Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon The Suffers All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Bring a little greenery into your home Amazon Gift Card Offer jstfd6 jstfd6 jstfd6  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Lisa Loeb AMO Shop Now SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 15, 2013
I ordered these headphones as a birthday gift and they broke, not once, but TWICE in less than 5 uses. The first set I ordered the microphone/remote feature malfunctioned on the first use, and stopped working entirely on the second use. I sent these in to Amazon and promptly requested a replacement set because I assumed this was a manufacturing error.

The second pair I received from Amazon worked fine the first use....then malfunctioned and stopped working entirely on the second use. I was fed up. I sent the product back to Amazon again, but this time getting a full refund.

I am NOT an insane sweater. I don't have a torrential downpour on my face during a workout. I sweat like a normal human being, and this is a WORKOUT HEADPHONE so you would think it would withstand a normal amount of sweat. WRONG. I'd like to repeat. These. headphones. stink! LeBron James is in the commercial warming up in these headphones...but notice he's not sweating. No wonder they worked for him. They can't even withstand a handful of uses. Don't waste your time and your money.

***I'd like to make a special note for Amazon who was very helpful through this process. They processed the returns without any headaches. Thank goodness I ordered through them and not Monster/Beats By Dre directly.***
11 comment25 of 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2011
The first time I bought these the microphone did not work with my iPhone. The 2nd pair worked well for two weeks then the right ear phone shorted out. Just returned them and got my money back. Do not waste your time or money on this product.
0Comment12 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2011
The headphones sound nice, and make a good secure fit on the head.

However, the plug is the worst design ever. The headset cable comes straight out of the plug -- a rather large plug. This means that even with no tension at all, the cable will naturally pull and create an angle at the plug. These are marketed as "sport" headphones -- so doing anything active with the plug in place, every time your body moves the cord will get pulled against the plug. Within less than two months mine developed a short at the plug. No surprise.

It's sad too, because otherwise these headphones are really nice. If I compare these to a $20 pair of cheap headphones I have, the plug on those is at a 90 degree angle and has an extra rubber piece to help eliminate tension on the cable movement where it connects to the plug. How can headphones so expensive not have the same common sense design that headphones since the walkman era have had?

See my uploaded picture to see what the plug looks like. In the picture I'm purposely pinching the plug and cord in the same hand so there is no tension on the cord, just the natural effect of gravity.

*** Update: To see the imagine that I have posted, from the main product page please select "View and Share related images". My picture showing the issue is being marked as not useful by voters and thus it is being pushed off the main product page. Clearly someone trying to work the system -- insert conspiracy theory here. ***
review image
44 comments81 of 107 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2013
I am officially on my 3rd pair.

Background: Runner; 3-5x/week.

The first one, the red and black, lasted about 9 months (guess it's better than after the 1 year warranty) before the remote broke. Not only does the remote just break, but it goes through a series of issues first. First you can't adjust the volume, then comes the why did my volume just go from my setting to blasting, then it fast forwards through the music and then the thing triggers Siri. The most irritating thing ever....

I called the customer service for Beats and was told to send it back and I'll receive another one. The catch is, YOU have to pay for the shipping back, it's not just any shipping they want it either DHL, FedEx or UPS. Shipping here from Hawaii isn't the cheapest option either. I shipped it back and got another replacement within a week and a half.

In the midst of the return, I order another one, instead, I changed up the color and went to white. I got it and it was fine for the last 3 months, and then the same problem occurred, the remote stopped, blasting music, and the triggering of Siri. Seriously??? Just before mine starting doing this, my husband who uses my replaced one from Beats, complained his volume control stopped working. REALLY? So now, I have to suck it up and ship both of the earphones back, the catch here is when I called the customer service agent told me that the Powerbeats are all out and they may need to send me the Tour one, I am NOT happy about that.

But... Because I have a race in a few days, I needed to replace my headset ASAP. I wanted to try something different, but because of the race being so soon, I had to stick with what I know, so I had to buy another Powerbeats, this time in Blue. Trust me, if this one knocks out too, I won't be buying another one!

The only reason why I gave it two stars is because of the sound, which outdoes all those cheapy ones, and the fact that the ear piece stays where it needs to and doesn't hurt my ears. I have tried running with the iBeats and that one popped out ALL the time.

Basically, Beats needs to seriously listen to the customers and do something about this remote!
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2012
I received these earphones after thinking of buying them for a couple of months and after some checking on the internet.

The 3 problems that I had were:

1. Sound : After everything you hear and read about these earphones they didn't have the wow effect that are expected.

2. Sports fitted : These earphones are supposed to be especially for sports but when running and even working out at the gym they would get loose around the ears. I think they are not that fitted for sports at all.

3. Price : Because of the first 2 problems I don't know why they are so expensive

To sum up I don't recommend them
0Comment12 of 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2012
I owned these for one year, and a little over that year the wire showed ware, and I could see wires showing. After noticing that, one side would go in and out of the music. Basically I paid $150 for these puppies for one year. Not worth the money they cost. Not enough time was spent on design, so they will not last long.
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2013
Bought these for my fiancé for his workouts. He ran with them once and they kept falling off. If you are buying these to run with I would not recommend them. We returned them.
11 comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2014
Yes, the sound is well worth the money, and it was even better that they were so much cheaper than they were at Walmart
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2013
I purchased Powerbeats to use when I am working out in the gym. The idea of wrapping around my ears seemed, on the surface (and from the LaBron James television ad), to be the solution to the problem of earbuds slipping out of the ear as one perspires. Unfortunately, the Powerbeats' ear wrap does not secure the earbuds and the problem of slippage is made worse for those of us who wear glasses because the wet and loose eyeglass frames work to dislodge the Powerbeats' ear wraps and thus, the earbuds, more frequently. I have returned to regular earbuds for my gym workouts and I use the Powerbeats when I am engaged in less physical acativity.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2014
I am on my second pair of these in ear headphones. I run and sweat a ton! On both pairs the volume control on the wire broke within 24 hours, after 5 months the ear pieces are loose and not fitting well. Every time I use them now I hear a crackling sound. I thought it was my fault at first so that's why I bought a second pair. Shame on me! Not worth the money and the overall sound was alright.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 14 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.