Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: KEEN Men's Ontario Lace Shoe,Slate Black,7.5 M US
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 13, 2013
My husband has nerve issues with his leg and foot. The KEEN boots and shoes are the ONLY shoes that seem to help him with walking and stability. He absolutely LOVES them and now he wants me to get rid of all his other shoes and get him shoes from KEEN to replace them. He has a pair of water proof hiking boots he uses when hunting and working around the farm - his go-to boots. He also has a pair of sandels-- The only ones he has been able to wear for many years and they feel great! This new pair was worn for an entire day the day after we got them, and they felt great without even breaking them in. KEEN is a Godsend for my husband - and I have 5 pairs of their shoes and I love them too! Thanks for making a great product!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2013
Bought these to replace an older pair of waterproof Keens that looked similar. Took them on a trip to Europe and they were very comfortable. However, it was very hot out and these are apparently not breathable at all. I had salt stains form sweat appear within days of wearing them. I've never had this problem with a shoe. The leather had a white, crusty band of salt on the top of the shoe near the toe rubber. Very weird and unsightly. I found myself wiping them daily with a damp sponge so that I could continue using them on my trip.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2013
I've had a lifetime of minor foot and leg problems. As a child I was pigeon-toed, and fell-in on my ankles. So, shoes have always been important. Early-on, the strategy (initially by my parents) were shoes lots of "stability" and "support" to brace my ankles--which led to very structured shoes/boots with ankles and deep heel cups. I eventually started wearing lots of Birkenstock's for their deep heel cup and supportive arch, and enjoyed the wide toe box. Keens were the next on the cycle of favored daily shoes, as they offered similar benefits with a more conventional shoe.

Keens had always fit me well right out of the box--they have good arch support, nice big square toe box (like the human foot is actually shaped), etc. The big downside is the soles.

The soles have several serious problems:
1) They are not resolable, so when they wear out, which they do prematurely in my opinion, they cannot be repaired.
2) The stock soles are treacherous on any wet hard service (i.e., sidewalks when it rains).
3) Most of the stock soles are very very stiff and hard, which seems to have gotten worse in the later models I've tried.

The professional shoe line, which is very limited, has a non-slip sole which is nowhere near as dangerous as the stock soles on wet surfaces, and seems to be more flexible. My last pair of daily wear keens was the service oxford in black. However, the style selection in that line is very limited. I like the style of this model, and it does fit well (although tension/fit around the forefoot is not adjustable like in a tennis-shoe style). But the soles are very slippery on anything wet and also very stiff, making them unpleasant to wear. I regret this purchase.

I've moved on to minimalist shoes. After years of barefoot martial arts training and crossfit in minimalist shoes, I've found less shoe is better for my feet. Currently falling for VivoBarefoot shoes, also available in attractive office-casual appropriate styles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2015
Great fit if you like a roomy shoe and a comfortable sole. Minus one star because, as others have said, you'll probably want to buy a longer pair of shoelaces. You have to double knot the round laces because they slip and after that you left with only about an inch left.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2015
Keen's are generally the most comfortable shoe I've ever worn. Great fit, especially for someone with slightly wider feet than normal. Excellent quality in workmanship and materials! Stylish too! I own several styles of Keen's. My go to brand!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2013
All except the black shoe was brown..... Very happy with shoe this is our 5th purchase of this shoe my husband carries mail and walks 12 miles a day so we have to replace his shoes every 3 months and he has feet issues and these shoes keep him comfortable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2014
This the first pair of Keen's I bought for myself. Great shoe. Comfortable. The only let down is, my feet sweat a lot. And because of that salt stains emerge as the shoe dries after removal of foot. Cleaning w vinegar solves the problem though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2013
Happy with size and fitting, sole is comfortable, durable and high quality. Happy with this product and KEEN overall better brand than other shoes made for large feet. (Size 14s for wide feet are hard to find).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2012
Great shoes ,nice fit second pair of Keen and very satisfied with their products . Would definetly buy another Keen in the future.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2014
I got a pair of these in size 9 and found them to be seemingly perfect but too short. I then ordered this size 9.5.
These are just barely big enough. Also they are not as comfortable in width and footbed as the size 9 - for no understandable reason.
I may have gotten a pair that is slightly sub-standard in manufacture. At any rate, I am not quite delighted.
I would probably give these a 3.5 but seem to only be able to give whole stars.

Have always loved my keen shoe purchases in the past.

So I'm hoping these will break in a little and feel comfortable and large enough over time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.