Automotive Holiday Deals Up to 50% Off Select Books Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Train egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Get Ready for the Winter Gifts Under $50 Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer bf15 bf15 bf15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $15 Off All-New Fire Kindle Black Friday Deals BestoftheYear Outdoor Deals on DOTD

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

135 of 136 people found the following review helpful
on November 24, 2011
The T3 is in the bottom of the entry level line up, but it performs very well. In terms of picture quality when compared with higher end models all the way to the 60D, it is difficult to determine any differences between them.

The biggest sacrifices are ergonomics and features like frames per second and flip screens, but I have to tell you that it is a great starting point for any enthusiast wanting to discover DSLR photography. ISO 6400 is really helpful when compared with models like the XS which Canon stop showing in their website; the XS was Canon's entry level before the T3 but it only had ISO 1600 (useless). ISO 6400 with Photoshop Lightroom 3 makes unwanted grain a thing of the past.

The camera is small and convenient; I recommend buying the body only and getting and upgraded lens instead of using the 18-55 kit les that comes with it. Good quality pictures come from high quality lenses, so save the money from the kit lens, and buy an upgraded lens like the Canon 24-70L for people with money or the Tamron 17-50 2.8 for people on a budget that want a good balance between price and quality.

The bottom line is the lens is more important than the camera if comparing all Canon models under $1000.00. Good luck with your choice.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
116 of 125 people found the following review helpful
on November 7, 2011
Listen if you are coming from a point and shoot don't even read the negative reviews, just get this camera and enjoy. The negative or neutral reviews are mainly from whinny wanna be "experts", Canon haters, and some real pros who have more demands and are sometimes difficult to please. I mean seriously who scrutinizes the very edge of a photograph for flaws in 10% or less of the shots? All I want to know is, did I capture the moment I was looking for in that middle area in better detail and clarity than my trusty canon point and shot? Yes? Then good, done, i'm happy.
The only thing I suggest is don't treat this like a small point and shoot, its more delicate, keep it safe, get a bag for it, don't drop it in the diaper bag, etc etc. In short just bring it out for special occasions and keep it in a safe place when you are done shooting. Use the neck strap!! Buy a cheap point and shoot for the crazy moments. For example use the cheap P&S for the party and break out the dslr for the cake cutting and the pre-party dressup shots before the cloths go to hell, you parents know what i'm talking about! This thing takes great shots, get it.
55 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
on December 16, 2011
I am a reasonably experienced, amateur, 35mm SLR photographer who wanted my photography to join the 21st century and the digital age. This camera has fit the bill perfectly. I have had it for about a month and can't think of anything else I could have wanted in an "entry level" camera. My 35mm SLRs (Canon and Pentax) could not record photo settings and I was lazy about recording this information so I could never tell what I did to produce a particular image. Not so with this camera. The settings are effortlessly recorded for every photo. Can't remember what you did? The camera does it for you. As a result, the Canon Rebel T3 will make you a better photographer.

Image quality is excellent. Anyone who complains otherwise is expecting $1500 performance from a $500 camera. That is unreasonable. I have found the Canon Rebel T3's resolution to be impressive. Some photos that I thought were good showed details that, in my hyper-critical opinion, ruined the shots. These were certainly not problems with the camera. They were all problems with the photographer.

I couldn't be happier with this camera. The software that came with it was an unexpected bonus. The Canon Rebel T3 is billed as an entry level DSLR camera but that doesn't mean it isn't a serious camera. I recommend the Canon Rebel T3 to anyone considering serious digital photography. People moving up from a "point and shoot" digital camera will be able to use the camera on "full auto" mode in no time and those interested in learing more advanced digital photography will find plenty to interest them. No one purchasing an entry level DSLR will be disappointed by the Canon Rebel T3. I bought the "body only" because I already had a bunch of Canon lenses but there is nothing wrong with the "kit" lens if you buy the Rebel T3 "kit."
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon September 15, 2011
If you already own a Canon dSLR, get the body only. Canon kit lenses on the budget dSLRs are simply not that good. Why pay extra for mediocre glass?

I am a passionate hobbyist and a Canon user since 2006. I bought this T3 body only to replace an ailing Canon xS with auto-focusing problems. Both are selling at the same price, but the T3 offers a few upgrades: 12MP vs 10 MP, faster burst mode, video mode and more focusing points on the sensor. I already have a plethora of good Canon and Tamron lenses and didn't want a cheap kit lens the Rebels are notorious for, so I bought the camera body only.

I take this dSLR into town, on long hikes, camping trips and backpacking adventures, so the lighter weight of a lower-end Rebel made from polycarbonates is ideal for me. My cameras take a beating. I leave my 7D home for more indoor portraiture shots.

The Canon T3 looks smart. It feels more solid than the xS and the handgrip has a slight rubberized coating for better grip that the xS does not have. The buttons are almost all in the same place except for the SD slot; on the T3 it is with the battery slot on the bottom which may be an issue with battery packs. The bodies look very similiar, so there was no great time wasted reading the manual. For those new to the Rebel line-up, however, I greatly encourage to read the manual to better understand this camera, as it has many great features for an affordable price. Most people who are dissatisfied with a camera or lens usually just don't take the time to learn the many capabilities of that piece of equipment. There are differences between a Nikon and a Canon dSLR as there are different terms and physical layouts for everything. It's like studying French and German simultaneously.

I shoot mostly in A-DEP and Manual mode, although P and Auto are also used when doing snapshots. When using the first two modes, however, the photographer must be aware of proper settings in white balance and ISO modes as otherwise photos will appear washed-out or over/underexposed. This is the fun and creative part about photography that I enjoy.

The T3 ia better suited for sports photography than the xS as it has a rapid-action burst mode that lets you take ten shots in a row. This is faster than the xS.

As all lower-end dSLRs, this camera is made in Taiwan.

I am happy with the photo quality of my photographs. Colors are vibrant. I now carry it in my camera bag as a side-kick to my Canon 7D.

I will update this review as times goes on.
review image
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
on May 9, 2012
I've had this camera for exactly 2 months now. This is my first DSLR, and while I am no prosumer I know when I'm happy with something. The picture quality between this camera and point and shoot type cameras is obvious from the onset. The larger sensor results in a level of detail that is just not possible with point and shoot cameras. I've used it in conjunction with my 24- 85mm f3.5/4.5 USM lens, and I'm very happy with the results, especially portrait type shots. The in-camera help guide lets me change settings with confidence, to the point where I now shoot exclusively in Av, Tv or manual. A camera like this should never be used in full auto. I know there are many critics out there who are caught up with minute technical details, and these are probably individuals who do photography for a living or have a lot more money to spend. At this price, this camera gives you a wide range of control over most variables with ease. I can control depth of field, speed, white balance, exposure, iso rating, etc. I also have the option to shoot in RAW and then edit afterwards, which is a huge advantage over point and shoots.

I've become accustomed to the layout to the point where I no longer need to look when I have to rotate the wheel or engage other controls, as the camera is very ergonomically designed. The camera almost encourages experimentation, and I deliberately shoot the same subject using different settings just to see how creative I can be. The only reason I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars is due to the fact that I have not used other brands or higher end models to which I can compare my T3.

The canon manual is almost useless though, get David Busch's guide to the T3, it's an excellent manual to go along with an excellent camera.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on July 21, 2012
Bought this Canon EOS digital camera body to replace Canon EOS film camera. Already had 2 lenses, carry bag and tripod, this T3 can use them all. It is everything I want and care for in a nice digital camera. The Ti's are great for those deep into photography, but for the average person just wanting a clear sharp pictures with some of the bells and whistles, this Canon T3 will do the trick. Delivery was prompt, exactly as promised.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
33 of 41 people found the following review helpful
on July 18, 2012
The camera that I received was defective from the beginning. At first, i thought that i just didn't know how to use it, but it completely stopped working after less than a month. Contacted the seller, and they told me to call Canon. Btw, Canon cust. svc. is excellent! Turns out, Canon doesn't make this camera to be sold body only. The seller is taking the kits, splitting them up and selling them separately. Fortunately, I received a warranty card, but others may not. Pretty shady seller, if you ask me. Other than all that, it's a great camera.
55 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on November 11, 2012
This is a great buy! First off, it arrived 3 days after I ordered it and that was with standard shipping-- extremely fast. So thank you for that! As for the camera itself, it is wonderful. I upgraded from a Canon Rebel XT, so this is a beauty compared to that. There were many things about this camera that were not mentioned in the product description, so to name a few perks: it has a smooth shutter sound, it tells you on the screen what every mode is used for as you flip through them, the ISO goes all the way up to 6400, it has video option, it has a live viewing option, it is very light, and altogether is very user friendly! I rate this camera a 5 because it works beautifully and I got it for $200 less than it currently sells for in store.

The only problem I found with this purchase was that the included accessories were not clearly stated anywhere. The camera also comes with a strap, battery, battery charger, computer cord, manual and CD's (no product box). I was pleased with these accessories of course, but since it did not state that it came with a battery charger, I bought one separately, so now I have two. Small problem, but it would help if the seller put that in the product description.

I would recommend this camera to anybody. The seller just needs to brag a little more about it and then it would probably sell even more!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
on November 21, 2011
I was extremely pleased with the photo quality. It was very easy to use. I specifically went for this because of the price. I was comparing this with T3i, although are differences like resolutions, HD video quality this one suited my needs and also this year they are selling at a very good price.

Best bet if you need entry level DSLR and fine with 780P videos. I did lot of research and finally ended up with this when compared to Nikon / Sony etc.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on October 7, 2011
Purchased this camera body to save some money as I was told the kit lens was not worth using in the long haul. Several friends said, "Buy a body that works and save your money for a quality lens," so that's what we did. So far, the battery life has been good and the user interface has been easy to learn.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 54 answered questions

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.