Automotive Deals Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 8, 2014
I had an older Liftmaster (model 1260LM) that took a dirt nap. This one bolts in the same place as the expired one. Used wire nuts to use the existing wiring for the photo eyes. YOU MUST REPLACE THE PHOTO EYES! I think it took me about 4 or 5 hours because I tried it without replacing the photo eyes at first (it kind of worked, but not with the remote), it was cold, I was by myself, and I am not the swiftest at such projects. Bolting the new motor unit onto the old rail was the hardest part for me. I recommend taking the rail all the way down; I think that might make things go smoother. Anyway, its working now and probably saved a couple hunnert by doing it myself. Thanks Trevieze. I was skeptical, and it worked. One fly in the ointment. I was told by a lift master (Chamberlain) employee that if I replaced the motor unit but not the rail that I would void the warranty on the motor unit. I am also unable to use the old remote or wireless keypad unit that worked with the 1260; no big deal.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2013
if you have an older Liftmaster that took a dirt nap yer in luck. This one bolts in the same place as the expired one. Used crimp nuts (ouch) to use the existing wiring for the photo eyes and keypad. I think it took me about 45 minutes because of all the fiddling I did to it. Ordered a second remote for it and programmed it with the push of a single button. Amazing!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2013
I have owned at least eight such openers from several manufacturers and find this one fully satisfactory. It does everything it should in a timely fashion with its 1/2 HP motor. Don't buy a weaker one. Note that the model no. and serial no. are hidden under the light cover, rather than being on the sticker on the outside. Also note that if your garage door is noisy, that comes from the door, its springs and its rollers, not from this opener. This opener emits a normal electrical hum while operating, but this takes only a few seconds and is not especially loud or annoying. If you buy an opener, be sure to get the optional external keypad operator for outside your garage. It will save you a lot of annoyance. You program your own secret code into the keypad, so someone else cannot open the garage door without the code. I rate this Liftmaster at 5 stars. Although it does not stand out, it also has shown no flaws or features needing improvement.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2014
The chain gear on top of my broke. Bought this as a replacement. Changed it out without needing someone to assist. Works well!!!!! Saved money not having to purchase the rail system that was already in place.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2013
I bought this unit instead of buying the typical $20 to $35 replacement parts for the metal drive gear, washers and plastic worm gear. I figure it was better to buy this entire unit which came with a new logic board, new gears and the like so that I have the peace of mind that I dont have to replace any other old parts on the old unit (this includes any of the safety sensors and the like). Also, this package included a remote, so now I have another one to use along with the old unit and another wall unit button as well to use that I can put it closer to the inside portion of the garage door for more options. If you have the money to spare, this was more of a time saver and you do get 1 more remote to use. Definitely a plug and play approach to replace a broken 3255 unit.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2015
This replaced a garage door opener by the same manufacturer that lasted 28 years. The new one appears to have the same workmanship so I am confident the garage door opener will give at least 25 years service. Electronic eye safety feature, smooth operation and whisper quiet. Requires separate purchase of the rail and chain drive unless you already have a Chamberlain.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2014
I felt this was an excellent value. It was used to replace a similar model that had worn out. It was very easy to install. I didn't notice when I ordered it that it only came with one remote. Fortunately I was able to buy a second remote for about $15. The second remote worked perfectly.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2016
Be aware if you really want model 3255. (This model is no longer made or available). I ordered it because I had three remotes and one key pad I did not want to replace. Garage door parts 365 sent me the replacement model 8165,it comes with one remote and just like I thought, the old ones will not work with the new unit. So I still needed to buy them. I could have saved money and over a week, by getting everytthing elsewhere. LiftMaster 3255 should not be shown as available!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2014
This is a replacement of my older LiftMaster which has broken gear. This model has more power and installation is quite easy. It took about 30 minutes to remove old one and put new one in.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2014
Liftmaster is garbage. I have the liftmaster 3255. It has terrible remote reception and the tech support is dubious. To increase remote range they recommended I purchase an extender that will plug into the opener and then run the wire to the front of the garage. Good thing I looked at my opener before trusting customer support and purchasing the part from them online. The antenna that came with the opener goes in a hole in the cover. When you open the cover you discover that the antenna is soldered directly into the circuit board that controls the opener. The icing on the cake is their website return error messages on about ¼ of their pages when you try searching for help. It also does not let you post a review stating you are not logged in – even if you are logged in as your username. If it did not come with the house I would take it back and never buy from this company again.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.