Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Olympus SZ-31MR 16MP CMOS Camera with 24x Wide-Angle Zoom and 3-inch 920k Hi-Res LCD Touch Panel (Black) (Old Model)
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 13, 2012
I am enjoying the camera very much. I am a mother of 3 and a teacher. I contemplated getting a DSLR Nikon or Canon as that is what most of my friends use. However, I have limited "learning time" and came aross this camera as it was a lightning deal on Amazon. I ordered it after reading the reviews, thinking I could return it if it was a lemon. I am so glad I took the chance. I see that this camera has many of the same features as a DSLR just in a smaller and easier to handle package. I am just getting acquainted with the basics but I am also learning how to adjust things manually by getting on Pinterest and looking up things like "white balance" and "ISO". I think I'm going to get a lot of use out of this little camera. The pics. I have taken so far of my kids and pets are above and beyond my expectations. I had a little compact digital camera from Panaaonic before and this one blows it out of the water! If you are looking to move forward in technology but don't want to lug around a larger DSLR (or spend massive amounts of time learning how to use it), this camera just might be for you.
22 comments| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2013
Takes great pictures. This camera has everything I was looking for-- long zoom, good for close shots, not too heavy/bulky, HD video capability and much more. I also like that it uses lithium battery. I've had negative experiences with rechargeable AA type batteries, even the pricey ones. The li battery on this camera lasts and lasts. Feels good in my hands; just the right combination of functionality and carry-ability. This is my 3rd Olympus camera and I've been more than satisfied with all of them.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2013
This camera takes outstanding pictures and videos. I also have a Canon T3i but I wanted a compact camera that I could always take with me. The decision was difficult.. I was thinking of a lumix since I used to have one and it was great too but the specs of this one caught my attention. It takes sharper pictures than most other compact cameras, super-macro and 24x zoom work perfectly. It also works great at low light situations even do you cannot manually change the shutter speed. It's ridiculously light and it feels real nice on your hands. The magic filters are fun if you're into that. Compared to my T3i this camera is right up there. It's very easy to use. Burst mode feels like firing a machine gun.. I'm really satisfied with this camera.. Now I'll give my T3i a rest.. If your looking into photography this should be a great way to start.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2013
This is one of a kind camera. You can take video and pictures simultaneously and with so many features and functionality that you cannot find in other camera and yet it is easy to use. The quality of the combined pictures (16M) and videos (1080p) resolutions can be achieve clearly in single shooting. Very handy as no need to have a separate camera and videocam to take in any occasion. Wow, I'm amazed of this product. I believe Olympus set a standards for all camera with multiple recording features and functionality.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2013
I am very pleased with the quality of the photos I have taken with this little camera. It is easy to use, easy to hold, small and light enough to fit in my pocket. I bought this one for my summer vacation.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2012
I really love this camera, it did an excellent job in taking pictures and recording video in HD. The video recording came out even better than my other sony hdr-cx210 camcorder.Colors produce much better, i got a $50 rebate when it just came out.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2014
I am so pleased with this camera. The new features show on the screen the information of each of the features on the dial set up. I've only owned Olympus cameras since they first came out. They're the best and always have been from the first. You can't go wrong with this or any Olympus camera.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2014
First, I must admit that I am not the world's best photographer - only a little more advanced than point and shoot. I finally decided to replace my 10 year old Cannon PS 2S IS with a new camera. The Cannon takes 4 AA metal hydride batteries but has limited power life, is rather large and bulky, has a 12X optical zoom, a very small monitor, and 5 MP max res. I wanted to replace it with a very compact camera which I could carry all the time, which had higher resolution. a more powerful telephoto, a large, clear monitor, and which took a single lithium replaceable battery with a long power life. I bought this Olympus as a factory refurb through ebay for $129 and am ecstatic with it in every respect. Last week I took a handheld head portrait of a friend at about 60 feet distance at the maximum 24x optical zoom in normal daylight and loaded it onto my iPad which has the super high res retina screen. When I expanded it to the max on the iPad, I could actually see individual hairs in perfect focus! I was amazed. One disappointment with the Cannon which I haven't tried with the Olympus is telephoto in dark conditions, so I can't comment on that. My only two negatives is that it doesn't have a viewfinder to use under super bright sunlight which can drowned out the monitor, and if this is what I can buy for $129, it's scary to think of what the NSA can do.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2013
I bought this right before a trip to the UK and Ireland. The most awesome camera ever, and I am still getting used to the settings and modes. Beautiful pictures, full 1080p HD video, easy to use. Granted, I am a longtime Olympus fan, but I just love it. AND the guys I bought it from (Beauty of RevaleSkin) came through to get it delivered in a very short time so I could take it on the trip.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2013
This is the best Camera from Olypus that I have purchased yet! I absolutely love the stabilzer on it. No matter what I get a clear shot every time. The zoom is amazingly clear. Easy to use, small and light weight and actually easier to keep a hold of it with this design. I HIGHLY recomend this camera to everyone and especailly those that might not have as steady a hand as they would like.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.