Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
53
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 10, 2012
First of all, these boots look awesome. Secondly, I can't believe how comfortable they are!

I wanted a good waterproof boot for winter wear (I live in MN) that wasn't a WINTER boot. Something I could wear outside, but wouldn't be so heavy that I couldn't also wear them all day. (I have a pair of winter boots that I wear when I'm shoveling, or spending time in the snow. I wouldn't suggest these for either of those activities). These Sorel boots fit the bill perfectly. Also, they are surprisingly warm for a non insulated boot. The leather does a good job of keeping my feet cozy warm on cold days. They haave good ankle support, and close tightly enough around the ankle that you can wear just about any style of pants with them, and they don't get all bunched up around the boot (boot cut, straight leg, perhaps even a skinny jean would work). Great tread on the bottom. And, the insole/insert is very comfy. Bonus; For a boot, they are very very light.

A few things to note before buying these boots. They absolutely run large. I normally wear a 12, and the 12 was too big. I ordered an 11.5, and that was perfect. (interestingly, on the inside tag of the size 12 it says, "US 12, UK 11.5." If you know about shoe sizing, you know that US 12 is always a UK 11. So, something is a little off on Sorel's sizing here. Buy a half size down for sure. The US 11.5 was labeled UK 11.) Also, the picture is a little misleading with the laces. These are a traditional lace up boot that you must tie at the top. (well, i suppose you don't have to tie them). The laces are tucked into the boot in the picture. It sort of has the illusion of a slip on. This isn't really an issue. Just something to be aware of.

Overall, I give Sorel and A+ for comfort and style.
33 comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2012
I read a lot of reviews on these boots from various places on the net, and it was stated quite often that the sizing is on the large size and to go down a half size from your regular size.

I'm usually between a size 9 to 9.5 (UK) in most boots and trainers so I took a gamble and ordered a size 8.5(UK) I'm quite pleased to say that they acually fit me quite good after receiving them. They have plenty of room in the length of the boot and my toes don't touch the front, however I have found that they are quite slim fitting. I have quite narrow flat feet and these boots seem tight in the width and height at the front, they have quite a thick foam insole which looks to be about 3mm deep and if i try the boots on without those they have quite a bit more room so i may purchase some aftermarket insoles such as Sorbathane full strikes which are slimmer. I only got the boots today so haven't had chance to break them in yet.

Like a few other folk have said they are surprisingly light considering how they look, the sole is quite spongy and can be compressed slightly with your thumb so it should aid good shock absorbancy but won't be the hardest wearing of soles. On the label it says "made in china" which comes as no surprise but after inspection these boots seem well made and well put together.

I've uploaded a few of my own photos above to show the boots in the flesh and also a few pictures of the insoles that are inside them... Overall Im really pleased with them and look forward to wearing them out & about, they look good with trousers tucked into them (certain trousers anyway) and also with trousers over them...

I'd say that if you have broad feet these boots may be too tight but i guess you don't know until you try them on, I'd consider taking other peoples advice and go down half a size as they seem to fit quite long in the length as above... It would be nice to try a size 9(UK) for comparison but im quite happy with the fit of these and they should loosen up a bit after break-in, my only other option was a 9.5(UK) anyway so I think they would have been too big. I got my pair for £80 delivered by searching google

Hope that helps
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2013
I ordered these to be an "urban winter boot" for going out in the evenings, but they have quickly turned into work boots. They are just too comfortable and I'd rather be working in the yard or cutting firewood in these than my "real" work boots that I spent much more on. Time will tell if they hold up, but after 3 months of being worn every Saturday for probably 12 hours each time and doing normal work around the house (splitting wood, raking leaves, working on cars, even rode my dirt bike once with them) they look almost new after cleaning the mud off. They do run large. I normally wear a size 10, but have Fred Flintstone wide feet so I decided to stick with a 10. I was a little worried when they showed up and I tried them on because there is some extra room past my toes, but the width is good and I'm able to lace them tight enough so that they fit snug. With a thick pair of wool socks they fit about perfect.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2015
Nice looking winter boot for men. It is hard to find nicer boots like this. The pre-distressed scratches on the side of the boot seem unnecessary, but they make you not worry about what might happen as you wear them. You will probably scratch them at some point anyway.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2012
Very comfortable out of the box and very good looking. A little like a stylish hunting boot. Seems true to size.

The sole is pretty slippery when you are on wet or icy surfaces. I thought that would go away as I used the boot, but it did not. I've also noticed a chemical smell from the tanning process that has not gone away after four months.

Overall, a very good boot for running around town, walking the dog or for spending time outdoors. Very effective at keeping the water out. Looks great with jeans and I was happy with the purchase.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2015
Best leather boots I have ever owned. What they don't tell you is how unexpectedly light they are. They have a really thick sole but it is so light! The leather is beautiful and holds up well to the elements.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2014
Boots felt a little tight. The scuffs were more like scratches. Boots definitely look better in pictures.
I feel like these (and other but not all Sorel boots) are more for someone with smaller legs. I have thicker legs and I just didn't see these working out for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2015
All around, solid boot with great traction. As others have mentioned, the greatest part is that they require no breaking in period. The tread is durable and does not wear easily on concrete. The boot also looks normal if you're wearing jeans/pants with slimmer cuts
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2014
Originally brought these for myself, but they fit too big. So, I saved them and gifted them to someone with larger feet. The quality is very nice.
I would give it five stars, but they are SUPER hard to get on. It would be nice to have something to hold on to on the back of the boot to ease the process of slipping them on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2014
I really want to give this boot 5 stars, but they are just a little bit uncomfortable at times. These boots have some great qualities: 1) VERY durable. Like I previously wrote, I have had these for 3 years and they are just now beginning to separate at the sole. They have been worn in the rain, snow, mud, on construction sites and have stood up well. 2) They are pretty comfortable just not great. Even my complaints about comfort aren't so much that I haven't worn this boot off and on for 3 years. My complaint is pain I feel on the outer side of one foot. I do not get this with any other shoe I have. I suspect a new innersole might resolve this as I did not have this issue when I first wore them. 3) The tongue is "webbed" to the rest of the boot. This is a fantastic feature! Anytime I am working in my garden, in dirt, or in the yard this feature keeps dirt, gravel, and other debris from getting in the shoe. This is by far my favorite feature of this boot. For those that worry about the height of the boot being uncomfortable I can say this is not an issue for me. I live in Texas and wear these in the summer with good comfort. The leather is soft and pliable and the lacing allows you to tighten as you please - a little looser in the summer, a little tighter in the winter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.