ha!

These would make a great gift if you have a girl's birthday party to go to. The prices range from $10 for the smaller sets to $50 for the big ones, so you can choose the one that is right for you.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on January 13, 2012
This is a great set with good value. It's very customizable (ie you don't need to follow the instructions to make a great looking treehouse). I like how this toy stimulates thinking beyond the "instructions" unlike a lot of the Star Wars Lego vehicles for example which don't really reconfigure well. The best part of course is that my 6year old is finally excited about a Lego set; she totally loves it, and I'm sure more of them will make it on to the wish list. You won't regret this purchase!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on January 10, 2012
These are so CUTE!! Got a few boxes for my 7 year old daughters birthday. She loves building lego's with her brother, Star Wars and Ninjago, etc...but it's nice to see some girly stuff now.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on February 3, 2012
My 7 year old daughter loves this set. She's always been into Duplos and Legos. She's been building Creator sets before this came out; while she's found this a bit less challenging, and can follow the instructions easily, she still enjoyed the process of building and playing with the character afterwards.

Some folks have been naysaying Lego's decision to release a range more for girls, but I think it's a brilliant idea. My kids love Legos, but they've never been too keen on the Ninjago and Star Wars sets. It's nice that Lego is equalising the playing field a bit.

Girls have very different interests from boys at this age and Lego's marketing has acknowledge that.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on February 10, 2012
Let me start by saying I had reservations about having to "girlify" legos. I have used legos since I was a kid, my husband as well, and have an extensive set of the regular blocks. I dislike having to make everything in my life for either girls or boys. I give my daughter every opportunity to play with superheroes and cars and trucks and blocks too. That having been said, I think this type of set was created with girls play styles in mind-- girls tend to want to build stories while boys are more focused on the item itelf. It was amazing to watch my not-quite-five year old build the complicated structure herself, with just a little guidance and encouragement from me. We were using math skils, language skills and visual-spacial skills for the better part of an hour, and she couldn't wait to finish her tree house and play. Once assembled, she promptly grabbed her Playmobil pirate set and staged an attack and defense of the treehouse, lol. This sparked a good old family movie night watching "Swiss Family Robinson", with my daughter riveted by this whole magical world expanding from what she created with her own two hands. It was amazing, and we will definitely be getting more of this set! If anything, I would love to see Lego create more unisex characters in this style. The character style really is more fun (and the blocks work perfectly into the old lego sets. I found it durable, and well-made for a structure that is made by a child out of plastic blocks. My daughter played with it all evening (and so did my 20 month old son) and it held up :) Love this set!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question

Customers who viewed this also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.