Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Chi-Raq Bose SoundLink AE All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Shop Now DOTD

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 4, 2012
I purchased the coolfan initially on its own to cool 300b tubes in a highend audio amplifier. I was told by my manufacturer that if I could get recirculating air to the tubes there was a potential of doubling the life of the tubes since heat destroys most everything.

When I got the fan I was very impressed with the quality of build for its 4 inch size and the 56cfm rated output. The case of this fan is aluminum and it has some weight for its 4 inch square size.
When I initially plugged it in and saw how powerful it was I was impressed with the high air flow but I knew that the noise level was not going to work in my application because I needed dead quiet for listening to music.

Jimmie fixed this problem by sending me a powercord (also sold on Amazon) that contains a variable voltage control to the fan thus you can adjust the speed for any intended application.

I therefore adjusted the speed to almost as slow as it would go and the noise level dropped 10 fold while still circulating enough air to make the fan perfect for my intended use. If you do this you will only hear a faint whisper from 3 feet away and from where I listen (12 feet) you cannot detect any noise yet it is circulating air out to 3-4 feet. Therefore I would highly suggest purchasing the fan with the variable speed power cord....it really makes the fan much more versatile.

For those of you that have found bargains that really work this should be added to your list. For those of you that want a quality fan for cooling internal space of a home theater enclosed rack, hi-end tube power amplifier,computer case and many other devices this one should be at the top of your list. I might also add that Jimmie at AC FAN was a joy to work with and his service was outstanding. Highly Recommended.
11 comment21 of 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2013
I bought two fans ( same order) to replace a couple of noisy units around the house. First fan I installed is as quiet as a church mouse. "Awesome!", I thought. Second fan, is 2-3 times noisier! It's still quieter than the old fan it replaced, but noisier than the other one I bought. Too bad there seems to be a consistency issue. That's the reason I gave it only 3 stars.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2012
I purchased two. One for my whole-house sound cabinet and one for my surround/entertainment cabinet. Both are doing a great job of cooling. They run very quiet. You can hear them if you get really close to the cabinet, but you have to be listening for them and really close. Normally, I forget they're even there.
0Comment8 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2012
This fan arrived quickly and well packaged. It moves a lot more air than I thought it would. I am going to be mounting this backwards as an exhaust / ventilation fan on a large acrylic bird cage. I expect it will work quite well considering the amount of air it moves.
0Comment4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2014
Great little fan for the price - bit noiser than I thought from other reviews, about the same as a 8" table fan.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2013
Works well (I have no way of gauging the CFM supplied) and is truly quiet. Right now it's keeping my wine fridge and keggerator from overheating in a semi-enclosed area, controlled by a thermostat. Didn't want more noise in the kitchen so I chose this one. Installation hardware or at least a instruction sheet suggesting how to mount would have been nice -- ended up fabbing everything myself.

EDIT ADDED LATER: reading how some people thought it too loud, I should add that for my installation I added rubber washers as isolators, so there's would be less resonation from the panel it was mounted in.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2015
This little fan does everything that it was advertised to do. I bought it to provide ventilation to a small home theater electronics closet and with rubber mounts, it does the job well. It was about the most quiet of its type of motor, but I am only giving it a 4 star rating instead of a 5 star because it still does have quite a noise (even with the added rubber mounts). It is not as loud as a bathroom fan, but it can be annoying when you are trying to listen to a movie. By the way, the adding of the rubber washer mounts remarkably lessened the sound level of the fan.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2013
I'm using this fan to dry out my Sunfish Sailboat over the winter. It is set up over a 5" inspection port hole which is the perfect size for this fan. The fan is practically silent and has a built in switch in the cord. It has been running 24/7 for approximately a month with no issues. Very satisfied so far; the boat has lost about 15lbs so far.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2013
Installed in the back of my entertainment center to keep various electronics cool with the door closed.

Some items to note:
The holes in the fan body are small - #6 machine screws are the only thing that fits and they will need to be at least 2 1/2" long to hold the grill and fan to a thin wall.

The cord plugs on to two metal tabs on the side of the fan and can pull off very easily. Use a wire tie to secure it to the nearest bolt so it won't come free when tugged.

This fan is slightly louder than a laptop fan in "high" mode when it steps up due to computer running hot. It was quieter when first installed and got louder after a day of running. It is not very noticable when the tv is on. When everything else is off it can be heard across the living room. Think of a vcr rewinding a tape (if you are old enough for that).

It does move a good bit of air. I cut a hole in the back of my cabinet and the fan blows to the front. You can feel air coming out around the door gaps when it is closed. I used to have to keep the door partially open to keep receiver from shutting down due to temp if the Xbox was used. Now everything is cool to the touch even after everything running for a couple of hours.

I might put a "filter" on the outside of the fan to keep dust down inside the cabinet and also kill some of the noise.

I would buy this again.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2012
I use the fan to circulate air behind my kegerator. The fan was easy to mount. It isn't the quietest fan ever but sure moves a lot of air for its size and price.
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.