Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: MMS Magic Light Bulb Trick
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Price:$8.56+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 25, 2011
Bought this for an Uncle Fester costume prop. Our own Uncle Fester wrapped the wire from a twist tie around the base so he could light this up while it was in his mouth in true Addam's Family style. It was a hit throughout a Halloween party and would have kept on going if it was not dropped. It served our purpose and was worth the money. As an educational item, it has a bit of value, but more as a novelty item.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2014
I bought this for a school presentation for my 3rd grade son. After fooling with wire and a washer, we decided to try tin foil. Voila. The connection between the button on the bottom and the screw on the side needs to be made with something metal. Instructions on the side of the package are pretty useless. Once my son put a small piece of foil in his hand that covers the side and bottom of the lightbulb, the light flickered. Just what we needed for our Thomas Edison biography presentation.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2010
I bought this because I was going to be Uncle Fester for Halloween (pregnant belly made this pretty funny). The Description on Amazon didn't mention that this product couldn't be used in the mouth... but the box sure did. The box said the tip contained led and could cause birth defects if put into the mouth. Very disappointed. I hope the company reads this review and updates the description to include all the instructions and warnings on the label. Found a plastic one with no led on ebay that worked perfectly and the costume was hilarious!
22 comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2016
I have ordered a total of 4 of these and was disappointed. The first one didn't light at all and the 2nd and 3rd one would barely light, dead batteries in the bulbs and poor connectivity. This is not against the sellers because they did their jobs right and the bulbs were sealed brand new in the packages. Also, Amazon was amazing and very generous to me in helping me find a replacement so that I would have a good showing experience. Thank you Amazon! I ordered my 4th bulb from a different supplier and it worked. The connection was great and the bulb was bring. It was just that the glass of the bulb was not connected to the base. It was obvious that it had be at one time but the glue used just would not hold it in place. Glass was not broken so I could glue it again. If you are looking for a dependable, quality product do not buy this one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2005
The light is not bright and impressive. It goes off not according to the instructions when just touching any metal object, but ONLY! when wrapped completely in the metal foil, which is noisy and hard to hide. Failure!
11 comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2013
I got this for an Uncle Fester costume.
If you are looking to use this for an Uncle Fester costume be aware of the following important things:

1) You will have to rig a wire on the end in order to create Fester's famous light bulb in the mouth trick. The light only lights up when there is a metal contact touching the screwy bit with the end nubbin. (One reviewer said that their friend used the wire from a twist tie).

2) There is a large LEAD HAZARD warning on the box warning that you should never put it in your mouth. The end bit has solder on it like a real light bulb and the solder has lead in it.

Aside from the heavy metal poisoning and rigging with a metal bit for the (potentially highly toxic) Fester effect its pretty great though. Looks and feels like a real light bulb. You can put it on a table or have medics remove it from your rectum at an emergency room or pretty much anything you might wish to do with a real light bulb.

Except using it as a light bulb because the box says that that will burn it out immediately.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2012
The battery died a week after I bought this and you can't replace the battery. I only tried it out twice...never actually got to use it for what I bought it for in our show. Plus, it is supposed to be like Uncle Fester's light that lights up in his mouth from the Addams family, yet the directions say not to put it in your mouth for health reasons. Don't waste your money.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2006
This light does not illuminate a room. But if you follow the directions you can have fun with this item. I pretend to scoot my feet on the floor to cause a static charge and then magically the light bulb will come on in my hand. Or better yet I'll put the end of the light bulb in my mouth, scoot my feet, pull my ear and it comes on. Of course when you pull your ear again the light goes off. What's great about this item, is that you can immediately hand it out to your audience and they'll never figure out the trick (unless you do it poorly). My motto is that every trick is good trick if done well. I think the first reviewer was too harsh.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2016
Hubby was thrilled to receive it and start pranking the kids and grand kids when they came over for Father's day. It works well and I am sure will be around for many years as the grand kids grow and he has new victims to use it on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2016
Brand new, right out of box and plastic wrap it did not work. I bought this very early for a high school musical not thinking it wouldn't work when I finally opened the box. Of course, since I purchased it so early it was not eligible for return and refund. But I NEED this light so I'm hoping the replacement I bought (and need for dress rehearsals next week) works.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.