Automotive Holiday Deals Books Holiday Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Prime Music Sweepstakes egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty Deals Gifts for Her May The Best Garden Be Yours Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Cyber Monday Deals Outdoor Deals on DOTD

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

376 of 381 people found the following review helpful
on November 16, 2011
Anyone who loved using Polaroid or Instant cameras in the past, this little (sort of) gem is going to make you do the Charlie Brown happy dance.
I took this baby out the first night that I got it and while it is a bit bulkier than my tiny point and shoot, it is way more fun. My friends and I were backstage at a show and we were able to take photos with the band and have them autograph the photos for us. Not to mention when was the last time you got a group of people standing around laughing at pictures you just took.

As much as I love my new friend maker, there are a number of pros and cons.

The amount of visual effects that can be added to the pictures is staggering considering that this camera is doing a lot to begin with.
There are 10 different borders from snowflakes, and hearts to standard Polaroid, and for the vintage peel apart enthusiast there is a border just for you.
A multitude of shooting programs from the standard come with every camera (daylight, night, portrait, landscape) to a plethora of fun ones like LOMO, snow (for shooting against snowy background), party, soft skin, flowing water, fisheye, and my personal favorite pre-composition where you can take a picture as a reference first and then shoot the subject in front of the precaptured image.
In addition there are also color options like vintage polaroid, b&w, sepia, and b&w w/ vignetting.
Since it has a memory chip you can give away the printed pictures because have them saved.
The Zink paper doesn't tear.

People are so fascinated by it that you will be required to play show and tell. This gets worse once you print because everyone will want a copy for themselves, and even though the Zink paper is cheaper than the Polaroid film was, at approx. $.60 per print this could get expensive fast.
The battery will only print about 25 shots before dying. I also haven't found a place to purchase an additional battery pack.
The only way to check the battery is to turn the camera on. I wish they had put an indicator light on the outside so you can see when it's safe to unplug. I personally prefer to charge my batteries outside of the camera.
The camera will only hold 10 sheets of paper at a time. Which means you are dragging packs of paper with you.
The printing process is relatively slow, not quite as slow as waiting for a Polaroid to develop, but it won't be shooting that picture out with the speed of it predecessor.
It's the size of the Spectra, so it not going to be sliding into a back pocket or tiny handbag.
It does have a learning curve as I kept finding features but then not being able to locate them again later.

All in all a well made product that brings back a bit of the Polaroid fun days. While I agree it is sitting at a bit of a high price point, I don't think you'll be disappointed.
And if you are Amazon does returns.

P. S. I have read a number of reviews on various other sites with people saying that Polaroid isn't useful any longer as they can capture images with their phones and load directly to Facebook to share. To those people I can only say you are absolutely correct. You can do all of those things and this camera is definitely not for you. Please move on. You don't get it and quite frankly those who do don't feel like explaining it to you.

1010 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
68 of 72 people found the following review helpful
on November 20, 2011
If you will Hand a ZINK printer to one of your parents and they¡¯ll probably look at you dumbfounded. Hand a Polaroid camera to them, though, and they¡¯ll know instantly what to do with it. Polaroid, a company that killed off one of their core product offerings to make way for the digital revolution, is finally back with a device that mimics the original form factor of the Polaroid camera yet marries the printer tech of today.
This Polaroid Z340 that I just got is an Instant Digital Camera works like a standard 14 megapixel digital point and shoot camera, allowing you to view photos instantly on the 2.7-inch screen as well as make small edits. Photos can be downloaded to a computer from its SD card or you can print them instantly using the device¡¯s built-in printer. The size of the prints, 3¡Á4¡å, are the same exact size as the first Polaroid camera, which means those with a taste for nostalgia, or perhaps even an aversion to new tech, will instantly understand the offering of this digital camera. The printer, unlike Polaroid¡¯s original camera, uses a tech called ZINK ¨C it stands for Zero Ink. In other words, no ink is used to process the image, and instead depends on an advanced composite material with cyan, yellow, and magenta dye crystals embedded inside. Heat those crystals and an image appears that will last for time to come thanks to a smudge proof tech and a water resistant coating.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
39 of 45 people found the following review helpful
on November 21, 2011
For those of you who are old fashioned and still like the old style Polaroid camera will have a blast with this. Those of you who are more modern will also like this camera because it also has the features of a digital camera. You can snap photos and put in instant film and duplicate your memories as many times as you want.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
on August 5, 2012
First I just wanted to say that this Polaroid z340 gives a look of good classic looking camera body. a good thing is that this camera can choose which picture to print and pictures can be edited before printing or even ad border.

The bad is that this polaroid z340 give a bad quality printing, I tried it for a week and took quite a few pictures, when I print them they are all have lines across the picture, sometime on the side or top. Pictures are printed differently from the view finder. On the view finder pictures look very clear and nice in color, but when it turns to print, color is not fully rich and clear.

I am returning this Polaroid and will try to order another one in a hope that this current one is defective not by design of Polaroid z340.
review image review image review image
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
44 of 56 people found the following review helpful
on March 2, 2012
I got one of these cameras recently and love it! Although it did get a paper jam- there is a simple way to fix it. If the paper is not sticking out of the front- do not pull with tweezers- call the Polaroid customer service 1-877-456-6055. Tell them your problem and give them your email. They should send you a folder with instructions and a program update. You will want to copy and paste this program onto the SD card that you insert into your camera- I had to go buy one- they cost anywhere from $10-$20 and they will increase the storage capacity of your camera as well as help you out here. Put the SD card back into the camera. Turn the camera off and slide the button to "capture" mode. Then turn on the camera and press "WIDE" repeatedly (The instructions said to press power and wide together-but this did not work for me.) The wide button is the button with 3 trees on it. A menu should pop up and select "computer" and press "ok." Then let it do its thing for about 3 minutes. It should spit out the paper.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
26 of 33 people found the following review helpful
on March 4, 2012
I got the camera for my wife as a birthday gift. Because some said to ignore the bad reviews I did. After only 3 prints, the paper jamed. There is nothing about paper jams in the user manual!! The polaroid support page has no FAQs or upgrades or anything like this, just a bunch of telefone numbers and email addresses. Half of the email addresses do not work!!!
The camera concept is very nice but right now it is out of service for us, and support is not reachable. I will either return it or get it fixed. But in any case this product is unsatisfactory. Look at the price to you expect this quality and service? I do not, I expect way better.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on December 27, 2013
I paid full price for a new camera and got a used one with film and someone else's pictures in it. Needless to say, I am beside myself.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
17 of 23 people found the following review helpful
on October 11, 2012
After a false start with a Z340 that didn't work, I finally got my hands on a working model. The camera has some really neat modes & features, and the ability to spit out instant prints (which is why I bought it). That being said, the instant prints are only OK in quality. Do your research before you drop the $2.5 hundo on this one, because if you don't know the quality of the prints you're in for you're bound to be dissapointed. That being said, you can always hook the camera up and print out better quality photos via an ink or laserjet. NOTE: I find you get better prints when you dont use the flash.

However, if you're a fan of the old polaroid cameras, and love vintage-looking photos you'll have a lot of fun with this camera. I really enjoy that I get to choose the photo that I print! With the old polaroid cameras you wind up with a lot of expensive junk prints. Not so with the Z340. The ability to add borders to your prints adds a sprinkle of photobooth-like charm. This camera is very well thought out for the amateur photographer with lots of fun modes / features / ease of use. If you're out to take fun silly photos, or capture a nice moment & you aren't a super anal photo-snob, you'll have a blast.

Dog Owners & Moms will LOVE "Kid Mode". It's been an awesome feature that I pretty much use all the time in my dog boutique. I use the camera for the souviner photo portion of my charity events. I advertise the prints as "vintage" and the customer gets to pick their photo. Everyone has a good time & Loves it!

I also enjoy that the battery is charged while it's in the camera (ac adapter plugs into side of camera). For some reason I hate seperate battery chargers. I ALWAYS Loose them.

The only other gripe I have is that there is no view finder. You're completely dependant on the LCD screen. It's not so bad once you get used to it, but it does take a second. And this is a large camera. I loved using the larger polaroids of yore, so I'm ok with a larger camera.

Anywho, you can get all this info by just reading other reviews available on the interwebs, so don't be lazy & Do your research!

Polaroid, if you're listening, a few requests for the next version:
1. a viewfinder.
2. better quality prints (Bigger prints? 3x4 is still a bit small)
3. Better Materials. Heavier plastic, or even metal would be rad. The camera has kind of a cheap feel in some respects, but nothing that will hinder the fun.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on January 11, 2012
While I use my Instax 210 both for business and at home, the Z340 is my every-day snap-shot camera. I bought it primarily because I wanted to have Polaroid-style pictures at a fraction of the Impossible film's cost. The Instax 210 is an awesome camera and I highly recommend it - however, it produces modern-looking, clean pictures (which is great for many applications, of course :-) but I also wanted to have that old-style instant-film look with all it's imperfections. The Z340 delivers exactly that. The pictures aren't as clean as modern prints - the photos sometimes have a slightly reddish tint (as a matter of fact, they look almost identical to what Polaroids used to look like when the original film was still made), they sometimes have minor imperfections. They look awesome to me because they're exactly what I want.

Of course, you can also use the Z340 to take pictures to an SD card and have them printed at a photo lab or on your own printer. The 14 megapixel sensor is actually surprisingly good, even in low light. It runs circles around most modern point-and-shoots, that's for sure. The high resolution sensor also allows for the digital zoom to work well without having to worry about picture size afterwards.

The handling of the camera is very good. The camera's screen flips up and you hold the cam like you would hold any Polaroid camera. They could have included an optical viewfinder - although one has to say that on most instant cameras you never got a through-the-lens view finder, meaning that the optical one they had actually made it difficult to frame the pictures properly. In that respect, I prefer the screen.

All in all, I'm giving this one 5 points. If you're looking for clinically perfect prints, look elsewhere. If you want those cosy family pictures you used to love in the 70s, 80s and 90s, you can't go wrong whit this camera.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
21 of 29 people found the following review helpful
on February 27, 2013
I love cameras - i have multiple cameras for multiple uses and this is the absolute worst ever. The quality of the prints are terrible. The paper turns sort of a bluish color. The battery life is terrible and to top it all off, i lost my charger and there is no such thing as a replacement charger in Polaroid-land. CANNOT buy a replacement charger. So if you have one of these, hang on to the charger and be prepared to only use for fun party pics - it's novel but not worth the $$.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 37 answered questions

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.