Back to Business Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Chi-Raq Bose SoundTouch 130 Amazon Fire TV Stick Grocery Valentine's Day Cards Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Shop Now SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 14, 2012
All I can say is WOW. This is actually a bit of a downgrade from my previous i7-970, but I rarely needed the extra cores/hyperthreading so I figured putting some cash towards the other components would be better suited.

So far this CPU has exceeded my expectations. Since this machine is primarily used for web surfing, gaming, and photo editing, this CPU simply runs circles around anything I throw at it. I've yet to see it struggle, even when doing my initial burn-in testing. Oh, and turbo boost is more like overclocking. I've seen this CPU peg itself at 3.8GHz (max turbo speed) for as long as I have whatever stressing it running.

One night I felt a little crazy and decided to simply bump up the turbo speeds, basically setting everything up 200MHz. I now see it frequently hit (and remain at) 4GHz and still as stable as can be. Temps are fine under load, I'm sure I could push it more if I felt so inclined! Now I do have a Cooler Master Hyper 212 on here. I wouldn't push this CPU beyond normal speeds without some kind of aftermarket cooler. Even without overclocking, it wouldn't be a bad idea to replace that tiny cooler it comes with. It's barely adequate for stock speeds.

Besides being unlocked, the only feature the "K" processor has over the standard is better on-chip graphics. For me, I went straight for the locked unit as I didn't plan on overclocking and I knew I'd be using dedicated graphics. Of course shortly after getting the 3570, I find the 3570K is only $1 more than this processor. It seems the gap widened again, but still annoying. Never the less, unless you need onboard video or plan on some pretty substantial overclocking (more than simply changing the multiplier), this is plenty of power for you!
11 comment16 of 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2012
Bought this as a compromise to the higher i7's and saved a lot of money.

Still extremely pleased with this product. All of my games just scream, and most of the time using only 20% of the CPU's total power. Compressing a 2GB fraps avi video down into a 3 minute clip used to take 2 hours; now it takes about 6 minutes. Combined with the board, ram and video card I have, I'm seeing an average of 100fps in games.

Diablo 3, WoW and Battlefield are ten times more playable. Loving it. For $200 you can't go wrong. I didn't buy the "K" version because I don't overclock; fried my hardware once and it wasn't fun.
0Comment6 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2012
Does what it is supposed to do (and quickly) with no fuss. That has to be the gold standard for a CPU. You just don't have a need to think about it, except in a positive sense. This CPU can be overclocked, if that is your thing, but not as much as the K series cousin. The trade off is that this chip has all sorts of security and virtualization functionality the K series doesn't. Take your pick, you will be happy with your choice.
0Comment4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon January 29, 2014
I've been using computers for nearly 30 years and have built about 100. I'm sorry guys, I mean, I don't think I'm a big shot, but I've never purchased an i5 before, until recently I've always used the top or close to it, Intel processor, Xeon's or i7's these days. But a few weeks back I assembled an i3 NUC and for normal computer work it's just fine. The other two computers I'm on a lot are an upgraded Dell i7 4770 and a custom built dual Xeon workstation.

I do a lot of computer upgrades so I'm looking at new power supplies and RAM and video cards from upgrades all around my garage and none of it being used. So I figure if I've got to store them somewhere....So inspired by the NUC I get a Rosewill mini tower and a card reader with USB 3 ports, an Asus board, an Intel SSD and some accessories. Digging through my leftovers I found 16 GB of 1600 MHz ram and a 460 watt p/s and a GTX 650 card and with the i5 I've got a system worthy of today's standards.

It's no surprise that this little system is capable, after using the i3 NUC. After 25 years of building and lot's of hot rodding I think overclocking is in my past. Drives were always the problem and SSD's are the fix, so building a new 18 month old computer is a fine way to store old parts and with USB 3 externals I don't even need a second drive, although I should put one in, it is storage after all, I'll put in two. This processor will do some serious work quickly, unlike the i3, I can hardly notice the difference from the i7 4770. Researching the matter, the performance of this 3.4 GHz i5 didn't change much from the 2nd, 3rd to 4th generation, the new Haswell isn't 10% faster. With Windows power options set to High Performance it runs at 3.6 and boosts to almost 3.9GHz. But what's important is that the processor is only one of many things that make a computer fast and your information can't be processed any faster than your drive can read or write it and more RAM won't help if your program doesn't use it and accesses the drive, so use a SSD. With the stock cooler I've yet to see over 38 degrees, so try it before spending money on an upgrade.

This system isn't as small as the NUC (what is?) but it's small and I've kept it quiet by turning down the speed of its 2 case fans and it's another hard working machine for $550. Those considering Shuttle's for HTPC or mini servers should take a look. So what was I missing? At least $150 on every other processor I purchased.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2012
Update: It's been 1 month and a half, the processor is performing FLAWLESSLY, temps were still a a little high when playing (70C on the cores, 80 when doing the Aida64 stress test to the CPU and FPU) but i finally decided to change the stock cooler for a Cooler Master hyper 212+ and now, temps don't even get to 55C when playing Battlefield 3, GTA IV, Assassin's creed Revelations, emulating PS2 or Gamecube. Also, they don't pass 60C when doing the Aida64 stress test. Now i can finally get peace of mind knowing that temps won't suddenly skyrocket because the stock cooler couldn't take it anymore.

All i can say is i'm really, really impressed with this processor. I was obviously going to see a MAJOR improvement over my old 1st gen core i3, but was a little skeptic on wether it would be enought for my needs.

I bought this processor mainly for gaming and emulation purposes. I have to say it, this processor is a BEAST. Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty on PCSX2 was very slow when i played it with my Core i3, but with this processor it goes as smooth as it can be (some slowdowns in some parts, but that's because of the emulator, not the processor's fault), I've seen improvements on games like Assassin's creed 2 (40fps tops before with my HD 6870 and some settings set to medium-low, 60 fps constant now with the new i5, same graphics card and all settings on max.), Battlefield 3, Minecraft (kind of a processor hog), Sims 3, Prototype 1 & 2, etc. Pretty much every game.

Temps are a little high on the cores when under load with stock cooler: 70C when gaming and 80C when doing a stress test with Aida64 (Don't wanna try Prime95 or intel burn test with stock cooler). But i' just waiting for my mx-4 thermal paste to arrive so i can go buy a cooler master v8 cooler to do the job. I expecto temps to go as high as 50-60C under load with that.

For normal use, it works just as well, no slowdowns, everythings goes smooth.

To make it short, i definitely recommend this processor if you don't plan on overcloking, like me.
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2013
I bought this processor for one simple reason: The price to performance ratio was at the time unmatched. And I will argue it still is. This is everything you need from a CPU, surfer, gamer or illustrator.
11 comment4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2014
I upgraded from Pentium G620 and the difference is H-U-G-E ! 4 cores @ 3400 Mhz with a sweet overclocked gtx 660 gpu and my custom-built PC is just the gaming machine I needed. Definitely recommended for those who don't want to do overclocking and experimenting. Cheaper than the K version, newer model, and their only difference is that the K has better integrated graphics and is able to overclock. Also this cpu has some extra features the K version doesn't. And btw integrated graphics suck anyway.
P.S: For those of you who chose to upgrade to this cpu and are using windows 7 , make sure after the installation, that your cpu is running on 4 cores. Sometimes the system can't read more than 1 core if the previous cpu was 1 core. Google for more information ;) hope i helped !
11 comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2013
I have this installed in an Intel DZ68ZV board with dual 1 tb drives with 64 mb of cache memory and 16 gb of 1600 MHz memory running Win 7 x64. Its faster than a dual core i5 but you don't notice the difference until multiple apps are running concurrently in their own windows. Not the fastest but it's a great processor at the current price point. Windows rates it a 7.6 out of 7.9. I would buy another one.
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2012
Now I haven't bothered with settings or anything much, but it definitely holds up no matter what i'm doing. It's fast and doesn't bottleneck my GPU, which is all I really care about.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2013
I know that many people will find it a bit odd to use the 3570 for the heart of the HTPC I built, but it works. The processor is powerful enough to handle anything thrown at it without an overclock, and the Intel HD 2500 integrated graphics can handle a blu-ray playback without a discrete GPU. No lag, no fuss, no problems. The low profile CPU cooler works, and unlike the horrid AMD coolers, it's nearly silent most of the time.

One thing many people skimp on with an HTPC is the processor. But I'd rather have something that will have the power needed to last 4-5 years compared to some crappy dual core that saved them $70 now, but cost them an entirely new build in 2 years.
0Comment2 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 15 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.