Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon The Suffers All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty V-Day Amethyst Jewelry Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer jstfd6 jstfd6 jstfd6  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage Winter Sports on Amazon.com Sale

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 16, 2012
Although this is an extremely comfortable boot I cannot recommend it and would not buy from this company again. Two months after buying the boots in September, buttons lost their leather covering on each of the boots. I wrote an email to the company's customer service department but received no reply. The boots now look shoddy and cheap.
22 comments16 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon October 7, 2011
These are very comfortable. I can wear them all day and when I take them off they feel like they have been custom molded to my feet. I wear a 7 or 7.5 (depending on the shoe width- my feet are fairly wide) and bought these in a 7. The left was a little tight, but the leather of these boots is very good and it has stretched to fit perfectly. The calf is generous. Some boots are too tight for me, but these have enough room that I can easily wear them over jeans,

I bought the mineral color, which actually looks much better than it does online. It is a wonderful light to mid greyish-brown color. It is not a solid color, but a nice blend, like they have worn and faded over many years. I wear them with brown outfits and they look great. They also look good as a contrast to my dark chocolate brown leather jacket. I really love these boots.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2011
This is a nice boot...but the calf is too wide. Checked the width of a couple of my other boots and these are 1 1/2 inches wider. Have to return them.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2013
I researched quite a bit before purchasing boots online, fearful of not being able to try them on, etc. During my research, I discovered the brand "Born", which I had never heard of before but their boots were very attractive and at every online shoe site, they had rave reviews. Since I was ordering this towards the end of the season, my size 7 became hard to find. Lo and behold I found them on Amazon and they were on sale! I received them fairly quickly and anxiously opened the package and slipped them on wearing knee highs, not a thick sock. I immediately fell in love! It was like they were made just for my feet!

I was initially unsure of the color (gray) but found that it complimented many things that I wore. One other thing that is important to know when ordering (besides the potential of the buttons falling off, see my addendum) is that they fit snug around the calf and they don't go up very far to the knee. I have a fairly thin calf and I was surprised at how snug they fit, especially with a jean tucked in. They seemed to stretch a little bit and they were comfortable for me, but if you have a larger or very athletic calf these may not be for you.

I didn't give these boots any short break in period of time, I wore them while traveling out of state. I ran with them through the airport, got caught in a snowstorm and wished I had a thicker sock on since they are not a snow boot, but they sure held up just fine. I wore these boots literally non-stop, except for sleeping, for 5 days. I forgot to bring any other shoes or boots on our last minute trip. It certainly didn't matter because they were so comfortable and never caused any blistering or rubbing anywhere on my feet or toes. I didn't experience any foot pain whatsoever. I wore them with knee-highs and also with a regular thicker sock and they were comfortable with both types of sock. I wore them tucked into skinny jeans and underneath boot cut jeans and they looked great either way.

The leather is very soft, and buttery with a beautiful inner lining. I received many compliments when I wore these boots. I plan on ordering another pair of Born boots in the future and I'd consider purchasing other Born shoes and/or sandals. You can't put a price on comfort when it comes to your feet!

Addendum: Unfortunately I had to knock a star off my five star review. I wore the boots to church on Sunday and when I was sitting there I looked down and noticed on the left boot, the top button was missing. In it's place is a short metal flat screw that pokes through. The look is very unappealing to say the least and I am terribly disappointed. I have only had these boots for not even a total of 3 months and have not worn them everyday, I'd say on the weekends, except for my stint of my five day excursion traveling. This is a very pricey boot and the leather and comfort is high quality but the decorative button (and any future buttons) falling off is truly unacceptable since I have no idea how to replace it or fix it. I have contacted the seller but have not heard back yet, but it's only been a few hours so I will give them an opportunity to respond. I will update if I receive a resolution to this problem.

2nd Addendum: The seller responded back to me within 24 hours and told me to return the boots for a full refund. I was very surprised and pleased, not really expecting a full refund. They also emailed me a paid UPS return shipping label. They said once they received the boots back, I'd receive my refund. I sent them back on a Friday and had notification on the following Wed. from the seller that my refund was processed. I have now ordered another pair of boots from Born, the Attila. I am determined to own a pair of Born boots and am still so upset that I had to return these wonderfully, comfortable fitting boots due to poor workmanship on the decorative buttons. I hope Born improves the construction and application of these buttons.
0Comment11 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2012
I bought two pair of these boots, a pair of black and a pair of mineral. One pair I bought at Amazon, the other at another online site. These are the most comfortable boots I've ever owned. I'd love to have them in brown, but I just can't justify the cost, when I already have two pair of brown boots that I used to love until I found these. I am constantly stopped and complimented on these boots. Just last night, a waitress asked me where I got them.

All last winter, I pretty much alternated between the two pair of boots, wearing almost no other footwear. I couldn't wait for fall this year to start wearing them again. They are well made and holding up very well. I am not overly rough on boots, but I am not babying them either. These ARE a fashion boot and not meant for harsh weather. If Born continues to make these, I may just break down and get the brown.......
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2014
I love these boots. The picture doesn't do the it justice. They look so wonderful. They fit perfectly. There are only two things that I will criticize. One the sole is kind of hard. I have to wear insoles to walk in these boots for more than half an hour. Another is that the buttons on the side started falling off. I've had these for a little over a year but they still look gret execept for the whole button issue.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2011
Beautiful, comfortable, and the crinkled leather, though casual in appearance, can be dressed up, too. I love the low heel and buttons. Calf is roomy for me. Great Boots!
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2013
I was super disappointed when this boot arrived. I have a couple pairs of Borns and they have a good quality thick leather. These boots look and feel like crinkled paper. Not at all worth the $150. I am about to return them and I have to pay for return shipping. I've never purchased merchandise from any company that doesn't offer free returns. I'm very disappointed.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2013
I love these boots, second pair, my first pair was the walnut color. Now that it is near Winter, I wear them almost everyday. They are stylish and most of all comfortable. I only wish they still made this style, I would buy one in each color!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2013
I have the black Born sage boots but the charcoal ones did not fit the same. I hated to return them but they
basically looked black instead of a grey and I couldnt zip them up like my others either.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.