Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

**See below for iPod/iPhone info. I don't have either myself but this may be important to YOU.**

Common sense tells you this isn't for a true "audiophile" when it comes to sound. But it does deserve 5 stars for an inexpensive, high quality brand that sounds great for those who listen to music occasionally. I live in a condo so I can't have window-jarring bass; this system is good enough. It's impressive considering it has only 10W per channel. Dio1978 (another reviewer) said to crank the speakers up to Level 24-29 for 2 to 5 hours to break them in; I tried that, but the sound was so loud that it bothered my cats - however it wasn't distorted. Level 15 is about as high as I go on the volume, since I don't want to tick off my neighbors.

I was looking for a system that played homemade CD's from downloaded MP3 files - I was leaning towards a Panasonic until I found that most Panasonics are not compatible with MP3 files. I also wanted a USB-in port so I could play music from a flash drive. If you like bass, there's a P-Bass selection, but it's not so bass-y that it rattles your neighbor's house. You also have a selection of Pop, Jazz, Rock, Classic on a built-in equalizer.

The tuner section is made of plastic; the speakers appear to be pressed wood with cloth on the front. The speaker wires measure approximately 3 feet long, so unless you want to take a chance and splice them, you are limited in speaker placement. The remote control uses one of those flat batteries that looks like a coin, the kind you normally find in a garage door opener (the battery IS included). The remote has a fairly decent range, I managed to get 20 feet away before it quit receiving the signal.

The warranty on this is one year.

**iPhone - iPod compatibility**
I found this on Pioneer's non-USA web site. It appears Pioneer also needs to update their USA web site.
Compatible models are iPhone 4/4S, iPhone 3GS, iPhone 3G, iPod touch (all generations), iPod nano (3rd/4th/5th/6th generation), iPad and iPad 2
0Comment| 84 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2012
I love this little stereo. My ipod is old but it has all my favorite music on it and I still have some CD's that I've not digitized and I still like FM radio. So - this is the perfect small stereo for me. The remote is perfect for changing inputs and is used to program preset FM stations. The screen is very easy to see on the unit. I've not tried USB input and that's OK. I also like that the AUX input is on the front! It is also nice how the speaker plug in's are modular and fool proof so there is no messing with + and - like with bare wired speakers. I was also surprised that it has an equalizer (pre-programmed listening modes) and I was even more surprised to find it has a sleep timer. All in all a perfect little package. I may need more than one!
1111 comments| 99 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2012
Music has always been a huge part of my life and after moving from a large house to a small apartment about a year ago, I no longer had room for my two full sized stereo rack systems. With most of my collection in CD form (I dislike Ipods although have a first generation model that I rarely use) I found I could not stand the silence any longer and purchased the X-EM21 Micro CD/FM Stereo mostly for the CD player. I could not be happier. It was so easy to set up as the speaker plugs are modular and my small apartment is filled with the sounds of my favorite music. For such a compact system at a reasonable price, the quality of the music is very good. I listen primarily to classical and meditative music and from the lows to highs the entire range is clearly discernable. Since my Ipod is so old and nearly dead, the bonus was the discovery that the unit can play music from a USB flash drive so even without my Ipod, I have access to my entire Itunes collection. The unit appears well made and not junk like other small stereo systems and I could not be happier and unlike another reviewer who had trouble with the remote, mine works fine. The auxillary, earphone and USB ports are right at the front of the unit so they are easily accessible. Thank you Pioneer for creating a great product that does not cost an arm and a leg and can meet the needs of folks living in very small living spaces! I am looking forward to many hours of happy listening.
0Comment| 60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2013
After my last CD player broke down years ago, I finally got around to finding this little gem. This Pioneer Mini Hi-Fi system is great. I will review every aspect of the system.

CD Player - 3/5 - This is the main reason I bought the system, and unfortunately I have to rate the system as a whole 4 instead of 5 stars due to the CD player. It plays and reads any CD correctly and perfectly, but it does have a humming to it when it plays. It's a minor nuisance, and you can drown it out by turning up the volume (I'd say volume level 6 and above, but it really depends on your CD), but when i want to play a CD before bed (on volume levels 2-5) it can get kind of annoying. Like I said, the hum really depends on the CD (or when the system feels like humming or not), but if you play it louder, it's great.

iPod/iPhone Dock - 5/5 - Flawless. Plays both iPod and iPhone clearly.

Speakers - 5/5 - These speakers are great. I read the reviews saying you had to "break in" your speakers to get the best quality, so I played multiple CDs on volume level 28 for about 4 hours and that seemed to work great. (Beware, it's loud.) One complaint I have that I have is that they don't use RCA cables, or even regular speaker wire, which is a bit inconvenient, but that's okay.

FM Radio - 5/5 - Crisp and clear.

Remote - 5/5 - The remote is awesome. You can control most of the unit's functions with a push of a button. Batteries included too! : )

USB/AUX - 5/5 - USB works great for flash drives. I found nothing wrong with playing music on one of mine. Using the AUX port for Android phones is really awesome too.

I would highly recommend this system for anyone who needs a new, cheap CD player. This little thing is doing great so far.
11 comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2013
I bought this little stereo because it met all my criteria: a bookshelf radio / CD system that actually looked good and didn't cost much (I'm way behind the times and don't have an Ipod, but it's nice that it has a dock if I ever do get one). For the most part I've been very happy with it--the sound is nice and fills my small apartment, and it's easy to use and has a simple, convenient remote.

My one complaint is that the CD mechanism must be a little cheap, because once in a while a CD will skip that did not skip on my previous player. However, this is just infrequent enough (maybe one skip for every 2-3 hours of playing time?) that it's not worth it for me to return it and hunt for another player.
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2012
My old panasonic system finaly gave up the ghost but it has such good sound, I wanted to get an exact replacement. They don't make them anymore (to be fair the system was almost 20 y.o.) so I was again taking a chance on anything new. I like Pioneer products so this is the one I choose to replace my workshop stereo. I works great, sounds great and has features that I like such as the ipod dock, bass/tone control and remote control. It is small enough for my limited space and has big sound. I'm picky, sound quality is everything, this unit has the best small stereo sound around, I'm glad I bought it.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2012
The player itself is absolutely perfect, small size, great sound, easy controls. The issue I'm having is the remote. It worked for about 5 minutes then stopped working. I tried the remote from 3 inches away up to 10 feet away and from different angles and still nothing. I then thought it was the battery so I replaced it and once again it worked perfect for about 5 minutes. I used a battery tester on 3 volts and tested both batteries and they both said 95%+ charged. If anyone has any ideas please mentioned it. If the remote doesn't work it's going to be a deal breaker.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2012
excellent for price and size which fits everywhere, has everything I wanted. very easy to set up.would recommend to all looking for a space saver
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2013
The Pioneer X-EM21 is straight-forward, easy to use, and designed very well. For a little stereo system, it has a lot of options, not the least of which is the USB slot. You can download music to a thumb drive in MP3 format and simply plug and play in this stereo. That is a really nice feature, in addition to simply docking your iPod. The menu items are easy, as you simply scroll through them to find the source you want. The remote control works well, and is also very intuitive.

Sound-wise for the size of the speakers it is very good sound, and you can get a little separation if you like by moving the speakers around. All in all, this is easily one of the best values / best products in this category I have found.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2012
The size and audio quality of this system just fit my needs. The USB optio allows me to use my iPhone 5, the dock fits my iPhone 4, and it also plays the CDs I still have. Extra bonus is the radio for listening to ball games.
22 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 61 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.