Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Timberland Men's City Premium Chukka Boot,Dark Brown,15 W US
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 14, 2013
First and foremost, this is a dress boot and not a boot to plod around in the fields all day. That said, I love the soft leather on this boot. The workmanship appears to be very good. Very comfortable shoe, looks great with chinos, jeans or what-have-you. The sole is a bit on the thin side, but if it was any thicker it would really change the look. The only down side is the laces. They are very thin like a dress shoe, but when I say thin, I mean real thin, such that I am looking for a waxed round brown lace 45-48 inches long. Not an easy find.

Fit wise, I usually take an 11 but reading the reviews here and other places indicated you may want to go down 1/2 size. I did and they fit perfect. Going down a half size also worked with my Timberland work boots too..
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2013
My Timberland shoes arrived yesterday. I had originally found them on Timberland's website for $185.00. On amazon I saved $50.00. At either price, they are well worth it. As soon as they arrived I put them on and loved the look and the feel. I wore them all day and well into the evening. It's as if they came broken in.

Though I am aware of some of the complaints on sizing, I too at first thought they were a little bit large. I had even called Timberland to inquire about their sizing, measured the length of my foot and sure enough, I was a size 9 on Timberland's chart as well as others. After wearing them for the day I realized that Timberland knew what they were doing. The shoes fit and are comfortable.

I usually don't get excited about a pair of shoes, CD's yes, books yes, but shoes?

Timberland has certainly gained a customer here!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2014
Excellent shoe, well made, made large, bought size smaller after reading reviews and one size small was perfect. Rubber soles were not to thick giving the shoe a casual dress felling and look. Wooden center of sole makes the shoe super supportive and super flexible and a broken in feel as soon as you walk in them. The color was brown and not the reddish color in the picture. The toe was slender (not narrow) turning up slightly at the toe also giving a dressier feel and not a hiker feel. Definitely a good shoe for the city. Excellent for casual dress look. !0+ for comfort and style. Package arrived super fast! I recommend this seller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2013
These will work for casual wear and because it is a cap-toe you can even wear them for business casual when the weather justifies a boot. Looks like a Goodyear welt and therefore appear to be resoleable.The leather is soft; broken feel right from the start. Just guessing, but it does not look like it will be waterproof; we'll see. The leather is glove leather & therefore on the thin side and not rugged like a Wolverine 1,000 Mile boot. But that boot costs twice as much and there is a break-in period required; it too may not be waterproof. Want waterproof? Get a Gore-Tex lined boot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2013
Love these dark brown timberland boots (paid $123!). Nice and light and go great with jeans.

I got a 9.5 M which fit great and in comparison: I wear a 9.5/10 in most other oxfords, etc. A 9 with a lot of slip-ons, and then a 10.5 in most running shoes(Adidas/Nike). Hopefully that helps a bit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2016
Not waterproof. Great looking boot. Fits well. Feet get soaked very easily. Have tried spraying them with water repellent. Does not help. I believe it is the stitching at toe of boot that sacrifices style for water proof. I would have settled for water resistant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2013
Like: semi-lug rubber sole with good traction, thick leather, fairly high ankle length, Timberland name, 30% cyber Monday discount. Like less: they do run big. My true size is 12 1/2- most 12's are too small, 13's too big. This 12 is roomy, with the width ok but the length extending at least an inch beyond my toes. Comfortable but they look kind of funny. Also the laces will not stay tied- I'm going to have to change them.

I walked all over Santa Fe when they were brand new and they were very comfortable with good traction. Not a hiking boot but not dressy- perfect for city trekking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2014
Very nice looking.. can be worn in smart casual setting.
Very comfortable footbed.
One thing I'm not certain of.. I can't find any markings on the shoe or box that indicate this is a "waterproof" boot. I realize that Amazon's description includes "waterproof", but note that on Timberland's own site this word is not used. Haven't tested yet.

Sizing: Fits same as a dress shoe. Therefore fits about 1 size smaller than you might wear in a running or athletic shoe (eg. Nike). Ie. I wear a 13 dress shoe (any brand incl. Ecco, Johnston/Murphy, NeilM, etc..) and wear a 14 tennis/running/bball shoe (Nike, Brooks, Vans etc..). I got the 13 in this and fits very well with normal/dress types of socks. If you intend to wear thick hiking socks, go up a 1/2 size from this guidance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2014
We bought these boots because they claimed to be waterproof. These are a nice wearing boot, look good with slacks, and good traction without having a lug look. However, my husbands feet get wet just walking across the parking lot. That is a big disappointment!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2013
The construction is excellent: leather is soft with uniform color and stitching is neat. Appears true to size (at least for the 10D) .The shoe is very flexible. The stitching pattern across the toe forms the "cap toe" which is a dress shoe feature. These are clearly dress boots and not built for stomping across field and wood.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.