Automotive Holiday Deals Books Holiday Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Indie for the Holidays egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty Deals Gifts for Her Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Cyber Monday Deals Shop Now DOTD

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on September 4, 2013
I am very pleased with this shoe! I find very few shoes that are comfortable with my bunion, and these are great right out of the box. I have no pain walking in these shoes. I power walk daily and these are great! Highly recommend them. True to size for my feet.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on August 27, 2013
This is a very comfortable shoe right out of the box. No sore feet at all. These fit my foot as if they were custom designed. Nice to find a shoe for a narrow foot and a narrow here.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on May 16, 2014
I had worn this model for a few years. But the pair 2 months ago is terrible. The stitching came apart in less than two weeks. New Balance will not take responsibility for this defect even though the New Balance store said they have had to return several pairs in men's and women's. They changed the style 8 months ago and obviously changed their manufacturing process.
I think this will be my last New Balance shoe even though my local store in Costa Mesa was wonderful.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on March 11, 2014
The fit is true to size, but there is no arch support. I am disappointed about that since the shoes were expensive. It is very difficult to find a shoe that has it all: good fit, room in the toe, good arch support, quality manufacturing, etc... Maybe I will try inserting store-bought arch supports, but that is never as comfortable as having the shoe feel good from the start.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon July 22, 2014
Size: 8.5 B(M) USColor: Silver/PurpleVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Talk about lousy timing. I ordered these new sneakers because I was noticing a little wear and tear on my sneakers. I ordered these because I've heard good things about New Balance, loved the look, and figured I needed a new pair so why not, right?

The day they arrived, I had to go to the doctor and was put on complete bed rest. So I've tried them on (they fit) and I've limped around in them a bit (very comfortable) and they look even better in person than they do on a computer screen. But I can't say how they feel while I'm exercising. I'll have to come back and edit this review when I'm taken off bed rest. I've been stuck in bed for nearly a month. Any day now, I should be able to write the rest of this review. In the meantime, I do like these and I'm sure, once I'm back on my feet, I'll love the way they feel when I'm moving again.


I was finally able to start walking in early September and went on vacation for over a week. I did not take these with me. So altogether, I have worn them 3-4 times a week for 4-5 weeks.

So why are they already falling apart? The fabric is pulling away from the sides and now there's about an inch gap. This is very poor manufacturing and I'm hugely disappointed as I need quality shoes to help protect my joints and had heard New Balance recommended to me by several people. Not sure if I just got "lucky" and got stuck with a poorly manufactured pair or if this particular version of their running shoe doesn't live up to the company's good reputation. If I hadn't been stuck in bed for two months recovering from a knee injury, I'd return and exchange these falling apart shoes. Instead, I'm stuck with them.

Not happy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon June 28, 2014
Most of my sneakers run a size 7 or 7 and a half. When I put my feet in these, I had a several centimeters of extra space in front, even with a sock. I do like the fact that it's a pretty roomy wide shoe as those tend to be hard to find. They also breath very well when I go running in them. However they were a lot bigger than I expected, both in length, width, and even the height, and therefore look a little weird on my feet. I'll keep them for running, but otherwise keep looking for more multi-purpose sneakers that look a little nicer.

UPDATE: Demoting this to 2 stars. After only a few weeks the seams on the side are coming a part. The threads are pulling out completely. I've only worn them to the gym a few times, haven't even been in the rain and already it's coming apart. Not at all what I expect of New Balance.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Size: 6.5 B(M) USColor: Silver/PurpleVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I selected these shoes because I needed something cushy for all the walking and standing I do on hard concrete floors and sidewalks. With other similar types of shoes I've had, either the arch or the heel did not provide enough support (I have a very high arch) and I tend toward having heel pain since I put a lot of weight on my heels when I walk fast.

These shoes are about the same heft and weight as other current styles but the heel of this has a lot more cushion than compared to my other pair (K-Swiss) and the toe box is definitely roomier. The main problem was that I ordered a size 6.5 which is perfect, but I ordered the B width and received a D size instead. The box has been relabeled inaccurately as the shoe and original packaging clearly says 6.5 D. So the shoes do not fit as well as they would have if I'd gotten the right size. I generally do not tie my laces on the top outside but secure them underneath the tongue on the inside of the shoe so I can slip them on and off easily. I might have to use the usual lace up and tie method since they're so big. One other huge plus for me is that the sides of these shoes are the perfect height for me and don't hit my ankle bone at just the wrong place and rub on it as some styles do!

Size issue aside, these are definitely comfortable shoes. I'm not that crazy about the silver and light purple color with neon orange marking (I prefer either gray and white or boring, bland darker colors instead of these brights) but since they meet my need for cushioning and support, I can accept that! The mesh material allows airflow and decreases the heat buildup inside shoes that is experienced when doing a lot of exercise and walking. I really like the fact that my heels don't feel the impact so much when I'm wearing them. I'm not a jogger or runner but everyone needs comfortable shoes such as these for all the other activities we do.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Size: 7 B(M) USColor: Silver/PurpleVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )

I'm revising my rating for these shoes drastically downward, from five stars to one. Here's why:

When my wife first tried them on, she was extremely enthusiastic about how well they fit her, and also about the fact that they're made in the U.S. But they've started to fall apart before her very eyes. The side stitching on one of them started to come out after less than a month of very light use. She'd worn them maybe three or four times, just for leisurely walking, when she noticed the problem. More of the stitching unravels every time she wears them. Soon the entire solid side panel will separate from the underlying mesh and the shoes will be useless.

No matter how great they seemed at first, any product that falls apart almost as soon as you start to use it deserves the lowest possible rating. Caveat emptor.

Just for historical purposes, I've left the original review intact below.


These shoes were not for me, obviously, so here's what my wife has to say about them:

"I liked these shoes right off the bat, as soon as I found out they're made in America. That's a definite plus for me. I'm not fanatical about the subject, but I do prefer to buy domestic items if possible. In my experience, it's very unusual to find any article of clothing or footwear that's not made overseas.

"Other than that, these shoes seem very well made of quality materials. They're true to size in both length and width. I normally wear a 6.5 or 7, and this size 7 fits perfectly as long as I wear relatively thick socks. The sides and top easily spread out very wide, so they're exceptionally easy to put on. I'd rate the built-in arch support as medium--not too little, not too much. It's just right for me.

"I'm not really wild about the shiny silver finish on much of the material; I can't help but think it won't hold up well over time. The subdued purple and orange accents are subtle and attractive. I would prefer that the sides of the sole be gray rather than stark white, which I think will get dirty and scuffed very quickly, but that's not a big issue. The sole itself is flat and deeply textured, so grip is excellent--although I haven't yet tested them on a wet surface.

"These shoes fit me better than any others that I've owned in recent memory. With their pleasing design, excellent materials, perfect fit and sturdy construction, I expect them to provide me with many years of use. If you're looking for a good pair of shoes and want to "buy American," you should definitely consider these."
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on July 9, 2014
Size: 7 B(M) USColor: Silver/PurpleVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This New Balance shoes are very comfortable for both running and walking, nicely padded with good support. I love this nice, textured soles, good on various surfaces at various speeds. The shoes seem very light for the amount of support that they provide.

I got these in a 7-B, my normal size. The toe box is wide and very comfortable, no squished toes. The heel, however, is a bit too wide for my heel. Not radically so, not enough to make the shoe uncomfortable or unworkable, but just a little wider than my other shoes. Combined with a low-cut heel, my heel does not feel quite as secure as in my old shoes.

These are advertised for neutral runners. I over-pronate just slightly and these shoes work very well for me.

I don't wear leather, and I like that these are synthetic, with mesh tops. The shoelaces stay tied and are just the right length. That may seem a silly thing to comment until you get slippery laces that won't stay tied or are so long you have to double-bow them to keep them from dangling too much. I've had both of those things in various shoes, and they are an annoyance.

I really like these shoes in the couple of weeks that I have worn them. I have noticed that some other reviewers have had issues with them wearing badly and too quickly, and if that happens to me, I will update my review, but so far, so good.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Size: 10 B(M) USColor: Silver/PurpleVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I don't run. My knees would never take the punishment. So why am I reviewing a running shoe? Two reasons: First of all I was offered the chance to try these free. Also, I've recently been experimenting with buying running shoes for walking purposes, just for a change of pace. I have found running shoes generally lighter, less bulky and...okay, just nicer looking than walking shoes. I mostly buy New Balance shoes for walking, so I'm familiar with how they fit and feel.

The first thing that struck me when I took these out of the box was that they didn't look like running shoes. They are blocky, squared off, and more flat to the floor than the picture suggests. In fact they look like walking shoes. I tried them on and found that they are true to size for New Balance, and fit as I expected.

The shoes feel very nice. They are well padded and cushy underfoot, with good arch support. They're light and conform to my foot very well. After wearing them on a number of expeditions, I find that I like them very much. I will be taking these on a trip to Disney World in a couple months, and they will certainly get a workout there. By that time I should be able to better judge how they stand up to wear and will update the review to reflect that. For now, highly recommended for walking.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers who viewed this also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.