Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
8
5 star
87%
4 star
0%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
13%
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 14, 2014
I love my Tumi luggage back. It is was a dream for me to have it. I would advised a friend to get it too.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2014
There is a new style of the large duffel on the Tumi site so this one was a good price, I guess because it's a previous season model. Who would know, it's a suitcase! I've had Tumi bags for decades. They ARE expensive but will last forever, don't show wear, never fall apart. I like the way they did the split. It['s basically a thin sheet with a zipper. Very easy to make the bag into one giant cavern inside. I tool a long trip and wished after packing it without the divider that I had left it closed Too much depth caused me to dig deep for some of my stuff.

Of course, it depends on what you're packing, but this bag takes so much that it can easily go overweight for air travel so be careful. It is well balanced even when heavily packed. Wheels well. Because it is so long, the handle is short but in proportion. The outer side pocket doesn't hold a whole lot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2014
I got his bag to use as the 'checked' bag, while using a smaller bag as my carry-on for extended trips. The separate lower compartment for shoes, etc. is very handy, and while it's a pretty big bag, it's very easy to handle. It also collapses for more efficient storage which is also very convenient. They put a lot of thought into this bag, and the quality is quite impressive. I have some Tumi bags that I bought over 20 years ago that I still use, and expect that this one will last as long.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2014
Typical TUMI quality and this bag will hold a ton of stuff.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2014
This is a very well built bag. I know its crazy expensive but well worth the cost. You will be glad you spent the money for a high quality product.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2015
Love it. I really like that it has a seperate lower part, and it's quite spacious. Great for traveling with.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2014
Words cannot express how disappointed I am with the direction Tumi seems to be headed.

I have owned a T-Tech duffel for over a decade and it was of great quality. It recently got too warn out so I decided to upgrade to the Alpha wheeled-duffel. It is a much more expensive bag but is slightly larger and I figured it would last a decade as well so it was worth it.

Well, after the first leg of my first trip with the Alpha, I discovered that one of the back wheels fell off after retrieving the bag from baggage claim. I had to drag the bag around for a week long trip. When I returned from vacation, I returned the bag to the Tumi store and in a few weeks they sent me another Alpha.

But again, after the first leg of my first trip with this 2nd Alpha, I discovered that the back wheel had again fallen off! I returned this bag as well, but instead of going for another Alpha, I decided to ask Tumi to send me this T-Tech duffel which I had used for so many years with great satisfaction. A bit small for my needs but I figured at least the wheels would stay attached.

Well, I am just packing for my first trip with this T-Tech duffel and I am really, really , very, extremely disgustedly disappointed with the construction of this bag. Unlike the previous version of this model, the latest T-Tech has no zippered compartments on the outside NOR on the inside of the bag, except for 1 very small zippered pocket on the outside that barely fits anything. This bag is absolutely ridiculous. How can you make a bag that has no storage compartments? If you are packing small items, they will just go into your main compartment along with your clothes. When the TSA inspects your bag and takes stuff out, invariably these small items which are lost in your clothes will fall out and you will never get them back.

Where do you put your dirty clothing on the trip? I used to stuff my dirty clothes in the side pockets so my clean clothes stayed clean. Now I need to mix them all up.

What? You say I should just buy some extra small storage bags and keep thing in there. Great idea. Bleh.

It is clear that Tumi is no longer the company it used to be. They used to make high quality, reliable, durable bags that were smartly designed with the user in mind. Why on earth would they remove all the zippered compartments?

I know. They are now a publicly traded company and are trying to maximize profits. To differentiate the T-Tech duffel from the much more expensive Alpha ($455 vs $745) they are making this bag a bargain basement bag to force consumers to spend more money. This bag is totally impractical and not worth the $455 I spent.

I really am disgusted with Tumi. They make a very expensive bag that does not even survive 1 leg of a trip, or a cheaper, yet still very expensive bag, that is cheaply designed and not functional.

This is how good companies go bad.

Tumi, quit focusing on trying to maximize profits -- making fancy fashionable bags, ones that do not last and ones where you cut every corner. Go back to your basics of making great bags and the profits will follow. Or else in a decade you will have lost your reputation and your customers and another better company will come along and take your market away.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2014
This piece is very well made and it holds an amazing amount. While Tumi is on the pricey side, the quality of the produce is well worth it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.