Automotive Holiday Deals Books Holiday Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Black Friday egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer bf15 bf15 bf15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $15 Off All-New Fire Kindle Black Friday Deals Outdoor Deals on DOTD

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
on December 29, 2012
Many reviewers here say this shoe is ultra-comfortable and they're right! Right out of the box they fit like gloves on your feet, and they're so light they feel like you're not wearing anything.

I must assume, however, that none of those reviews were written 6+ months after normal daily use, walking on pavement and indoors. If they had been, they would have reported that the same super-light plastic sole that makes them so weightless, wears thin & porous and actually seeps water up from the pavement, through the footbed, to wet your socks. I'm not kidding, and I've got the wet socks to prove it! Whatever plastic composite is used for these soles, turns into sponges after about 5-6 months of daily pavement walking. And of course, these type of plastic-composite soles cannot be re-soled at your local shoe repair shop.

Although these are sold as inexpensive, ultra-light, casual shoes, you should still be able wear them, or any big-name-company shoe, daily for at least a couple of years before something like this happens.

Clark's declined to publish my review containing this important information on their own website, claiming "Unfortunately your review did not meet our guidelines for posting on our site"
But I read through their guidelines, and I did not violate any of their guidelines.

So are these some of the most comfortable shoes on the planet, and should you buy a pair? Yes, as long as you are willing to repurchase them about every half-year just to keep enjoying them with dry feet!
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on February 2, 2011
The whole shoe seems to mold itself to your foot, the size was right on the money. The shoe breaths all the time and my feet don't sweat so much. I will be buying these until the company stops making them. They are now replacing the pro walkers I have bought for years. My feet feel so much better at the end of a long day.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on November 1, 2013
Ive had my first pair in tan of the clark's axl ,thanks to my father, since I was on my last year in medical school some 3 years ago.
SInce then Ive managed to own a total of 4 pairs in a size 10.5M.
I have two pairs in the tan ,1 in the brown and another in the black. My father only has two pairs a brown and a black both sized 9.5M
They never needed any breaking -in.they are the ONLY shoes I'd like to wear for days and days before this last purchase.
I recently bought 2 pairs in California and didnt see the need for trying them on ,in store.
Sadly ,when I got home I was disappointed to find out that the leather is not as soft and that the sole was not as soft and cushioned as compared to my other four pairs when I first put them on from the store.
these latest batch is not as comfortable as the first batch .
I dont think breaking them in would help,because the previous Axls that we have were perfect fresh from the store.
On close examination you could tell that the latest axls felt cheap to the touch and even cheaper on my feet.I compared them both to one of my almost new pair of tan axls from last year.My father agreed .He and I wondered why Clarks would downgrade the Quality of an already "perfect" shoe .
I had to go back to the store and bring them both back .
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on February 5, 2011
Extremely lightweight, very comfortable, easy on/off, but they stay on securely. And they wear as well as any shoes I have ever had. And they look really nice. Somebody in China gets an attaboy for these.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on May 3, 2012
I am a clark fan and this shoes was disappointing. As a medical professional I was able to immediately identify the shoe's lack of support for the arches and had poor cushioning. The materials were cheap . I tried to polish the shoe and it refused to shine. Thats when I realized it wasn't leather. In 10 minutes my foot start hurting. I bought this from peltz shoes ( Amamzon market place) and returned it the same day with original packgaging with no signs of wear or tear.. THEY REFUSED TO TAKE THE SHOE BACK AND I LOST MONEY. I SPENT MONEY TO SENT IT BACK AND NOW THEY WANT MONEY TO SHIP IT BACK AS WELL. BUY SHOES ONLY THROUGH AMAZON. AMAZON IS THE BEST BUT PLEASE DONT BUY ANYTHING FROM PELTZ SHOE AS THEY WONT TAKE RETURNS OR EXCHANGES. CUSTOMER SERVICE WAS RUDE.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on July 28, 2011
I have been buying Clarks shoes for about 12 years. Clarks shoes are the most confortable and durable shoes I have used.
This model is incredible lightweight and a very confortable pair of shoes, but I prefer to use these more time to comment about how the (ab)use is going to impact the leather, because it is very very thin.

That's' it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2013
I'm 44 years old and these are my faovrite pair of shoes I have ever owned. I have had a black pair for two years and just ordered the brown. I intend to buy a few more pairs and put them away just in case they stop making them. I guarantee you have never felt a pair of casual shoes so light. There are flip flops heavier than these shoes. My sperry boat shoes feel heavy and clunky after wearing these. Fit is perfect for me. I especially like the material the insole is made out of. It's breathable and stays in place perfectly. The black pair could be used as dress shoes in a pinch and took polish well. The brown seems a little more casual but I have not received them yet so we will see.

One note of caution...These shoes are not for wet conditions. Not even a light drizzle with an umbrella. 1. The soles do wick moisture up from the street and will get your feet wet. 2. They are extremely slippery on wet anything and this gets worse as the sole wears. You really have to be aware of this with these shoes and take extreme caution when walking across wet floors etc. It is sad that the shoes cannot be resoled. After two years of almost daily wear, I wore the bottom of my black pair paper thin. The uppers still look perfect. it's going to hurt to throw them out. I take these issues as tradeoffs for the ultra-lightweight design and I'm ok with it.

These shoes are worth buying even if you only use them for flying. They are super easy to get off and on in the security line. If you are lucky enough to be flying in a country not subject to the TSA's nonsense, you can walk right through a metal detector with no problem as there seems to be no metal at all in the shoes construction. Also, the elastic panels help the shoes expand with your feet on long haul flights.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on May 20, 2011
A real treat for your feet. Wear them every day. They are light weight yet supportive. Should have ordered both colors. I highly recommend these shoes for dress and casual wear.The soles wear well also. I would definetly buy another pair.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on July 25, 2011
These are great shoes. Comfortable, light, and suprisingly well wearing. I just bought my third pair. No, the first has not worn out yet. I just like them so much, I am afraid they will stop making them, and they do come in two colors.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2014
I've been buying these shoes for three years now. I get two new pairs every year, one black and one brown. This is definitely a casual shoe, but you can wear it with anything from jeans and a t-shirt to slacks and a sport coat. The quality is always good, and talk about comfortable. From the first minute, the shoe fits without being too snug, and moves well with every step. Three things make this shoe particularly comfortable: the sole, the leather, and the stretchy bit around the ankle. The sole is soft and grippy. I love the soles for driving (I'm passionate about driving), and this shoe fits and wears much better than a similarly priced driving shoe. The leather is soft but tough, and the finish doesn't show scratches. The stretchy bit around the ankle pulls the shoe snugly around the foot for a really nice, secure fit that's still comfortable. Unlike most driving shoes, you can wear these comfortably in light rain and snow even though they're not technically waterproof. They have a full sole that's bonded to the upper, so they won't leak like a sieve.

If I had to knock one thing about the shoe, and it's clearly not enough to keep me from buying them, it's the softness of the soles. After about a year, the heels are wearing thin. It just so happens that shoes like this are looking a little tired anyway around the one year point, so less sole durability isn't really an issue.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers who viewed this also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.