Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Bear Grylls Men's Freedom Jacket, Bear Red, XX-Large
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 25, 2012
The XX-Large size fits my 1.92 meters 82 kg physique perfectly which is actually a nice surprise. The material looks expensive, is pleasant to touch and is 100% waterproof.
The greatest thing about the jacket is the hood which
1) has a head size adjustment so it doesn't fall me on the eyes and sits just where I want it
2) has a wind/rain protective brim all around the face which is super useful.
Easily best jacket I've ever had. Hope it serves me long!
77 comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2012
would have gave 5 stars if it had pit zips....but besides this ommission (why?) its probably the nicest jacket ive ever bought....very comfy....very breathable fits well im a medium bought a medium....comfortable with layers.....i love craghoppers gear this is my 5th piece....sizing could be better generally.....thi9s is the first item that actually fit right. but all in all a great company as far as quality.....you get what you pay for...very happy
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2013
So I bought this jacket along with 2 other Bear Grylls products, partly because of the price and secondly I'm overseas and Amazon ships here fast and free! With that being said I'm happy so far with the buy. I'm 5'6 and 150 lbs and went with the Medium size ( as other reviews have stated the sizing is off). I was happy with the Medium as it fits me well.

Jacket works well as a shell if layering for cold weather or stand alone if warmer than freezing. I've worn it a few times in some heavy rains/downpours and keeps you dry. Beads up on the outside and the inside was warm and dry. Would recommend this product!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2013
Fantastic jacket repels water very well, size chart was pretty accurate for me, L fits very well for me. would have given 5 stars if not for the interior lining, the plastic mesh material is rather uncomfortable when it is not that cold out or if its very humid
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2013
I have gotten more compliments on this jackets than all other jackets I ever owned combined.

This jacket is comfortable and light. It does keep you dry. Don't expect this jacket you keep you warm in winter weather (unless you have a sweater on underneath).

Great color and great fit!
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2012
This ia an amazing jacket that is 100% waterproof. I deducted 1 star because the size is way to small, Im 6'2" and 250lbs and the XXL is pretty tight. I usually wear XL jackets that are loose, and the one I got is an XXL thats pretty tight. I would recommend going a size up and if you big and tall dont even bother :( Also the zipper is left handed! Takes a while to get used to. If your small this is an amazing light weight waterproof jacket with a hood that actually fits, I cant stand oversized hoods on everyday jackets. The water beads off the jacket like a freshly waxed car, the interior is loose and comfy, and has the quality of a $250 rain coat! I got the black which is awesome but if I had to do the purchase over again Id get the blue!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2013
I like the jacket. I got it for less than $70. It works well and the material seems sturdy. The fit is snug. I usually by men's small for my jackets/coats. I'm almost a medium, since my chest is 38", but small jackets tend to fit better at the sleeves, shoulders, and bottom (i.e., jacket length). If you're in between sizes and you intend to wear this with layers, you should buy the next larger size. The jacket isn't restrictive, though. The material stretches nicely.

As for the jacket's waterproof-breathable membrane, it is not as breathable as Gore-Tex. When I wear the jacket hiking, I get the slight sensation of wearing an old school raincoat; which is to say, I feel as if I'm almost wearing rubber or plastic. It's not as bad as that, though. The jacket does breathe, but my two previous shells were The North Face: one was lined with Gore-Tex; the other was line with Hyvent. Both membranes were waterproof and more breathable.

Also, the craftsmanship could be better: the jacket had a lot of threads hanging from seams. I'm not saying the stitching or construction is poor; it just seems unfinished. The jacket had about 3-6" of thread hanging from 3 or 4 seams.

I would recommend this jacket. I wanted a shell for hiking that wasn't as expensive as The North Face. The North Face has become more expensive and more about style than being an outdoor outfitter. The North Face has always been expensive, but I find the quality of their products has suffered with its rise in popularity. Craghopper is virtually unknown, which means it's trying to make a name for itself by producing decent gear at decent prices.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2013
Best jacket I ever bought! LOVE it! Light weight, warm and extremely comfortable. I put it in my carry on, and pull it out if the plane, airport is cold. plus it is water repellant. Beat jacket ever!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2013
The Bear Grylls Freedom rain shell is quite a fantastic action jacket. Breathes extraordinarily well, stretches enough to allow for unrestrained climbing, and sheds water perfectly. It is also quite durable, and doesn't seemto be easily torn form rock/brambles friction. I bought a medium (my usualy size) and it fits well, maybe slightly loose without layers underneath.

One small quibble: between the chest pocket and the main front zipper, the material seems to ripple and wrinkle just a bit. Again, not a big deal at all, I just tend to be a bit OCD with these things.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2013
For the price in the current market of outrageously priced outerwear like arcterx, I'm very impressed and love this jacket. Very well made, high quality. Bear Grylls is a stand up guy, read his Autobiography, and I like to support individuals like him.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.