Fujinon XF 18mm F2 R
Price:$549.00+Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

78 of 81 people found the following review helpful
on August 1, 2012
I jumped on the X-Pro 1 early after release, and wasn't able to get a hold of the 35/1.4 straight away, so I grabbed the 18 and 60. Because I'm more of a wide or normal shooter than tele, I used the 18 as my primary lens for quite some time. I'm really glad I did, as it forced me to get to know the lens well, and form my own opinion. I'm convinced this lens is severely underrated.

Tack sharp in a wide central sweet spot wide open, excellent macro and microcontrast, fantastic color reproduction, small and light, with a wonderful manner of drawing... Every bit as good as some of the Leicas I own. What's the negative? Reviews are right about one thing--the corners are never as superlative as the center. The lens is clearly optimized for shooting people, not landscape. I imagine the forthcoming 14mm will suffice for the latter, and have edge to edge sharpness and a perfectly flat field.

Flatness of field, really, is the bugaboo of this lens. If you use center point AF and shoot wide open using a focus-and-recompose technique, I guarantee you will be disappointed. The XF 18/2 exhibits fairly pronounced field curvature, so much so that your subject will now be well out of focus. It's critical when shooting the 18 wide open to choose the focus point manually or use the "multi AF" mode which chooses the focus point for you.

With that in mind, get close to your subjects, open the aperture, mind the focus point, and enjoy the wonderful manner of drawing this lens provides. A real winner in capable hands!
1313 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
49 of 53 people found the following review helpful
on June 27, 2012
I purchased my Fuji XP1, 35mm, 60mm lenses from Japan in March and additionally purchased the 18mm lens from Amazon in May.
I use to have Nikon D7000 DSLR, but high quality pro lenses were too pricey and heavy.
I thought carefully of what I wanted. Since I'm not a pro and wanted something light for travel and high image quality is one of my top priority, I ultimately decided to switch to Fuji X Pro 1.
Today, I'll be sharing my experience with 18mm f/2 lens, 35mm f/1.4, and the 60mm f/2.4 macro.

-Fujifilm X-Pro1 18mm F2.0 Lens-

This lens is the smallest, lightest, and the cheapest feeling lens out of the three primes that are released.
Auto-focus seems faster or equal to Fuji's 35mm lens.
Manual and aperture ring feels "disconnected" do to it being focus by wire design and not mechanical.
The rubber lens hood cap, lens hood, and lens cap are poorly made. Long explanation short: it easily comes off.
So I purchased the EzFoto 52mm Tilted Vented Metal Lens Hood and now it feels better (both now metal finish), looks better, and securely fits on to the lens.
I purchased this lens primarily to cover my wide angle needs until Fujifilm releases their 10-24mm f/4 lens (planned for 2013).
After using the lens though, I may keep this lens even after 10-24mm lens becomes released.
The reason is because you can get really close with this lens (.18m) and at f/2.0, you can have the subject separated from the background even at this wide angle; furthermore, the bokeh is creamy and pleasant when you get it right. When focusing very close, slight change in angle would create an interesting composition/perspective for your photos. I think I would be keeping this lens for those creative shots.

-Fujifilm X-Pro1 35mm F1.4 Lens-

This lens is a must have for Fuji X Pro 1 user.
Auto-focus seems slightly slower or equal to Fuji's 18mm lens.
Manual and aperture ring feels "disconnected" do to it being focus by wire design and not mechanical.
Similarly with 18mm lens hood accessories, I switched it for the EzFoto 52mm (Non-Tilted) Vented Metal Lens Hood.
I purchased this lens primarily as a simple walk around lens for me.
Sharp and usable from F/1.4 and the bokeh is creamy and pleasant most of the time.
It gave me the similar experience I had with my Nikon 35mm f/1.8 DX lens, but with better bokeh quality (in my opinion).
Rather than sharpness, the quality of the bokeh really changes the mood of a picture.
In an extreme sense, I was never satisfied with Nikon 35mm f/1.8 lens because the bokeh wasn't to my liking.
I also shot an environmental and studio portrait with Fuji 35mm lens and boy was I happy with my images. ("bokehlicious!")
This may be trivial, but this lens can focus closer than Nikon's (.28m vs.3m). *The closer you can get, the shallower depth of field you get*.
Couldn't be happier with this lens.

-Fujifilm X-Pro1 60mm f/2.4 Macro Lens-

This lens is the least used when I'm outdoors, but when I'm taking still life shots (indoors) this is the most used.
Auto-focus is the slowest. Very difficult to auto-focus very close. However, I use this lens on tripod, set it to manual focus, and check my focus using the magnification function on the LCD for precise focus.
Manual and aperture ring feels "disconnected" do to it being focus by wire design and not mechanical.
Aperture ring, on my copy, actually feels a bit tighter than the other two lenses above.
I purchased this lens, as I mentioned above, primarily for my still life shots.
It gains 1/3 stop compared to most competition, but loses that 1:1 reproduction ratio (this lens has 1:2 ratio rating).
It's a very sharp lens from wide open and produces creamy bokeh for "macro-close-up" shots.
However, for portrait shots, I find the bokeh to be busy most of time and wouldn't recommend it.
I would probably wait for the newly announced Fuji 56mm f/1.4 lens (planned for 2013) for portraits.

Ultimately, if you understand why you are buying the lenses for, these lenses are all high quality glass and image quality definitely won't disappoint you!
77 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
on February 27, 2014
The smallest fast lens for your Fuji. It's got a brilliantly fast f/2 aperture that helps it work in very low light conditions. I love that it's so small. It's basically a pancake. I have no issues with the lenses sharpness or performance at all, it's downright awesome. My biggest issue is with its sealing. The lens racks the elements back and forth during focusing and the front barrel moves in and out which causes the lens to suck in dust. After only two weeks, the lens started showing signs of dust inside the front element with no way to clean it. moreover, one of the dust pieces inhaled was HUGE and created a terrible looking flare spot in harsh light. I send the lens back to Fuji and they promptly replaced it but now, even the new unit is showing signs of dust inhalation. This is unfortunate because the lens is otherwise spectacular. Well, except for the hood. It's a retro looking rectangle hood that looks great but that's about it. The hood is finished in a thin anodize that wears off the corners quickly. The design of the hood also makes it impossible to use a normal lens cap and so Fuji provided this rubber cover for the hood that just falls off with the slightest bump. I'm honestly surprised I have not lost it yet.

This lens could be perfect but Fuji should address the dust issue and give us a better hood that allows the use of the normal pinch cap. In the meanwhile, I'd recommend grabbing a cheap metal vented 52mm threaded hood.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on April 9, 2013
I used this lens this weekend and I was doing some street photography, having owned the 35mm F1.4 I can say that the 18 mm focuses more quick and there is less chance to miss a shot. The image quality is superb as the 35mm, if you need a wide angle lens this is the one, you won't regret it!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
on July 18, 2012
I love this lens! You probably don't need the 50mm lens, this thing and the 35mm F1.4 lens is probably all you need, I love this thing. I use it for street photography and it offers me some of the highest quality photos of any camera I've ever held. I love this lens and use it all the time, unfortunately it was the third lens I bought, I should bought it second, and then never bought the 50mm.

For my purposes this and the 35mm is all I need. Love it, love it, love it. This lens takes amazing photos for street photography, landscapes, and portraits. Simply beautiful!

Get it! Don't listen to the people giving this 1 star because they bought it for the wrong camera, this thing rules!
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
Very compact foot print, though it does not make my Fuji XA-1 pocketable, but definitely more portable than most fuji lens, except perhaps the f2.8 pancake. However, this is a much brighter lens than the pancake and just a little thicker. Despite some poor reviews, I've taken fantastically sharp photos and its great in low light with the low noise nature of the fuji system to begin with! Overall, I love this lens.
review image review image review image review image review image review image
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on May 5, 2014
I have only had the Fuji X-pro1 for a couple of months now and started out with this lens and the 60mm. I just recently purchased the 23mm and have to say that this one gets more use!

I'm not sure about all the talk about this lens being substandard or soft as I have received many compliments on the pictures I have taken with it, and am quite taken with them myself. Though a point on that is I do prefer to shoot in F2.8 and above, so I'm not sure if most people are reviewing the lens wide open.

To be up fron this is my first lens review and I felt this lens deserves some serious credit. I don't find it to be too wide and love how it leaves me plenty of leaway for cropping out anything I feel takes away from the scene with plenty left!

I bought the lens on from another seller used with a fujifilm filter for about 1/2 of the msrp and if I lost all my other lenses tomorrow, this would be my must replace.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on October 10, 2013
Bought for travel as 35mm to limited for my taste. As the Fuji X Pro 1 was to downsize my traveling carry, the 18mm exceeded all my requirements. Small to carry, and wide enough to capture the scenery. Just returned from 3 weeks in Germany, flying Zeppelin, cruise Danube, and Octoberfest. Never pulled out the 35mm, just used the manual walk closer. With camera, great color rendition. Works well for what I am using the lens to capture.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on April 24, 2015
I do like this lens for its sharpness and moderate wide view - I always had a 28mm 2.8 back in my film days. I am cautious about recommending it for X-E2 shooters though. The first lens received had the latest firmware installed but didn't act like it. Touching any button on the body caused the aperture blades to twitch noisily. Focus was definitely a problem, the lens would rack all the way to minimum and then rotate outward until locking focus. I had the return/exchange label printed within 15 minutes of opening the Amazon shipping package.

The replacement lens arrived two days later (Amazon is fast!) and it didn't suffer from the same focus or aperture twitch problems. Still a very sharp lens, still a perfect walk around size, still an eye catcher mounted on the X-E2. In fact, one office friend called it my Mad Men camera... camera hardware and vanity, an expensive combination!

But I still have concerns about the interface between camera and body. With this lens mounted I seem to have odd delays between pushing the 'Play' button and seeing the image for instance. There is still occasional aperture noise when switching into and out of menu functions. Just a few oddities that add up to 'flakey' but not quite annoying enough to do without the focal length.

I'm gambling and keeping this lens. I'm betting that a future firmware update might make a difference in the odd behavior. The image attached is an indication of sharpness, the specifications plate on an electrical box from ~20". It is pleasingly wide without introducing too much keystoning or distortion.
review image
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on March 13, 2015
I like the field of view for this lens as it's a 27mm full frame equivalent. Not too wide or too narrow; just right. Of course it's a "move my feet to zoom" lens which is also enjoyable. Focus is quite good in all lighting conditions. It's a small lens and fits in my pocket when mounted on camera. Give it a try, I think you'll like the results you get using this lens.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question

     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed


 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.