Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Price:$17.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 2, 2013
I own two of these, each mounted on different road bikes. The attachment to the bike is quite firm. However, at the point the camera attaches to the mount itself leaves something to be desired for one of the mounts. Where the camera actually mounts is not very substantial and the locking rotating platform has a lot of play. Between these two issues the video is quite jiggly unless on very very smooth roads. Same camera mounted on the other bike on the same roads gives decent video, while on the other bike its like watching video through a bowl of jello. Perhaps I'm just unlucky with the second one.

Update: Returned to Amazon for a replacement. As usual Amazon was great to deal with. Unfortunately the replacement was just as loose as the one I returned. When you mount the camera and lock it in place there is still enough play that you can easily jiggle the camera with little effort. It's not the strap that's the problem, it's the little rotating platform them camera sits on. The lock doesn't lock it firmly. I'll be looking for non-Contour alternative mounts.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2011
This is the best mount for the ContourHD camera!!! I use this to mount my Contour on the bars, shock, downtubes and any where else on the bike. I have even used it to mount to my Camelback! It is so versatile and can be used anywhere. You need this mount.
99 comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2011
I bought this mount to the strap around the barrel of my paintball gun. While I think the price might be a little high, this mount is very flexible and works well. I only gave it four stars because of the cost.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2012
Great item seems to be able to attach to anything. While mountain biking, I put it on handlebars, frame front( the big part where down tube and top tube meet) the front forks, rear forks, seat post, helmet, I even attached it to a tree and shot myself going off a jump.

It is way more secure than it looks, I took a fall and it barely moved. You sometimes have to pull the strap really tight to get to the next hole, but it seems strong enough to take this punishment.

It can be easily stuffed into a pack, or left attached to the bike while not in use.

I like the swivel action too, good minute units of adjustment, and the toggle switch is easy to use even in gloves.

Only issue is price, it looks more like sub $20 than super $30 :)
However, I wouldn't want to give it back...
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2013
First attempt(3/20/2013): Secured strap around the stem of my road bike..the swivel is a nice touch, the actual strap is not flexible enough for my taste. If it was flexible enough that you could actually stretch it..then it would be perfect..but its not. I never had an issue with the camera staying on the bike or the mount, but the holes on the straps are just too far apart for the size of my handlebar stem. It's either too loose, or I can't tighten to the next hole in line.

2nd Review 7/10/2013: I bought a handlebar mount for this cam and it's better. The only issue with this new balljoint type of mount is it will vibrate out of position. Its all plastic so you don't want to wrench it down too tight or it will break. you have to keep your eye on the movement. With this strap mount (the 2755 flex strap), I can strap it to the stem, then I have the option of using the tape and/or securing straps to further secure it place. It looks ghetto, but it almost guarantees a fixed position....just make sure you rotate the lens on the camera so its looking upright (0 degree - 180 degrees)
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2011
Have several mounts for the contour cameras - this one is by far the most flexible in terms of posostioning and stability. Being able to really tighten up the strap makes for a solid mounting effort across multiple situations. My primary use is as side mounted helmet cam while riding freeride MTB. some stuning images - end result is as good as any web coverage you will see. If you dont have one of these mounts then you are missing out on the freedom/flexibility that it offers. Do yourself a favor and go order it today. !!!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2016
This comes with 2 straps, one short and one longer. Between the two, you should be able to find a suitable mounting point (on a bike). I did a test ride the other day and it worked out fine. I mainly bought mine as an event recorder in case I have issues on the road. Some vibration but overall the mounting system works as advertised. Yes, overpriced and time will tell if it holds up,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2013
I used this mount on my bike for a couple of months before it broke, strapping it on top of my bike rack for a rear view. Because it's designed to mount on a medium-diameter cylindrical object (e.g. one of the larger tubes on a bike frame), it wobbled a bit so I made a curved spacer from some scrap wood to get a good fit.

With the spacer, it was a lot more secure, holding the camera steady and producing decent video. However, the mount still had some problems, including its eventual failure.

The rubber strap isn't made of a material that appears able to stay stretched without suffering. I would not leave this mount attached when not in use and even then, the strap will eventually become stretched out and lose its elasticity.

Even in the short term though, I found that the mount was not sturdy enough. I ride on a road bike on streets and paved trails, with relatively small bumps at worst. Yet, over one of those small bumps, that created enough force to knock the camera mount apart (good thing I had the camera tethered as recommended! :) ). The rotating part that the camera attaches to came loose from the base of the mount (the part that the strap holds down), and there's no way to put it back in (the based is glued together with the mount already in place, and the tabs that retain the mount in the base can't be pushed back into place once the mount's popped out).

The worst part though is that I have been completely unsuccessful in getting Contour to respond to my attempts to have the mount repaired or replaced.

As near as I can tell, Contour is no longer providing any customer support. I would be surprised if they are in business much longer (maybe they actually aren't and the Internet hasn't caught up with them yet). Their web site is still up, but their customer support phone # in Seattle (printed on the various product packaging inserts) has been disconnected and they have stopped responding to my online requests.

I'd already been in contact with them about a completely different issue (with their handlebar mount), and tried to follow-up on that and at the same time ask them about this mount. But I have been unable to get any reply, in spite of several attempts over the last few months.

At this point, I would stay as far away from ANY Contour product, including all their mounts, cameras, etc. This is a company that is sinking; jump ship if you're already aboard, and for sure don't climb on now if you're not.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2014
Base of the mount is a bit large for bicycling handlebars, unless you have a lot of bar tape or a very thick bar. Despite how tightly you may pull the straps (which are beefy and good), ultimately road vibration will cause the mount to rotate a little, as the camera's weight tends to start working against the positioning. I find myself having to adjust the camera position every few miles.

All told, the camera just vibrates an awful lot using this mount. You're better off going for still captures or making sure your resolution is very high so as to capture detail...depends on what you want to do with this, but if you plan on capturing a license plate or something, you may need to look elsewhere.

I'm going to try Contour's bar mount kit, but as I've noticed that has a ball joint for orientation, I'm guessing there's going to be some drift on that as well... really need to get some sort of clamp mount that holds the camera rigid, that uses the tripod screw thread.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2014
The attachment to the bike is quite firm. However, at the point the camera attaches to the mount itself leaves something to be desired for one of the mounts. Where the camera actually mounts is not very substantial and the locking rotating platform has a lot of play
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 10 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.