Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Shop Women's Clothing Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 2, 2007
I wanted a coffee press or a 'plunger,' as they call it in Australia, as a backup for our regular drip coffee maker. Living in a rural area, we tend to lose power several times each winter, and vowed not to chew the grinds in 'camp coffee' every time. Of all the models, I chose this one for it's attractive, whimsical design, and protection over the glass beaker. The body exterior is rubber and clear plastic, which protects the removable and replaceable glass vessel within. The handle is sturdy. The plastic top cover feels a bit flimsy, but seems fine, since it doesn't do any hard labor. The plunger itself works as well as any other I've used (belonging to others). A bonus that I didn't expect, is the extra insulation the outer skin provides, keeping the coffee hot for a lot longer than a naked glass pot.
0Comment| 63 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2007
But please, please read the instructions if you aren't familiar with "press" coffee making. They're clear and touch on all the possible pitfalls for the newbie.

Then, enjoy a really well-designed, well-made French press. Another reviewer has mentioned its most outstanding design characteristics. It's attractive, a tad more rugged than most, and most important: it makes great coffee.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is currently cheaper than replacement carafes for the Chambord press as well. I broke my Chambord carafe, but the other parts were fine. The price for a replacement carafe is around $29 currently (for Bodum brand in the 34 ounce size), so I bought a new Chambord press for $32. I then bought this press for $21. I thought the carafe was also acrylic of some sort. Imagine my surprise when it is the same borosilicate glass as the Chambord!

The main difference is that this press has a semi-shock absorbing outer casing. The glass fits snugly in this casing. The other difference is the lid. The press portion itself and the carafe are identical to the Chambord.

I'm not recommending this over the Chambord, the Chambord press looks GREAT! It's well worth putting out on a service tray rather than hiding in a cabinet. This press has a more modern look, and is equally presentable, but more in line with modern, urban decor (think Ikea and such). It's very functional and funky looking in a good way. It works nearly the same as the more expensive Chambord press.

I keep this press at work since it gets a lot of use and abuse (which is where I broke the Chambord press!). So far it's been great. Highly recommended, especially for the price! And you can even buy this to just use the carafe to replace a shattered carafe in the Chambord if you like!

Bodum Chambord Coffee Press which is now up to $40! Yikes! That's how much Peet's and Starbuck's charge!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2013
Seriously, although this is my first french press its amazing. I did a s*** ton of research before I bought this one and I'm glad I did.

Advantages:
-- Great construction
-- The plastic insulates the coffee so the second cup doesnt get cold.
-- I dropped it, it didnt break (may have gotten lucky, but still, I wouldnt want to drop those others)
-- Even though its insulated you can see the sexy through the clear plastic
-- The coffee is good, you wont realize how much better until you try it (compared to kerig/traditional)
-- Seriously, why are you still reading, buy it.

Disadvantages:
-- none that I can think of yet (will update if something comes up)

Even if this is your French Press (or maybe especially if it is) this is great. Im younger (20s) and my friends make fun of me for french pressing my coffee, until they try it. Everything has a quality about it and it was well designed. Appreciate the Design, Appreciate the coffee, Appreciate the process and drink up the worlds most widely used psychoactive drug (caffeine).
22 comments| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2007
I have used the above press numerous times by now and am very satisfied with it. The rubber cover makes it easier to manage and less likely to break (which happened to my previous one) and the coffee comes out just right.
11 comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2007
There are many reasons to get this Bodum coffee press. 1. the best priced 8 cup bodum there is. 2. Coffee presses give you 'virgin' coffee flavor. 3. the carafe is nesteled in and protected by the durable frame that is made of santoprene - a hard rubber like material. The windows are made of clear polycarbonate. If you were ever afriad you'd break your Chambord style press, as I have been many times, get the Young Press instead.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2007
This product works well, is easy to clean and keeps the hot coffee hot longer because of an outer plastic container which also protects the glass interior from breakage. The only problem is that it should not be considered an 8 cup coffee maker (maybe in France) but only about 3 average sized cups was all I got from it. I allow the coffee to steep in hot water about 5 minutes and then the 3 cups are ready.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2008
Update: May 2013

Well, my roommate broke the glass carafe while I was away AND threw the entire thing in the trash. OMG. Silly woman. So...while I have not yet replaced this one (and I will at some point in the near future), I have to reiterate what an outstanding buy this was. Start to finish, this one was in use for about 5 1/2 years. Oh, I originally bought this in Hawaii and when I moved back to Colorado it made the trip via USPS over the big blue waters just fine (when most of my other glassware did not).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Update: Dec 2011

I've had this press now for nearly 3 years. Couldn't be happier with the product. Have not replaced the mesh screen either. No need to as it's still in great shape. Cannot recommend this product highly enough or any other Bodum product I've owned or bought as gifts.

Guess I am drinking more coffee now because a roommate broke the Kenya 17oz press about 2 years ago and never bothered to replace it. This also keeps my coffee hotter for longer than the others. The bubbles help with insulation. No more problems with fogging after resetting the panels the first time.

~~~~~~~~
August 2008

I've had mine now for 6 months (Jan 2008) and couldn't be happier. I too had a bit of fogging between the glass and the plastic...I just took it apart and reset the plastic panels. And yes, water gets between the glass and plastic...but honestly folks doesn't anyone turn this upside down to dry? It's really a non issue if you do.

I love the look and feel of this product. It's sturdy, comfortable in my rather small hands, keeps my coffee hotter, longer than other French presses.

I am reigning klutz supreme and I haven't broken it yet!

I will note that this size is a bit large for me living alone...I rarely use it to capacity, so I'm ordering the 17 oz Kenya press for weekday mornings.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2010
This is my first coffee press, and I'm very happy with it so far. I like the rubber outer skin on the glass - it helps protect it so you don't accidentally tap it against other dishes and break it. I also like that you can disassemble the strainer portion of the press - I like to clean all of the components of the strainer thoroughly because I will be brewing loose-leaf tea using this press, and I don't want my tea to taste like coffee.

I'm not a huge coffee person so I can't really comment on the quality of the coffee (good coffee vs. great coffee) that this press creates, but if I had to buy another coffee press, I would definitely buy another one of these.

**** UPDATE ****

I heard about the benefits of "cold brewed coffee" so I decided to give it a try using my Bodum Coffee Press, and let me tell you I WILL NEVER BUY STARBUCKS ICED COFFEE AGAIN! This press is great for making cold brewed coffee - just make sure you do not lower the plunger as it sits over night.
review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2013
I wanted something where I could make more than 1 cup of coffee, yet kept the coffee warm. And something that didn't take up a lot of room.
This is perfect. I rarely was able to drink a warm cup of coffee, since I have 2 little ones running around. I have forgotten about my coffee in this press for over an hour sometimes, and when I go to pour it into a cup, it is still steaming!
Love this! It makes 2 nice large cups for me (3 cups if you are using regular size mugs).
It's the perfect amount. And the press is small, that I can put it away in the cupboard without using up much needed space. Or, I can just keep it on the counter and it isn't a huge eye-sore!
Best purchase for my needs!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 12 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.