Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Stephen Kellogg Explore Home Audio All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Bring a little greenery into your home Amazon Gift Card Offer girls2 girls2 girls2  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now Sale

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 21, 2012
These shoes are quite comfortable and not bad looking, but lightly cushioned and without much arch support. You may want to go 1/2 size larger to leave room for inserts. They are also narrow--the size 11 2E shoes I bought are barely as wide in front as my other size 11 D New Balance running shoes. Although they are advertised as trail running shoes, the tongues lack gussets to keep out dust and debris. It's nice that they're made in the USA. I like lightweight, ventilated shoes and will use these for everyday walking and yardwork. They look like they might last a year or two.

3/25/13 UPDATE: I've had the shoes for 5 months and wear them almost every day. They have good traction and seem very durable. If you're a 200-pounder like me or just like a soft ride, you'll want more cushioning. I've added heel/arch supports, as I do with all my shoes. They don't stretch much--if you have wide feet be sure to get the 2E or 4E width.

10/17/13 MT610v2 UPDATE: The above review and update were for version 1 of this shoe. The MT610v2, which I bought recently, is a much different shoe. The pair I got was made in Indonesia, not the U.S. The fabric is different, and thinner. This, and the fact that the solid bumper at the front of the shoe doesn't wrap around as far, means that the v2's will probably wear out sooner than the original version. The tread design is also different--more aggressive, with deep indentations that should provide good traction, but will also pick up lots of mud, wet leaves and snow if you wear them in wet or snowy conditions.

For the v2, I bought the gray/orange color, 4E width. These are still nice looking, lightweight, lightly cushioned, comfortable shoes (but see my advice in the first 2 paragraphs for getting the right width). For me, the new tread design and lack of a wrap-around bumper limits their usefulness. They're best suited for use on dry ground.
22 comments44 of 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2013
WARNING: If you have been wearing New Balance for a long time, do not order these until you have tried a pair on in a store. They do not fit the same way previous New Balance shoes did.

I bought two pairs of these MT610v2 shoes and I was extremely disappointed. I found they had moved the arch back and ruined the shoe for me. This does not mean they would be uncomfortable for everyone, but they certainly were for me.

I have been running and hiking in New Balance shoes for several years and I could always rely on the same arch support that fit my feet perfectly. But now, on the MT610v2, they moved the arch back towards the heel about a half inch. Now it feels like my socks are bunched up under my heel. This is really upsetting to me, because my previous two pairs, the old MT610's, were not this way at all. I don't know why they moved the arch back, but I can no longer wear their shoes. I wore the MT610v2 shoes for 2 hours and had blisters on the front edge of my heels. I hated them. I love the way they look, but I cannot wear an uncomfortable shoe.
11 comment18 of 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2013
This is my most recent pair of running / work out shoes. my last pair were nikes and I wore them out the tread was actually coming off in pieces. I wore them today for a full work out, wts, machines, core and eliptical and I didn't even notice them on my feet, which I consider a good thing. They are super light and very breathable. I am glad I went with NB, they fit and fit right 1st try. I paid $63 for them and I consider it money wel spent.

ONly reason they are not a 5star is bcs they don't have a tongue holder (laces through the tongue to hold it in place).

**Update (May 19th, 2013), they don't need a tongue holder the tongue stays in place so I am up-ing my score to a 5.
**Lacing must be tight to keep your feet from moving around in the shoe when running, but once you tighten them they are great.
0Comment18 of 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2013
I'm giving 5 stars even though these are the first shoes that gave me any sort of blister in many years. The left heel rubbed for the first ~30 miles of use on trails, but after that period, they have been the best hiking/running shoe I have worn.

I now have 210 miles on my shoes, which includes flat ground walking/running, trail running and hiking, off-trail talus scrambles, and (not exactly recommended) clawing up a 40 degree icy snowfield in the Mummy range. The shoes are very light, have an incredible range of motion, great traction, and allow for excellent terrain-sensitivity and balance thanks to the minimal padding in the mid-foot and fore-foot.

In terms of durability, I'm pleased they have held up this long given the terrain I have covered (~70 of the 210 miles off trail, much of that on rough granite and sharp quartzite talus). As of today, there is some slight tread separation near the ball of my left foot but it looks like some super-glue will fix that. Very surprisingly (because it seemed so thin and soft), the tread looks almost as good as new.

WARNING: I found these run almost one full size small--instead of 12EEEE, I opted wisely for the 13EEEE.

Update: I tossed my shoes into the trash today after patching with super glue @210 miles and putting on another pretty rough 100 miles. The shoes ended up gradually failing in the mesh around the big toe of my left foot and smaller toes of my right foot, which I couldn't easily patch. The tread was still acceptably good, though somewhat degraded, at this point.

For those whinging about the lack of cushioning or durability in these, they feel like armored tanks compared to the likes of the Minimus Zero, which I've been trying out as well on the trails. I've got two more pairs of 610v2s on hand, and I was reminded when putting on a new pair today of how they feel too narrow at first (though they break in considerably, as previously mentioned).
0Comment14 of 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2013
I was not expecting the bright colors(neon yellow. The shoe right out of the box was put to the test on a 10 mile trail run. No break in period or blisters or hot spots. which is pretty amazing. This is my my first pair of "trail shoes" and they have lived up to the brand name. Light and track well through the dirt and rocks on the mountain trails. support is great and I can really feel the ground with each stride. just wish that the fine dust would not get through the mesh and build up in the shoe. Guess I should not run trails if I want that to stop. After 250 miles only trails the forefoot has worn only in that spot and the shoes did break in after 30 miles for my wide foot. the worn area is because I'm a forefoot striker. Would definitely by this shoe again.
0Comment15 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2013
Very comfortable and easy fitting. My feet are a little wide but they fit in these well. They dont hurt your feet when you break them in
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2013
After wearing the first version of these shoes and doing fine with them (those started wearing out after 8 months) I needed a new pair so chose version 2 as the previous ones were not available. What a disaster. These fit just a little loose, but it was comfortable so I didn't worry about it. There is really no arch support, especially compared to the previous versions, so I purchased some insoles. That helped, but then after about 4 weeks of use the bottom of these shoes started to come loose. After 6 weeks they are unusable as the soles tore off all around the edges. I would never recommend this shoe and am leery about buying New Balance again as it seems the quality gets worse each year.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2013
I love this shoe. I'm a tall guy. 6'3" 210lbs. The shoe fit great and is one of the more breathable shoes I've ever owned. It could use some greater padding on the balls of the feet. Although this is only really a concern when running on pavement, which it's not really designed for. The traction provided by the soles is amazing, really grips well through dirt and mud. I'm looking forward to using these on my next obstacle race.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2013
I'm 6'8", wear a size 14 and weigh about 300 lbs, I had these for less than a month, there is minimal cushioning under the ball of your foot and you can feel any rocks under your foot. In less than a month the sole under my right heel started to separate. I went to put them on and the left tongue tore completely out. This is the second pair of New Balance shoes i've had that has fallen apart. I'm not easy on shoes, but that's unacceptable, if you make size 14 shoes, they need to hold up
11 comment6 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2013
After reviewing and trying on multiple trail shoes, I went with the New Balance MT610v2s mainly because they were light, cheap (comparatively speaking to Inov-8 and Salomon) and comfortable. I ran the Tough Mudder Buffalo obstacle course on July 27th and the shoes got the job done. Plenty of tread to grip the hills and wooden obstacles, nice mesh construction allowed most of the mud and water to filter out of the shoes, which kept my feet light and un-caked with mud (for the most part). The stitching on the tongue on one of the shoes started to come undone, but it did not affect the performance of the shoe for the run. Being so light, the shoe allowed for comfortable maneuvering on the rocky terrain. Now you must understand that any shoe you use for this type of obstacle course will be ruined afterwards, however, I took the preemptive step of waterproofing them. I believe that this actually did help. For those of you who do not know what the Tough Mudder is, it is an obstacle course that is a little over 11 miles and 15 obstacles as well as tough terrain including rocky hills, deep and sticky mud and large mud puddles. I recommend these shoes for all you mud runners.
11 comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.