Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon King Bose SoundLink AE All-New Amazon Fire TV Luxury Beauty Valentine's Day Cards Create an Amazon Wedding Registry Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Shop Now SnS



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 6, 2013
I specifically ordered this PC from Amazon / TigerDirect because the description stated (in multiple places) that it comes loaded with Windows 7. After receiving it, hooking it up and booting it, I discovered that it now comes with Windows 8. I'm not going to the trouble of packing it back up and returning it, but I am VERY unhappy at this misleading advertising. As of 4/6/2013 the Amazon description still states that is comes with Windows 7, but I did notify TigerDirect of this and hope this is corrected soon. If the description is updated, the title of my review will look silly, but until then I hope this serves as a warning to those who may be specifically looking for a Windows 7 PC.

That said, overall the computer is quite good. It is very small and compact, which is nice. The CD drawer is on its side since the tower is so narrow. It boots up very quickly and set up was straight forward. Too bad it no longer comes with Windows 7.
55 comments42 of 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2013
Unpacked my new Gateway Computer in anticipation of having some sort of problem, but the installation went beautiful. Plugged it in, booted it up, and onward from there. WIN 8 I was concerned about, since having used VISTA for 5 yrs, but what a nice smooth responsive operating system. Took about an hour to get use to it. I'm sold on WIN 8 and Gateway...
44 comments43 of 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2013
I'm sure this is a great machine... if you're lucky enough to get one that turns on. I took it out of the box, hooked it up, hit the power button ... and .... nothing. 3 hours later, after rapidly acquiring gray hairs with gateway customer service and searching tech nerd forums online, I'm relieved to find it's nothing too complicated, it's just a #@$%ing dud.

Wait, there's more..

After giving the customer service rep the serial number, he finds that my computer was originally bought in February (I purchased in Aug, 3 days ago). Is that the record of Amazon's purchase, or evidence that I purchased someone else's refurbished junk? The tech says we get good deals on these here because many are refurbished, but who knows if he's pulling the CYA for the Gateway man? I wondered why Amazon had such a good price on this (<--- a sucker's dying words). I'm sure it's in the fine print somewhere, but amazon should be upfront if they are indeed selling used machines. I've never written a review before, but if you can't tell by the snarkiness, I'm worked up.
55 comments46 of 53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2013
I purchased this to replace a Windows Vista (high end at the time) PC. My goal was to use this as an office machine (Word, Excel, TurboTax, email, pay bills) as well as a media center PC for the bedroom this PC resides in. My first hurdle was learning the new Win 8 interface and then streamlining the machine. I soon discovered the easiest way to navigate Win 8 was to click on the lower left tile which gives you the "desktop" and then using the machine looks like all other versions. Hitting the "Windows Key" returns you to the tile screen.
I noticed they put a trial version of Norton on the PC and I soon discovered that Windows Defender (including virus ware) was built in to Win 8 but disabled when Gateway installed Norton. If you Google uninstalling Norton, their website has an uninstaller that allows this to be uninstalled and then using Control Panel, you can start up Defender (which gives free updates forever (?).
For those interested in comparing the performance of this machine with their current machine, the processor performance=6.7, Memory=5.9, Graphics=4.2, Gaming Graphics=5.6, and Hard Disk=5.9. It knocked the socks off my old machine!
I currently am using the VGA port on my Samsung Flat Screen monitor and the HDMI port on a Vizio 47" flat screen TV for the media center. For media, I am running XBMC which I also have on an Apple TV2. BTW, I used to think the Apple TV2 was fast, but this blows the Apple away!
I would have given this 5 stars except for the fact that there is some "crapware" that the user may want to remove as well as I don't think the packaging was secure enough for UPS. Packaging was essentially a box floating within a box with no bubble wrap or cushions.
Additional info: there are 6 usb2 ports on the back and 2 on the front. Both keyboard and mouse are usb (using two of the rear usb slots. There also is a conventional mouse port as well as a conventional keyboard port so if you didn't want to use the two usb ports and you had old mouse and keyboard, that is doable. There is a sound out port if using the VGA video and the sound is superimposed on the HDMI if using a flat panel screen or 6 channel sound system.
I discovered that my Windows Office 2000 does NOT work on this 64 bit machine (thank you Microsoft) so I downloaded Apache Open Office which is freeware that does pretty much what Office does "for free" (including reading/writing) my old documents!
Using Kill-a-watt, this PC uses a minimum of 29 watts running and a maximum of 50 watts when really busy. Boot-up time is about 30 seconds from a complete shutdown.

UPDATE: 11/20/13 -- I just updated the Windows 8 OS to Windows 8.1 and now startup and shutdown are considerably SLOWER. I don't see ANY positive attributes. This is not a mandatory "upgrade", so my suggestion is DON'T! The other thing I noticed is the Windows Experience Index (WEI)which measures the performance of your PC is no longer part of the OS (as a runnable program). I hope there is an upgrade path to Windows 7. I hope Microsoft wakes up soon.
11 comment13 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2013
What a surprise! The family has gone through 6 PC's starting in the 80's. I wanted to replace my 12 year old Dell Inspiron which gave great service, but finally gave up the ghost. Anyway this was a compromise because I still enjoy a desktop and I did not want to spent big dollars for goodies I would never use.

This Gateway is fast, good quality, good features and great workmanship. I am happy with this unit and would recommend for all general users. Not a big time game machine or video editing box, but perfect for 99% of what we use a computer for.
0Comment23 of 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2013
This is exactly what I was looking for....excellent price, nice size, does what I need without having to spend a bundle
0Comment24 of 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2012
Small, quiet and fast. Setup was simple and ran perfectly out of the box. Not a gamer. But it is a great little tower for general home use.
11 comment14 of 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2013
Gateway makes a great product in this computer which is very easy to setup and get started.. expandable and small enough to save space.. Love It...
0Comment11 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2013
I've ordered 2 different computers from Amazon within recent weeks, and this was one of them. Both were advertised as having a Windows 7 operating system, but instead I received Windows 8. I can understand one order being wrong, but for two of them to be advertised incorrectly really ticked me off. I am a very disappointed customer.
11 comment15 of 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2013
Recieved the item no problem. I have ordered Windows 7 specificly. When I turned on the computer, Its Windows 8.
0Comment9 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 60 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.