Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: KAEZI 85 Watt Studio Light Bulb 5500K CFL Day Light
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 30, 2012
I picked up a set of these for my Linco Flora light and they arrived today. I hooked them up and did some test photos. Per the light meter in my camera (Sony a57), it reads about 6000K with 3 bare bulbs in a silver umbrella off of a whitecard, so a little cooler than the quoted 5500K. (For the record I tested some other "5500K" labeled bulbs and they also measured 6000-6100K, so it could be my camera itself)

As others have commented, these bulbs are rather large, so won't fit in most household fixtures that have any sort of harps or containers. If you're buying these for photographic use (their intended purpose), I think you will find them to be an affordable way to put a lot of light on your subjects. Given that they are coiled spirals and not spot lights, they really need some sort of umbrella or other cowling to redirect the lateral light forward.

They do put out a bit of heat after they have warmed up, so I would not leave them on more than necessary in an enclosed softbox. I let them cool off for about 5 minutes before putting them back in their styrofoam holders. Be sure to grip them by the base not the glass when inserting or removing them.

I will post a followup sometime after I've been able to use them in an actual shoot and see what the final images look like.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2014
Please watch my video review for a closer look...

As many other reviewers, I had one of the cowboystudio lighting kits. Unsatisfied with the lighting power of the 45 watt kit light bulbs, I decided to invest in one of these 85 watt bulbs. I was initially undecided about getting this ones or the 105 watt ones. Finally I decided to go with the 85 watt ones considering the good reviews and price. And I'm glad I did.

This light bulb provides a much brighter, powerful and clearer white light than the 45 watt option. The light is good enough that I can light up almost my entire basement with a single bulb. I am considering getting another one to use in my garage.

Here is my list of pros and cons:

Pros:
- Strong and powerful light.
- Bigger light. Has more reach.
- Very pure white.
- Good materials.
- The box that it comes in is very good and keeps the light bulb safe.

Cons:
- The light bulb is very big and might be difficult to use with some modifiers such as softboxes.
55 comments| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon January 31, 2015
I shoot classical guitar videos for my YouTube channel and use softboxes for diffusion. Diffusion materials absorb a lot of photons so a bright light source is essential. Hence, my purchase of the KAEZI 85 Watt CFL.

I installed the KAEZI in a Neewer Wired Studio Softbox and was blow away! First, this is the largest CFL I've laid eyes on, larger than my other 85 and 105W CFLs. Nevertheless, it fits fine in a medium sized 20" x 28" softbox. Second, it's nearly as bright as the midday sun! Used side by side with 85 CFLs from other vendors, it's noticeably brighter, even brighter than my 105W ProStudio CFLs. It's rated at 5500K and, indeed, the bare bulb is close to daylight temperature but leans to the cool side with a slight magenta tint. My cameras measure it at 5700 to 5800K. Colors are vivid and true.

I expected an 85 watt CFL to run hot but, strangely enough, runs cooler than the small CFLs I use around the house. The larger size is more efficient at dissipating heat than compact CFLs. After an all day session it cools down within 5 minutes and can be unscrewed and stowed. Among all the CFL I've tried from Neewer, ProStudio and a few others, the KAEZI is my favorite: bright, cool running and true to color and white balance.

UPDATE 5/16/2015: I ordered two more KAEZI 85 Watt CFLs and looks like the honeymoon is over. One bulb is marked "Kaezi 85W" on the base and is excellent as were my previous purchases. However the second one is marked "Top Lighting 85W" although the box says Kaezi. It isn't as good as the other Kaezi CFLs: cooler color temperature (6700K) and a strong green tint. So it doesn't match with the warmer and slightly magenta Kaezi CFLs I own. It looks similar but the base is a little larger. I'm picky about WB so my lights need to match. Either I'll sent it back or toss...
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2012
Have had it for 3 weeks, and done some shooting with it and it sure works, bulb doesn't throw a lot of heat but just be prepared to receive a Huge bulb! Works in any regular socket though!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2012
I've found that I need to use 2 of these on a Y-adapter. But the 2 in a silver umbrella give a sweet bright light. These are absolutely the best bang for the buck!!!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2012
This is a great studio bulb. Make sure you know how much light you need or you may opt for 105w or 45w. I use this bulb with my reflective umbrellas so you will have no issues screwing this bulb into to socket. It is not really for home use but if you will need to look at the base to make sure it will fit in the socket. My umbrella stem touches the bulb but it is not hot. Good lighting for photos!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2012
This light has exceeded my expectations. I purchased a pair of these to use in my car garage. I do a lot of hobby work in the garage and really like good lighting. I have been using 250 Watt incandescent bulbs which have worked well but they do get hot and use a lot of energy. When my old bulbs burned out, I decided it was time to upgrade. For 1/3 of the energy used, these new CFL bulbs seem to put out even more light than my old ones. I researched high wattage CFL on the internet and learned that bulbs with the same rating (85 Watt) do not put out the same light output (lumens). The KAEZI 85 Watt Studio Light Bulb 5500K CFL Day Light was the top rated (lumens efficiency) I could find. After installing them, I am more than happy...
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2015
"Watt for watt" way brighter than the Cowboy Studio bulbs.

I thought these bulbs were the same as the ones from Cowboy studio with just a different stamp on them- but they appear to be different/brighter.

Although the exact brightness varies from batch to batch- comparing the same "wattage" bulbs of a KAEZI bulb to a Cowboy Studio bulb, the KAEZI bulbs are brighter (using a light meter, and/or your eyeballs).
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2015
great for photos & video which is what I use mine for.
I have had my 2 bulbs for several years now.
It is bright and it cools down quickly after I turn it off.
Also the low price is really great for how good these are!!

I will be buying more of these bulbs again

UPDATE JAN 20 2016

i have upgraded to a 2 socket per stand light set up so I am buying 2 more today
my 2 that I got a few years back are still working great and bright :)
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2015
These are good (I bought four of them). I haven't had any problems with them, and I am really happy with them. They are good for studio and outdoor, video or stills. I'm going to buy two 135w from this same company. The light (using two sets of two) create a very clean light, much like the "ring" light systems. At three or four feet, on a sunny day, in the open shade, they give a very clean fill light for video or stills. I was looking for a inexpensive video lighting system that would be portable for around the house and property (where I could run a 100 or 200 foot cord), so these fit the bill, and they have lower power draw and don't throw off allot of heat. These light bulbs, with the LimoStudio Photography Studio Double Head Swivel AC Light Holder with Lighting Umbrella Holder, AGG735, are a good combo, And I was only out $80 total for everything listed here ($40 more for third set that I will purchase). So what. If that's all the light you need, look no further. Serious, these give off a very nice and clean light. By the way, I'm first above 6,600 other photographers in the world, in the "Food and Drink" category, for 2014, on Pixoto.com. So I know a little about lighting.....:)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 15 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.