Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Customer Reviews

2.0 out of 5 stars
10
5 star
20%
4 star
0%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
80%
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 2, 2011
After ONE YEAR it's broken. We MAYBE use it one to two minutes per day. I've seen other reviews on Whirlpool as well and it seems the quality of their products is horrid. If you do buy PLEASE get whatever service plan is available to you as it is the one time you may actually be happy you did. Just an absolute piece of junk. Very crappy plastic, cheap sounding door, loud machine that doesn't last. Will NEVER buy Whirlpool again. There are reports all over the internet about how these break down after a year or two - do your homework and look at the customer reviews. We saw reports this was a good microwave - well it was a new model at the time. You could offer me one for free and I wouldn't take it - like the free couches you see on people's lawns - genuine JUNK. It's embarrassing that I can go to my mother's house and they're still using their microwave from 15 years ago w/o problem and here I am replacing mine after a year.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2013
I bought my whirlpool microwave, model wmh2175xvb-2(must be revised version of the one everyone is complaining about and I paid around $230 for this one) that shows manufactured in January of 2011, in June of 2011 when I remodeled my kitchen. The only problem I have had with it is replacing the light bulb a couple times, the one underneath which lights over the stove. Other than that it has worked very well. I was told by someone I know who is a technician that if you have any metal inside the microwaves, like a rack, or even screws that hold up the rack, to remove it all because metal tends to damage the microwaves even though most of them come with racks and screws. I removed my rack after purchasing the microwave because it just got in the way but have never taken the screws out till recently only because I finally remembered and got around to it. I give the microwave 5 stars because even though I have replaced the bulb a couple times I usually program the light to come on just before dark every night and go off around 11pm so the bulbs have seen their share of wear.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2011
This microwave is a piece of junk. I'm reading all over the web the same thing that has happened to us. We have owned this microwave for just over a year and it doesn't heat up any longer. Whirlpool doesn't even stand behind their product. They want you to buy new microwaves every year obviously.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2014
I have had the SAME problem. Microwaves does everything but heat. Was only used lightly for about 6 months. Total waste. Whirlpool will not do anything. They actually told me it would be cheaper to buy a new one.
I am going to take another writers advice and buy the warrantee with my next one. So frustrated because all my other appliances are whirlpool and I would like them to match. Hate to give them my business again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2016
Like others, ours died (not heating) just the other day after having it 4 years. I know that's longer than others, but when I buy a product I expect it to last longer. Warranty only covers the first year and whirlpool offers a service-$94 just to come to house for "diagnostics" which you would have to pay repair costs on top of that. Um no thank you, it's cheaper just to buy another microwave!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2012
In a word "CHEAP". Don't buy this microwave. The door cracked on us, the glass plate cracked on us. The unit stopped heating, but we were able to fix that. The wirlpool repair man said it was the magnetron, but upon inspection I found it to be a lose wiring connection. We repaired the connection, and it heats. I'd suggest going with a different company for microwaves.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2012
This microwave is junk and DO NOT buy it. We had it installed Saturday and it quit working Sunday. The only thing that works is the touch pad and the clock. The fan, vent, and the unit itself will not do anything. We got it from Lowes and they are sending a technician. I want it replaced or my money back. I am afraid this one will never be any good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2013
Recently moved into our new home June 21, 2013 and this microwave was installed in the cabinets above the range. Says it was manufactured in July 2010, so this microwave is likely only a couple years old and it does not heat anything. Everything else works. So must say I agree with every single review posted here. This model is a lemon, stay away. Just called Whirlpool and all they could offer was a local technician who could come diagnose it for $129 and parts are additional. I'll just buy a cheap microwave until I remodel the kitchen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2011
Like all the other reviews, mine quit heating after 20 months. I have always been a fan of Whirlpool appliances but this item has changed my opinion.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2015
Had it for 4 years and no issues. It's telling me I need to clean the filter now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.