Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Brooks Men's Cascadia 7 Trail Running Shoe,Euro Blue/Citronelle/Anthracite,15 D US
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Thank you Scientist Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Size: 17 B(M) US Women / 15 D(M) US Men|Color: Euro Blue/Citronelle/Anthracite|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 12, 2012
I picked up an orange pair of these after completely destroying another brand's shoes in about six months. As I write this, I can see my Cascadia 7s by the door, caked in mud. Most, if not all of my running is on dirt trails, hills, and occasional pavement. I'm constantly on uneven outdoor surfaces, and foot protection is just as important as shock absorption to me.

The first thing I noticed with the Cascadia 7s is the fit--they are especially comfortable across the tops of my feet, they breathe well, and have nice elasticity. The soles are designed to take a beating while stabilizing the foot, and they have excellent traction--the tread appears to run both ways, so it grips well going up, and going down slippery surfaces. There's a rock guard around the toes, which comes in handy when I'm occasionally banging into exposed tree roots, and they do a good job of keeping most moisture away from the foot. They're not completely waterproof, but they dry quickly after being in the rain or splashing into a puddle.

As for shock absorption, if you're strictly a flat surface/pavement runner, these probably aren't for you. Each shoe weighs about 12.5 ounces, they have nice bounce and absorb impact well, but they're a bit sturdier/stiffer than a regular road shoe--that's the price of admission for the extra protection. Overall, I'm so impressed with my Cascadia 7s that I bought a second pair in the other color (green.) I expect to have these for at least a year, probably longer.
33 comments| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2012
I am an active duty Marine and have ran in these style shoes four the last four years. I started with the Brooks Cascadia 3s and now I am on the 7s. This shoe is both comfortable and durable. I run on average 30 miles a week, prepped and ran the Marine Corps Marathon in this shoe. Even after all that the running the shoe lastts me about 9 months. The other brands barely make it through a few months. The best part of all is that my knees and joints never hurt. I can also take these on pavement or trail running. Which is great cause i like to change it up all the time to break up the boredom. Finally all I have to say is thanks to Brooks for making a great shoe and keep this model.

6'4" 220 lbs

Joshua
11 comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2012
I just bought these trail running shoes to replace my previous Brooks Ghost running shoes I had. I tried the new ghost model with the cascading and instantly the cascading felt like it fit my feet better and what was most surprising was that he cascadia's felt significantly lighter! He first time I ran with them on my normal trail I could definitely the difference and loved the increased traction! I would recommend these trail running shoes to anyone! I also have a river i have to run through every time I run and they drained quickly and didn't hold water long at all. They felt normal again quickly and not bogged down even after they were drenched. If you run off road, ditch your standard running shoe and get a trail running shoe! I can't wait to try them out in the upcoming Tough Mudder race in a few weeks.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2012
I have run several trail races already in my 7s and knew they are superb in areas of traction and comfort, but today I ran a mud/ adventure race thru thick mud climbs and water crossings. shed out water immediately, and I could literally walk or run up and down hills that other people were crawling and sliding on. I mean the cleats on them are unbelievable in mud and slick stuff. Over all conditions the only time I have felt them to be skittish was on large wet rocks
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2012
This trail runner is ideal. I am 6'3" and 250 LBS. I have normal pronation. I have run 4 times with this shoe; a 6, 7, 8, and 9 mile run. I have run through a mixture of rock, dirt, mud, and water up to my ankles. The Cascadia 7 provides ample support for all types of trail conditions. This shoe was very comfortable right out of the gate. The sole has just enough rigidity that small rocks are not a problem, but provides enough flexibility for proper running. The sole also has plenty of cushion. The stretchy upper material and the lacing system are great. I switched out the insole for green Superfeet (title/Superfeet Unisex Green Premium Insole For Maximum Support). I am extremely happy with this trail runner.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2013
I've been wearing cascadias for a long time and they are the only shoe for me. They continue to make small adjustments to the show... some good, some bad. This model seems a little heavy too me, but offers great protection on technical trails.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2013
Stiff and the rear could be a bit higher (thereby ensuring the shoe does not come off the foot)...and this reviewer prefers running shoes having actual holes for laces (making for a stronger junction, when pulling laces tightly), rather that those cute little black appendages, such as here (they can break easily, making lacing up the shoe impossible, particularly for those such as myself who pull the laces very tightly), but all in all, this is one excellently structured pair of running shoes, either for offroad or on-road runners. I like them very much, other that the 2 deficiencies indicated above.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon June 28, 2013
The Brooks Cascadia trail shoes have been a mainstay for our 19 year old long-distance-running son. He's a competitive marathoner; but also spends much of his summer months running mountain trails as training for racing in extreme trail competitions. For training, he usually wears the Cascadia 8s which were the Editor's Choice in trail shoes in the Runner's World publication. He gets about 350-400 miles out of each pair of Cascadias. At 100-120 miles per week, he goes through shoes very quickly, so when we saw the great price on these Cascadia 7s, we tossed them in the cart. The prices on these shoes vary based on size and color. At the time of our order, the only color available in his size was the bright green/yellow. We're accustomed to garishly-colored running shoes, but I have to say that this color may be the ugliest, most horrific combination I've seen. Think John Deere tractor.

For actual trail racing, our son uses Salomon Men's Speedcross 3 Trail Running Shoe. However, for daily training, these Brooks Cascadias are a neutral and fairly lightweight training shoe and are a good combination of comfort and ruggedness. They're well-cushioned and offer a smooth ride on any surface, but are particularly suited for gripping steeply sloped trails covered with mud. They seem to run true to size.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2013
Since Montrail discontinued the Vitesse , I have used the Cascadia Trail Running Shoe 5, 6, and now the 7. Fits fine out of the box. Good traction, with Dirty Girl gaiters grit and mud are not a problem. Used them last year for a R2R2R - planning another in two weeks. Worked just as well pacing 56 miles at hardrock. Gotta run!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2013
This shoe is great for running on a dirt path with few rocks and other protrusions, but after five miles, one begins to feel fatigue upon the foot. (I was running at an average pace of 7.5mph on various trails in the Santa Monica mountains.) Note that the construction is very breathable, and the tread is marvelous. I also used this shoe as a hiking shoe, and it performs well for climbing up steep hills. I never lost my footing on anything except slippery smooth stones along a brook (which is to be expected). As far as long-distance hiking, the shoes are comfy for the first 12-15 miles. I'm uncertain whether any shoes can keep the hiker comfortable for 20 miles or more on rugged terrain and be this versatile, but I shall continue my search. (Nevertheless, I didn't get any blisters from my excursions, so these are marvelous shoes, indeed.)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.