Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Adele egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer bf15 bf15 bf15 $30 Off Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Black Friday Deals Black Friday Video Game Deals Shop Now DOTD

Price:$35.67+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

98 of 101 people found the following review helpful
on July 14, 2014
First off, I'm disappointed with Amazon's measurements. I was hoping to get a mid sized diver based off of Amazons measurements in the description but came out with a rather large watch. I will fix the sizes here for those curious.

1) The watch has a 45 mm case diameter NOT 40 mm! This makes a huge difference for those like me with small wrists.

2) The band it comes with tapers down to 20 mm, but at the spring bars the band width is 22 mm. So this watch actually has a 22 mm band width. This would not be a problem for me if I didn't already buy a 20 mm NATO strap based off of Amazon's poor description measurements. It's not really noticeable though unless you look closely so I don't plan on going through the bother of returning the strap.

Besides the watch being large on my wrist, it's an excellent value. The screw down crown, bezel, 200m water resistance, and steel construction give this watch a look and feel that it's worth a lot more than $36. It's for these reasons that I won't return it and why I gave it 5 stars. Casio did an excellent job, Amazon could do better with their description. If you're in the market for a large dive watch you don't care about beating up, go for this you won't regret it.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
76 of 78 people found the following review helpful
on July 13, 2014
I wanted a weekend beater for surfing and off-road motorcycling. It had to be big-faced and easy to read at a glance. No digital crap, please. I needed another watch like a hole in the head. I have some really nice watches and I'm not a collector. But since I am single and nobody around to tell me no, I got it. Great value for the price, just an impeccable knockout of the Rolex Submariner of old that I always envied. As soon as I got it as set the time and took it surfing. I banged it around, held it under water, sprayed with a fire hose, took a shower with it, and just hammered it with abuse as much as I could so I could return it promptly. No sucess; I could not destroy it. It still holds time to the millisecond with no fogging and no problems. Just a big hunk of phat shiny blissful steel with black highlights, a discrete second-hand, a tight rotating bezel and a light rubber wristband. For $37 this is a steal. I might just hang up my Tag Heuer and Victorinox watches until this thing lets me down, which may be a while. Very easy to read at a glance which is why I got it. Not too heavy, really shiny, Big and fat. Classic good looks.

UPDATE: \December 5, 2014.\ 'still looks brand new, has not lost even 1-second of time. How can this be more accurate than my $1,500 dollar Tag Heuer???? I've worn it every day since I got it.. :) The rotating bezel is still tight, firm and crisp and you can update the calendar without stopping the second hand. This should cost a lot more.

UPDATE: \October 17, 2015.\ Replaced the battery finally, Still holds the time to the millisecond and not a scratch on the bezel or the steel. Every short month I calibrate it to the atomic clock NHIST in Colorado and it has never failed to be dead nuts on. The rubber wristband and the chrome look like brand new. I have really abused this thing and it just laughs at me.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
on November 17, 2014
I just got this watch this morning, 2 days sooner than the estimated delivery date! I love dive watches, and wasn't sure that a $38 watch would be worth wearing. let me tell you, Buy this watch! its Big, Beautiful, and worth every penny. ill update this over time to let you know how it holds up in the long run, but for now, I am very happy with it! it is Big, I like that, the listing has it at 40, but it is 45. I have a 7" wrist, and I love how it sits. you get a lot for the $$, 200M WR, screw down crown, and case back, uni-directional bezel. and a nice date window. the only thing I would say could be better is the strap.. it feels kind of like cheap plastic, but no big deal, Im going to get a Zulu for it. here is a pic of it next to my $400 Deep Blue, I think it holds up well against much more expensive watches.
review image review image review image
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
89 of 99 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon March 3, 2012
I don't think that I've ever been more impressed with an inexpensive Diver's watch.

The Men's Casio Duro 200 Diver's Watch MDV106-1AV looks great and has all the features of much more expensive water resistant watches. The crystal is tempered glass, the timepiece is easy to set, and the bezel moves counterclockwise with a small amount of effort.

This diver's watch is actually larger in size than many similar, more expensive products from other manufacturers. The screw-on crown increases water resistance, and is a standard feature for any good diver's watch costing considerably more. The MDV106-1AV is water resistant to 200 meters.

The styling of this diver's watch is simply superb. Oh, and by the way, it keeps great time.

Of course, if you buy a quartz watch, the battery will need to be replaced every so often. If that quartz watch is a diver's watch and you get the battery replaced, the water resistance depth will no longer be guaranteed, even if the replacement is performed by an authorized dealer.

Just like an automatic watch, the quartz watch will need to be cleaned every so often in order for it to keep good time. Sometimes, just like a car, they will need an overhaul and at that point, the cost of maintaining the old watch will be more expensive than purchasing a new one.

A few years ago, I had the experience of attempting to revive a Seiko Quartz Diver's watch that had been in storage for several years and was never used. Due to the way the watch was stored, it would not keep good time even with a good battery. I eventually ended up selling the watch to a collector who thought he could fix the problem. To fix that Seiko would have been expensive. I will never purchase a quartz watch for over forty or fifty dollars again.

An automatic is different, but at lower retail prices, they won't be as accurate as a quartz watch. For someone who's considering a Diver's watch, an automatic is one of the best ways to go. However, if' you're looking for a great value, for a selling price around $55.00, Men's Casio Duro 200 Diver's Watch is well worth considering.
1414 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on April 6, 2013
This is an awesome watch! You can tell that it is quality built. The look and feel is of a much more expensive watch. One reviewer was right when he said that the pic's do not do this watch justice. I love the look of it. It looks like a Kobold dive watch, only for thousands less! It is very sharp looking, with the Marlin logo on the front and back. The red second hand accentuates it, and it has big illumination indices. I like the band too. It is thick, sturdy, and heavy duty. This is a big dial watch. It is a true man's watch. Nothing sissy about this thing. It will look good as a dress or sports watch. Some of the reviewers complained about the illumination. I really don't see a problem with it. It is not fantastic, but then again, it is not bad either. You are going to get lots of compliments on this watch. It is well built, with the Japanese quarts movement, 20 bar water resistance with a screw in crown, and you get that great Casio product quality, and accuracy. I am surprised at the very convenient price! Thanks Amazon - You sell great watches!
review image review image review image
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
31 of 37 people found the following review helpful
on July 11, 2014
This is a no nonsense watch with basic features, some found on more expensive watches. I have tried many watches lately and have had trouble finding the right one. This is a simple basic "dive" watch. People should note that a true dive watch costs hundreds if not thousands and any watch, even Seiko, Citizen etc., that list themselves as DIVE watches for under 200.00 probably should not be used for true tank diving. This watch claims to be 200m water resistant and it probably is. The crown is screw in, and seems sturdy. The bezel is unidirectional and seems sturdy. The luminescence is fair as I would have expected it is very easy to read, solid, fits well and looks great. Amazon indicates the size is 40mm and beware, this is NOT 40 but 44 mm. It is LARGE and is too big for small wrists like mine. The band is wide, it is simple and it is thin. It is rubber, but more the plastic feeling type than Italian natural rubber and is not at all comfortable. The watch is heavy also. Then face is a flat black, and has some strange design embedded in it that makes it glare in certain light. Casio makes hundreds if not thousands of styles of watches, but only one like this. The price seemed good, and for the price I'd say this is a fair bargain, but with small wrists like mine, it is simply too heavy and wide for my liking.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on June 24, 2015
Took the watch on a series of four dives on one day. Maximum depth was 53 feet. Condensation under the crystal. This means that water penetrated the watch, but the seals are at least strong enough to keep the water vapor in. Spend the money on a better watch. Other people have had the same problem.
review image
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
I own a number of Casio's, and this is easily the most value for the least money of any watch I own. You have to feel it, out of the box, to appreciate the quality and solid feel they have put into feels like a $190 Seiko.

The hands and hours and 'seconds' hand are all easy to read in all light levels. The bezel rotates smoothly with the quiet 'click' of quality. It feels great on the wrist. It's a large watch, but not overpowering or look-at-me gaudy.

The rubber band is fine just as it is. Personally I wear mine on a nylon Nato strap.

I haven't dived with this (it's rated 200 meters) because I have a Seiko for that. But I've swum and snorkeled with it many, many times down to probably 15-20 feet, so it's abundantly waterproof for any normal water sports you want to throw at it.
I am rough on my outdoors watches and I have not babied this one at all, but the crystal is still perfect, without scratches, and the watch looks like new two years later.
This same model also comes with a black face/blue bezel, and a black face/black bezel. I have both the black and the white face versions.
If you're looking for a 'first real watch' gift for a young person, this would be a great choice.

I found mine for $30 online, shipped. It pays to shop around.

Just a great watch in every way. Hope this is helpful. Happy times, everybody.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on November 24, 2014
This watch may be the biggest bang for buck purchase I have made all year! Basic, yes. Simple, yup. Quality, definitely. The case is well finished and feels good. The size is perfect for a med/large mens watch. The design is great and not too "Submarinery". The face of the watch is well done with applied indices. The face finishing does seem to have a slight waver for the nit-picky people out there (depresses ever so slightly around the indices). A matte or satin face would be an improvement IMHO. The strap that comes with it feels cheap, but is really comfortable. Overall, I love this watch. It looks awesome, feels good, keeps good time and seems to be pretty durable. Although time will tell on that last one (durability), based on Casio's reputation on this front I am betting I am in good hands. Skip the expensive fashion-divers and get yourself this Casio.

**NOTE** The watch is 44mm-ish and the lug (strap) width is 22mm. The product description is incorrect.
review image
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on July 2, 2015
I bought the Casio MDV-106AV (the box is labeled MDV-106-1AVCF) dive watch so that I'd have a watch to wear when I was doing something I didn't want to subject my "nice" dive watch to. Never mind the fractured logic of spending a small fortune to buy a rough, tough, but very elegant do-it-all watch, and then buying another one to wear when I don’t want to put a scratch on my fancy rough tough watch. Sigh. It's like those SUV drivers that crawl through puddles so they don’t splash and get their cars dirty.

My interest in dive watches isn't because I dive, it's because I've gotten older. I've worn digital watches for roughly the last 35 years, but my eyes aren't up to them anymore. Even as digital watches got huge (G-Shock anyone?) the area of the watch face devoted to telling the time remained tiny. It's been over 10 years since I could read mine without my reading glasses. Dive watches are, with few exceptions, the most easily readable watches out there. Yes, there are "Easy Reader" watches, but if you don't want to look like you stole a nurse's watch, get a dive watch instead. I wanted something easy to read with or without my glasses, and waterproof. Analog dive watches fit the bill, and the Casio MDV-106 is one of the very best for readability and overall appearance. It is easily THE best if you factor in value for dollar.

The bezel measures 43.5mm across the knurled edge, which is about average for men’s dive watches these days. To my eye it looks just right on my wrist, and being a little large doesn’t hurt the readability one bit. It passes the “can I read it without my reading glasses?” test with flying colors! The thickness is 12.3mm (just under half an inch), which is thinner than most other dive watches, even the Swiss watches, and almost 5mm thinner than the rubber-armored Casio G-Shock digital I’ve been wearing for the last 10 years. It is refreshing to have long-sleeve shirt cuffs glide right over it. The crystal is absolutely flat and sits very slightly (0.5mm perhaps?) proud of the bezel, which slopes downward slightly from the crystal to the knurled edge. The whole bezel/glass interface is exceptionally handsome, and with the flat glass and low bezel, you don't get that 'looking down into a well' feeling that some other dive watches give. The face of the watch is a marvel of clarity, with only "Casio", their marlin dive watch logo, and "WR200m" written on it, unlike some brands that print the watch's entire resume on the face. Clean, clear and uncluttered, enhancing readability. There are nice touches all over this watch: all the dots of lume on the face have polished stainless surrounds (note: “lume” is used interchangeably to mean the glow-in-the-dark material or the glow itself, i.e., “Seiko uses a proprietary strontium-aluminate lume”, or, “Man, you could read by that lume!”), the one-way bezel ratchets very positively, if a bit stiffly, with 120 clicks per rev, the crown guards are nearly as tall as the crown, the pointer end of the second hand is very thin and painted red so it will never be confused with the hour and minute hands, and the face is mostly just black, clean, and uncluttered. The sides of the case are highly polished, but the tops of the lugs (i.e., the part you see when reading the time) have a less reflective brushed finish, making it easier to read in bright sunlight. Rolex should look this good. The band is 22mm wide, exactly the right width for a watch this size.

Is there anything I would change? Sure, to my eye the hands look just a tiny bit skinny; I'd make them 20% wider. I'd also make the date window twice as big; it's hard to read even with my glasses. And finally the lume; this watch really needs better lume, good luck finding it in the dark let alone reading it. Note to Casio: buy the stuff Seiko uses!

Overall I think this watch is an absolute steal at $40. It has none of the bling factor or cachet of Rolex or Omega, or even Seiko's high-end divers, but it does the same job ('cept for the lume) at a tiny fraction of their price, and looks amazing doing it. If it's function you care about, not flash, this is the watch for you. Admit it, we've all had meals that cost more than this, and were far less satisfying. My fancy, expensive watch may spend a lot of time in the drawer.

The three pictures show the bezel/glass interface, a simulated view without my reading glasses (I can actually see a little better than the picture), and how it looks on my wrist.
review image review image review image
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 23 answered questions

Customers who viewed this also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.