Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Look Park Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 8, 2012
Thought I was looking for a new pre-pro or receiver until this came along. As a very happy owner of an Oppo BDP-93 but in need of some additional capabilities as my Outlaw 950 pre-pro was getting very long in the tooth and my ancient Carver C-1 stereo preamp had no way to decode the Dolby Digital from the new TV (no analog outs!).

Then what to my wondering eyes should appear but an audiophile grade blu-ray player (not just blu-ray - virtually everything, SACD, DVD-A, etc.) with pre-pro capabilities, accepting inputs from external devices and able to act as standalone high quality DAC as well. Unless you have a plethora of gear you may find as I did that you can use this BDP-105 to directly drive your power amps and act as your main processor and preamp. Streaming (wired or wireless) from DLNA or SMB shares and handling many file formats including .flac and .mkv. All this in addition to possibly the best blu-ray and upsampling output you'll ever feed your display.
2323 comments| 91 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2013
I bought an Oppo BDP 83 in the fall of 2009 for its improved audio circuitry and Blu-ray capability. Shortly after I bought it, Oppo released a new version with vastly upgraded audio circuits, the BDP 83 SE, and offered a program by which previous purchasers could send their machines back and pay to have them similarly upgraded. I took advantage of that program and was so impressed by the improvements that I wrote a review of it for Amazon that many people found helpful (it is the second review). That old review OPPO BDP-83SE - Blu-ray disc player - upscaling - black might be worth reading, since much of it also applies to the BDP 105, which I recently bought and which significantly expands some of those benefits. Like the BDP 83 SE, the BDP 105 also has a pair of ESS Sabre DACs plus additional circuit improvements. But unlike the BDP 83 SE, there are new ways you can use them.

When I bought my first multichannel player, I found that there was a significant improvement to be heard when playing the many wonderful RCA and Mercury 3-channel stereo (left , right, center) SACDs as 3 channels on 3 speakers in comparison to the 2-channel mixdown with a phantom center and this improvement was more apparent than ever when I bought the BDP 83. But with the significantly improved audio output once I upgraded my BDP 83 to a BDP 83 SE, there was a big trade-off and I ultimately found that the benefits of 3 channel play, of necessity through the multi-channel outputs, were considerably outweighed by the distinctly superior audio quality available from the dedicated stereo outputs, which automatically down mixed the 3 channels to two with a phantom center.

There are two Saber 8-channel DACs in the 83SE, and now in the 105. One is used to feed the 7.1 (actually 8) channel analog outputs. The other dedicates that 8 channels of processing power to just 2 channels, the dedicated stereo outputs, which undergo an extraordinary amount of processing, jitter reduction, etc., not available when the same processor is processing 6 or 8 channels of information What this yields is an extraordinary improvement in sound quality listening to stereo music through the dedicated stereo outputs as compared to listening to the same music through the front left and right outputs. On the BDP 83 SE listening in stereo through the Sabre 7.1 channel outputs was a major improvement over listening through the 7.1 or stereo outputs on the unmodified BDP 83. But listening in stereo on the BDP 83 SE through the dedicated stereo outputs was an even more dramatic improvement over listening through the lesser processing of the front left and right outputs. This is also true on the BDP 105. The problem with listening to multichannel recordings on the BDP 83 SE was that in order to listen to a 3 channel stereo recording like the Mercury and RCA SACDs of classic 1950s recordings the only way you could get a pure front left and front right signal was to use the 7.1 channel out front left and front right outputs. That meant that in order to listen to 3 discrete channels, you had to lose the advantage of the improved circuitry available through the stereo outputs. The stereo outputs automatically mixed down multichannel recordings to stereo at the stereo outputs. After listening to a few recordings, I found that it was better to listen to the improved stereo mixdown of the 3 channels with a phantom center than it was to listen to the comparatively degraded 3 discrete channels and consequently my center channel speaker has sat mostly unused for several years, except for an occasional DVD movie. But on most DVDs and all Blu-rays and music, I have been listening to the stereo outputs for front channels.

BUT, the BDP 105 gives the listener a choice. You can select to have EITHER a stereo mixdown of all channels through the dedicated processor feeding the the stereo outputs. OR you can have that dedicated processor just work on just the front left and front right signals with no mixdown. So you can have maximum processing feeding your front left and right speakers and the other 8 channel processor can feed the center, surrounds, and sub-woofer channels. This means your two most important channels have the best possible sound quality and the others have excellent, but honestly, not-nearly-as-good sound quality of an 8 channel processor dividing up the work of processing 8 channels, two of which you (front left and front right) you are actually listening to through another source.

We had heard the Baltimore Symphony perform Rachmaninoff's third piano concerto with Garrick Ohlson this weekend and my wife wanted to listen to the Rachmaninoff second. To maximize sound quality, and also listen to a fine performance, I chose the Mercury SACD of Byron Janis performing both concertos and decided to try out listening to the isolated left and right through the dedicated stereo outputs and the center channel using the regular center channel output.

Now, having sat down and listened to Rachmaninoff's 2nd and 3rd concertos, Respighi's Ancient Airs and Dances, and Hanson's Symphony #2 on Mercury 3-channel stereo SACD last night, I can say that this ability to switch the stereo output back and forth between processing a multi-channel mix down and a dedicated front left/front right signal is worth upgrading from the BDP 83 SE to the BDP 105 all by itself. Excellent center channel and extraordinary front left and front right is wonderful to hear--way better than 3 excellent channels or an extraordinary mixdown with phantom center, but admittedly probably not as good as 3 extraordinary channels. Now if Oppo would offer an upgrade to allow 4 channels of the second processor to be dedicated to the front center channel and the other 4 to the other channels, omitting either the subwoofer or the back channels but retaining the surrounds, that would be even better. I guess that will wait for the Oppo 125 or so in a few years. But to be honest with the front left and right speakers putting out such wonderful sound, the fact that the center channel was somewhat less wonderful was hardly noticeable. And it is a fantastic upgrade from 3 channels of somewhat less wonderful sound quality. My center channel speaker is going to working a lot more in the future.

There are also other reasons to buy the Oppo BDP 105. It can be used as an outboard DAC for processing signals from other sources. You can send the audio and/or video from a HDTV tuner or DVR, a computer, an ipod, another CD, DVD, laserdisc, or SACD player into the Oppo, preferably by HDMI, but it also accepts USB, coax, or TOS-link digital inputs, though some of those options might not allow maximum resolution. It has no analog inputs.

And it does streaming. And it plays 3-D if you have an appropriate display, which I don't, yet.

And in my few weeks of listening, I have found that the 105 does sound a little better all the time than the 83SE. There is better articulation of details. Front to back depth information is significantly improved. I used to really enjoy listening to music through my BDP 83 SE. Through the BDP 105 listening to the same music in the same way, it is better. But for me, being able to listen to multichannel recordings with isolated front left and right channels coming through the dedicated stereo outputs makes the biggest difference.

Update: 1/30/13

I played Bach's first cello suite on the Janos Starker Mercury SACD in 3 channel mode this afternoon using the dedicated stereo outputs for left and right and the regular center channel. It was wonderful. Then I pulled out another recording I am quite fond of, the CD of Edgar Meyer playing the same suite on the double bass. What a mistake! It brought back memories of the 1980s when I played a good record first and then put on a CD. The sound was SO disappointing. Back then there was a saying, if you want your CDs to sound good, don't play vinyl first.

I thought that CDs sounded very good on the Oppo, and they do. But I guess mixing SACDs and CDs is not a good idea in the same listening session, unless you listen to the CDs first. Next time, some other day, Edgar Meyer will have to come first. And this was with Starker's cello coming primarily from the reduced quality center channel (with the dedicated stereo channels providing mostly room and space and supplemental signal) and Meyers double bass coming exclusively from the enhanced dedicated stereo left and right! I had to put on another SACD of unrelated music just to clear my head of the sound.

A little later, just to be fair, I put the Starker first movement back on, first the CD layer, then the SACD stereo layer, then back and forth once more, and finally the 3 channel SACD track. The collapse of the sound was just as apparent on stereo CD vs stereo SACD. And 3 channel SACD was a significant improvement over stereo SACD, even with the relatively inferior center channel where, in this somewhat unusual case, most of the direct sound of this SOLO cello originates.

I have really enjoyed listening to CDs on the BDP105 and found that everything sounds a little better than it did on the BDP83SE. But I am also finding that SACD playback has apparently improved more significantly than CD playback.
1414 comments| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2013
There is nothing like it in the market PERIOD - 4.5 Stars actually!! Truly a landmark product!!

At the time of writing this review, there is nothing like it in on this planet that does everything it does and the way it does. Simply OUTSTANDING!! Just buy it now if you can afford it or save for it if you can't at the moment.

I will be mainly reviewing the DAC/Audio side of it and few other features that are of interest to me.

I won't be doing the review of its video capabilities as it has the exact same video guts as its less expensive sibling BDP-103. Also if you are going to be using the HDMI/SPDIF audio out to another proc/receiver/dac, save your money and get the BDP-103 for $700 less. OPPO BDP-103 Universal 3D Blu-ray Disc Player SACD & DVD-Audio.

Packaging:
Top notch. The 105 comes in a soft bag and is very well padded inside the box. Accessories come in a separate small box. Reusability of packaging very high.

Included accessories:
* Remote control.
* Beefy power cable
* HDMI cable.
* Wifi USB stick
* USB extension cable.

Build Quality:
Disc drive is better than most but doesn't compare to some high end stand alone transports.
Built like a tank.
Heavy grade aluminum and steel body.
Top notch gold plated analogue and digital connectors.

Competitors:
As mentioned, there is no one to one competitor but following are some of the closest competitors with fewer features.

Disc Players
* Marantz UD7007 - No audio only digital inputs
* Marantz SA8004 - No bluray video.
* Cambridge Audio - 752BD - No USB audio input. Exact same video board as the OPPO.

DACS with 32 bit ESS Sabre.
* Benchmark DAC2
* Wyred4Sound DAC-2
* Audiolab M-Dac

Implementation is key here. Having an ESS DAC is no guarantee that they will all sound great.

Pros:
* World class 32 bit DAC with built in clock and digital volume control.
* Can replace your receiver. Just hook it to your power amp directly.
* Bass management.
* Both balanced and unbalanced stereo analogue outs.
* Plays every disc format that is in production.
* Plays files on USB drives, UPNP and network storage devices.
* Fast startup time.
* Wifi remote control.
* Digital volume control - No tracking / channel imbalance issues like its analogue counterpart. According to ESS, the -135dB of the ESS Sabre DAC would need an exceptionally low noise analog volume control to beat its internal digital one.
* Universal voltage.

Cons: Takes away half point.
* Doesn't play Apple's ALAC and AIFF. AIFF - may not be an issue anymore. Check the latest update.
* Except for the power and eject buttons rest of the buttons on the front panel are soft touch buttons with no tactile feedback.
* No physical volume control. Problem for headphone users.
* Digital volume control - According to ESS, well designed analog volume controls can still beat even the very best internal digital volume controls if they have a lower noise floor than the DAC itself.
* Headphone output is not better than Benchmark. Volume maxes out on Senn.HD650
* Not really a con for a regular disc player but 105 can almost replace a receiver if it had the built in Audyssey room correction software.
* No wifi media control app like the 95.
* No DSD playback via USB. - may not be an issue. Check the latest update.
* Windows 8 USB driver issues.
* Hangs sometimes. Reboot fixes it luckily.

Sound Quality:
Two channel audio only. I'm not interested in the multi channel audio sound quality hence I woun't be commenting on it.

OPPO has 2 ESS 8 channel DACs. One DAC exclusively for the multi channel (7.1) out and the second DAC's channel are assigned as 2 channels to the LR RCA, 2 channels to LR XLR and remaining 4 channel stacked to the LR of the headphone out. From what I heard the ESS DAC chip alone costs about $50-60 where as most of the other DAC chips from BB, AKM, Wolfson, Cirrus Logic and AD etc cost less than $5-10.

I don't want to reinvent wheel here hence I would like to compare it to the Benchmark DAC-1 which has been extensively reviewed by professionals and audiophiles. Benchmark is a great American company that I very much respect and DAC-1 has been my reference for all things DAC for a long time.

Is it better than the 10 year old design of the Benchmark DAC-1? Not a whole lot but it is a bit different. I have changed all my components several times and never felt the need to change the DAC-1. 105 is musical and is forgiving in a good way but the ruthless DAC-1 being a professional gear, tells you like it is on your face whether you like it or not. Pick your poison.

Sound stage is wider than DAC-1. DAC-1 has a more forward vocal presentation and as expected, high end has a bit more sparkle. For everything else, you are really splitting hair. Can't really choose one over the other. Strictly as a DAC only, to be honest, if I had to choose between the two, I would give a very very slight preference to the Benchmark. But OPPO leaves Benchmark in the dust when it comes to features and price to performance ratio. Just for $200 more you are getting way more. No contest OPPO wins hands down!!

Audio out on RCA and Balanced XLR seems pretty close. XLR has higher gain and separate opamps/relays for the left and right channels as opposed one opamp/relay for the RCA out.

Two channel Bluray, HDCD and SACD sounded pretty good and OPPO had no issues playing any of these formats. I heard that OPPO is planning to add the DSD playback via USB with a future firmware update.

For those of you who with .VOB files, OPPO plays them with no issue be it locally or over the network.

UPDATE 5/03: Latest firmware 50-0422 comes with lots of new features namely
1. Added support for Direct Stream Digital (DSD) file playback from local storage. The DSD files can be either stereo or multi-channel. Both the DFF and the DSF formats are supported. NO DSD streaming support as of yet via USB Dac.
2. Added support for the AIFF audio format.
3. Added support for the ExFAT file system.
4. Added additional Crossover Frequency selections (50, 70, 130, 140 and 160Hz) in the "Setup Menu"->"Audio Processing"->"Crossover".

UPDATE 5/24:
Added support for a newly developed iOS application named "MediaControlHD" (https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/mediacontrolhd/id648243911). It is designed for iPad and iPad mini, and can be downloaded from the iOS App Store for free. It works with the BDP-103/5 installed with firmware 50-0422 and newer. Andrioid and iphone users are out of luck at the moment.

This is an awesome feature that enables you to remotely play the media content on USB drives attached to OPPO. Thanks OPPO.

TBCont ...
1212 comments| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
OPPO BDP-105 Universal Audiophile 3D Blu-ray Player

I have had this for well over a year now. It was already well reviewed at the time so there was little that I could add. I do want to briefly give my impression of it now after using it almost daily for so long.

It was purchased as an upgrade of an Oppo BDP 83. I am happy with this player in every way. I consider it a major upgrade over the BDP 83 as far as audio goes as well as in build quality. This things looks and feels solidly like a high-end piece of equipment.

The audio quality was so noticeably improved that I heard the difference immediately from the first few notes. I listen to a lot of multi-channel music and this device was simply made for it. Every channel gets treated to the same high quality conversion through it's DACs. I am even sending my TIVO output through the Oppo in order to take advantage of it's quality DACs and audio processing. Everything sounds better, even plain old TV. I ONLY use the analog outputs for all audio. This is the way to go for the best sound, there is no reason to use audio through the HDMI.

With it's multiple inputs this player can actually serve as a pre-amp. Simply output the audio direct to your amp(s) and select the input from the OPPO remote. OPPO's customer service is top notch. Any issues are dealt with professionally and quickly. Firmware updates to resolve any little bugs and make improvements are quite frequent. The only thing missing for me is Spotify support, but I'd bet it's coming soon

This was hands down one of my best purchases over the last few years. A rarely given five stars.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2013
Having tried both the BDP-95 and the BDP-105 in my own system for 2 hours + of critical listening, I prefer the sound of the 95. I was very surprised when I first listened to the 105. What I found was that the sound was less three-dimensional, and that the treble register (cymbals, guitars, violins) was a bit harder and harsher, but at the same time less detailed. The midrange of the 105 was also a little drier than the 95.

The other bad news is that the headphone amp did not sound great with either of my headphones (Beyerdynamic DT 770 Pro, Sennheiser HD-580). The 770s were no surprise, but I would have thought the 580's would have done pretty well. No luck.

One thing a lot of people don't know is that each of the two ES9018 SABRE DACs in the BDP-105 has 8 channels. In the BDP-95, ALL 8 channels of 1 DAC were used for the stereo outputs. In the BDP-105, they "stole" 6 of these DAC channels for other things: the headphone amp gets 4 channels, and the XLR output gets 2. Think about that-eight versus two channels of digital processing. That is a lot of processing power. Oppo tries to defend this on their wiki, in a way that really looks like they are making excuses. Here is what it says on the Oppo BDP-105 Hardware FAQ:
_______
Q: On the BDP-95 the ESS9018 DAC was stacked 4-DAC channels per stereo Left and Right outputs channel. How are they configured on the BDP-105?

A: In the BDP-105's stereo board design, the 4 pairs of DACs in the ESS9018 DAC are allocated as: 1 pair for the RCA outputs, 1 pair for the XLR outputs, and 2 pairs stacked for the headphone amplifier.

Q: Does the lack of non-4+4 DAC stacking affect the audio performance?

A: During the initial design stage, OPPO simply continued the BDP-95 approach by stacking 4 pairs of DAC for each Left and Right channel. However due to the complexity brought in by the newly added headphone amp and USB DAC, OPPO could not achieve an ideal PCB layout. The analog specifications became slightly worse than the BDP-95 in this 4 stacked configuration. OPPO's audio engineers and consultants analyzed the problem and made many experiments to further enhance the quality of the analog output stage of the BDP-105. In the end, they decided that the only way to ensure maximum performance was to separate the current-to-voltage conversion stages for each output path. This change enables us to have a much cleaner PCB layout which minimizes interference and crosstalk. It also eliminates the possibility of the load on one output path affecting the other paths. The drawback is that BDP-105 now loses the benefits of the thermal noise cancellation by stacking 4 DACs. The engineers were able to make up for that by designing an improved power supply, optimizing the filter and drive stages, and beefing up the power and ground paths."
_______

I'm not buying that argument. My ears tell me it does not hold up. (In case you want to know what the other DAC in the 105 does, it devotes one channel of processing to each of the surround sound outputs).

Having said all this, I should also say that I am a very tough customer. I have been an audiophile and musician for over 30 years, and have gone through many sets of speakers, amps, disc players etc., and have listened to many others. I stopped playing musical chairs with my speakers and amp 10 years ago (Krell KAV 300i amp and Martin Logan Aerius i speakers). I know my ears and I know my system.

If you can, I say go find a BDP-95. If you can't, try the 105. It is a very good sounding player. If I had not heard the BDP-95, I might give the 105 4 stars.
141141 comments| 90 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2012
I know of no other player that can compete at this price range and you have to spend more than 10K (Ayre, MSB technology) to better the sound. Regarding CD playback, this player holds its own with high end players costing several times more. My Wadia 861 is superior, but is was $6500 purchased in 2002! So, the Oppo is an amazing high end universal player and is the only one to purchase in this price range for sure. I have a system worth 220K and the Oppo is right at home here. Highly recommended.
3131 comments| 60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2012
I bought this player for its versatility. I've hooked it up in my home office with an extra Emotiva XPA-3 amp that I wasn't using and am using it to stream music from Pandora, listen to music on my computer (via the USB DAC port) and listen to CDs/SACDs. Space is limited in my office and with the Oppo, I don't need a receiver or pre-amp. I'm not even using it to watch Blu-Rays (I already have a BDP-93 for that).

The built-in headphone jack was also a big reason I got this player. I recently got a pair of Beyerdynamics DT 990 Pro headphones and they have never sounded better hooked to this unit (although the only other place I use them is hooked to my laptop, non-amplified)!

I love the build quality of the Oppos. One of the first things I noticed with the BDP-93 and now this one was the sound that it makes when you open the disc holder. It just sounds solid and well-built compared to the cheaper players I have/had.

The network features that I have used on it are also "rock-solid". I connected the network cable and did not have to mess with any other settings. I entered my Pandora information and it loaded within seconds. The upgrades to the firmware on this are also amazingly fast! The whole update process only took about a minute! I've had a Panasonic and LG and their updates can take 15 minutes or longer to download and install.

Eventually I would like to have a dedicated home theater room and will use the 105 as the main "media server" (that will have to wait for a bigger house). Until then, I am in audio bliss in my home office! :)
1111 comments| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2013
I bought the OPPO-105 so I could start playing high resolution digital music sources such as SACDs, DVD-Audio disks, downloadable DSD recordings and other downloadable high resolution sources (96k, 192k PCM, etc.). Plus I wanted to stop buying and storing CDs and I wanted to have all my digital music stored on the hard drive of a lap top that would become my high resolution digital music center. (I only listen to 2-channel stereo music on the system in my living room that the OPPO is hooked up to).

The OPPO-105 does everything I wanted and then some, and it sounds absolutely fantastic as an audiophile grade digital music source (and crazy as it may seem, I am not using any of its video capabilities-- I have a dedicated video system in another room and am thinking seriously about getting a second OPPO-105 for that to make use of the video capabilities). I have compared the sound of my older regular CDs on it to my older CD player, and every CD I've compared sounds far better on the OPPO than on my old Denon player. The sound is more open and has clearer, more precise imaging. Then I've been able to start listening to SACDs and downloadable 2.8mHz DSD files--and I am absolutely blown away!! The audiophile DAC of the OPPO-105 is amazing. I am now listening to as many 2.8mHz downloaded albums from Blue Coast Recordings and HDTracks as I can find. If you have never listened to music in 2.8 DSD-DSF format, especially recordings from Blue Coast, you have no idea what you are missing. To my ears it is the equivalent of going from watching TV on an old 36 inch CRT set, to watching on a 60"LED HDTV in 1080p. Yes-- its that amazingly better!! Whoever claimed there is no audible difference between PCM CDs and DSD recordings either never heard the two compared side-by-side or was deaf!! I spent 2 years doing research looking for ways to improve my audiophile-grade stereo system -- reading Stereophile magazine and numerous online publications and sources, going to audio shows, auditioning all types and prices of new gear (I listened to $100,000+ systems, $30,000+ speakers, $12,000 turntables, etc.) with the objective of making improvements to my system. And the bottomline is that by buying the $1199 OPPO-105 "digital music center" (I don't just call it a Universal Blue-Ray player-- its much more than that) and now being able to play downloaded 2.8 DSD recordings and good quality SACDs, I have advanced the sound quality of my system a hundred-fold. This was the best improvement and investment (talk about value!) I could have ever made.
33 comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2014
This universal player replaces a Pioneer Elite DV-45A. I had been using an outboard DAC with the Pioneer to try and improve its sound, but it only made a marginal improvement. As such, I did not believe I would hear much of a difference when I received the Oppo BDP-105.

But wow...what a difference! A lot of that cold, digital hardness is gone from CDs, and high-res sources sound sublime--smooth, non-fatiguing. The player is now resolving enough that I can easily hear the difference between high-resolution and CD-resolution sources. And the soundstage improvement is incredible--I've never heard a player throw such a nice, wide image between the speakers. Given the high quality of components inside this player, and the stellar sound, I see no reason to use an outboard DAC any longer; indeed, the DAC now pulls duty on lower-grade equipment now.

I cannot speak for video performance, as I rarely use it for video. This unit's usage is primarily in an all-audio two-channel system. What little I've tried in video seems to work well--streamed from my network storage (I do not use discs for video playback), 1080p video played back without any artifacts or interruptions.

While I probably own thousands of discs, the SACD titles are the only ones I will physically play anymore, unless there is a new CD I have not yet ripped. My usage is primarly for networked music playback, and in that regard it is working out very well. High-resolution files sound just as good as any DVD-Audio disc I've played. The Oppo Media Control app for phone or tablet has no problems with letting me choose and play back any of the files on my NAS box.

Physically, it is a nice looking player--a matte dark grey front, silver feet, and a chassis that is surprisingly heavy in this day and age of cheap imported mass-market players. The provided power cable is one complaint--it is very stiff and hard to route to a plug. Nice touch: rather than being wrapped in a sheet of foam, the player comes in a nice, soft carrying bag. In fact, it is just the right size to haul vinyl home from the record store. ;)

Time will only tell how this player will hold up in terms of reliability, but as of today, it simply sounds wonderful, and has played back everything I've thrown at it. And if anything, it proved to me how nasty sounding that Pioneer player is.

Highly recommended!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2013
Received the 105 from Music Direct yesterday, been playing with it maybe 20 hours now. Really amazing in audio, video, and functional uses - I'm kinda blown away.

I've owned the 95 since the it was first released and the 105 sounds and looks better when playing CDs, SACDs, Blu-Rays audio only, and Blu-Ray 2D and 3D features. Wow.

Beyond this the various digital inputs have been a revelation in comparing the same tracks in high-res ALACs via USB vrs. HDMI vrs. Toslink optical from an early 2011 MacBook Pro 17" vrs. the same tracks in physical SACDs and Red Book CDs.

Using high-end digital cables throughout much to my surprise the sound quality via HDMI (on the front of the machine) was a clear winner over the USB input. Using the Toslink optical input sounds like crap in comparison and I didn't try the Coaxial input.

After using a very decent sounding Apogee Duet DAC for computer audiophile via an A-sync USB input, what a surprise to hear such a leap in quality via the Oppo's chips and via an HDMI input whereas I'm coming out of the MacBook Pro by an Audioquest Thunderbolt to HDMI adapter, then into the Oppo 105.

The only scheme that smoked the HDMI computer setup was the physical disks; CDs, SACDs, etc.

For info I'm feeding solid silver XLRs from the Oppo 105 into a Krell Home Theater Standard 7.1 and eight (8) solid silver RCAs from the Oppo into the Krell for surround, using the Krell forever now going forward as only a good stereo and multi-channel analog Pre.

I'm really impressed with the many options inside the Apple MIDI setup too ranging from 8ch. 192/24 down to 2ch. 44.1/16 with 6ch. options along the way. Well done Oppo, super proud of you.

This machine is everything I'd hoped it would be and, yes a cliche, more.

Still coming up with ideas how to use the 105 to include outputting Final Cut Pro and Yamaha's Nuendo audio editing software into the Oppo to master 7.1 shorts and little music videos. My reference gear is in place all I have to do is run a 3 meter HDMI lead over to the Oppo, I think. Going to test that next.

UPDATE: HDMI out from a MOTU HDX-SDI into the Oppo's front HDMI input displays beautiful images on my 60" HDTV from Final Cut Pro 7 and passes on the 2ch. stereo audio like a champ as well. Will be trying next to output 7.1 from Nuendo audio software and into the Oppo next.

UPDATE TWO: It worked! Macbook Pro out Thunderbolt or Display Port adapted to HDMI (adapter by Audioquest, $15) then into the Oppo HDMI lets me hear 7.1 from my DAW (Final Cut Pro, Logic, Nuendo). I can route it through my Motu video processor first OR use any available Thunderbolt ports, ie. from the back of a Thunderbolt Display or Hitachi Thunderbolt G-Raid 8TB. Really cool to sit in my home theater and listen to (and watch) a full self-made movie with surround sound through the Oppo. I can't believe it. *The trick setup would be a new 15" MBP Retina or Mac Mini with their HDMI outputs, you wouldn't have adapt anything just a straight shot out the computer and into the Oppo for all things digital. - ENDS

I'm also running my AppleTV (1080p version) via HDMI into the back HDMI input of the Oppo and the picture looks great on Netflix, navigating the AppleTV menus remain fast, and Soma FM's Groove Salad internetbradio has never sounded better through the Oppo, true story. I keep reaching for remotes I don't need because now I only require one HDMI video input into my HDTV. All audio routes analog to the Krell HTS, one HDMI to the TV, the Oppo is the hub.

Really happy, God I love this stuff.

Mark

Ps, Only gripe thus far is I wish the Setup button placement on the revised Oppo remote control remained where it was.
66 comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 57 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.