Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 17, 2012
This device does work with the Galaxy Tab 7.0 PLUS.

When Samsung says it will not work with the Galaxy Tab 7.0, they are referring to the original version of the 7 inch tablet, but the 7.0 PLUS, which is the current version of the tablet [see the update below, the "PLUS" is no longer the newest version], has the same 30 pin connector as the 10 inch Galaxy Tab and the same accessories work with both. I own the 7.0 Plus and can verify the HDMI adapter does work with my tablet. The contents of the tablet screen is displayed on my HDTV.

It comes with a small instruction pamphlet which says that you need to plug in your power cord to the device. I might not have noticed that step, but thanks to the other reviews here I was well aware that it was necessary. You plug in your power cord, the one that came with your tablet, into this device and then plug this device into your tablet.

The pricing on this item seems really odd and fluctuates wildly. Sometimes there is a big discount here on Amazon, and sometimes the price on Amazon is much higher than the full retail price charged on the Samsung website.

[UPDATE - PER THE COMMENTS ATTACHED TO THIS REVIEW: This device WILL work with the new Galaxy Tab 2 10" tablet but WILL NOT work with the new Galaxy Tab 2 7" tablet.]
1414 comments| 70 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2012
I have the Galaxy Tab 2 10.1 and was very nervous to purchase this product since a lot of the reviews say this doesn't work with the Galaxy Tab 2 10.1. There were very few that said it DID work with the model I have. After debating for days, I decided to just order it and if it didn't work I would return it. The HDTV adapter came very fast. Easy to install and it works perfectly!! I was VERY impressed and super happy that it worked. The picture and sound are great. I also love that it charges the device while plugged in and streaming.
44 comments| 89 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2011
Bought this for my Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1 LTE model.

I was a bit confused when I first hooked the adapter up without the galaxy tablets power adapter and it didn't work. Once I realized that you had to plug in both the power/charging adadpter AND the HDMI cable into the adapter, it worked flawlessly.

I was able to play back anything displayed on the tablet screen to the TV and it looked pretty good.

I gave it 4 stars because besides warrenty information, there was nothing included in the box to tell you how to hook it up. I would have thought it was pretty straight forward to hook up, but it was not obvious to me that I needed to plug up the charging adapter. I looked at youtube videos and noticed someone else had it hooked up.
11 comment| 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2012
I have been through 8 tablets in the last 3 years.
This adapter is the only way to use a Galaxy Note 10.1 to our Samsung plasma that I know of for 100% quality.Sure you can use DLNA wireless, but it is not the way to go overall, but better then nothing.
I will say that using this adapter works perfectly.

PROS:* Shows 1080p content with perfect frame speed,tone, natural color and voice to lips synchronization.

CONS:* It does require hooking your tablet charger to this HDMI adapter to function. With that said, I believe it also keeps the tablet charging during the process.

I have other tablets that have HDMI ports and are less cumbersome to attachment to the plasma. With that said, the picture quality for both my Asus and Elocity tablets don't come close to matching the Sammy Note 10.1 for quality video transfer.
As always, I will update with any changes in my experiences with this product.
66 comments| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2012
With my Galaxy Note 10.1:
I tested this on a Samsung 24" Monitor using the headphone jack for sound.

I also tested this on Sony 60" LED TV using HDMI for both Video and sound.

One issue was a missing 10-20 pixels at the top of the screen. Did Not interfere with accessing onscreen controls. Noticed missing pixels mentioned above in homescreens and non-fullscreen Apps

Tested these Apps in fullscreen: Netflix, TED, YouTube -
1. Quality was 1080p HD as reported by my Sony TV. Visually sharp, though not as sharp as my Dell X8300
2. Did not notice missing top pixels in fullscreen mode
3. TV and Monitor went to full screen while the Note 10.1 kept it's screen on the tablet w/controls depending upon the App

Except in fullscreen mode the Galaxy Note 10.1 translated the 1280x800 image onto 1920x1080 with left and right black borders and the missing top pixels noted above.

I don't often play games so I didn't test any.

Also, for the Note 10.1: Screen rotation locked off with this adapter plugged in. I did not miss this feature at all.

I have wireless HDMI transceivers and look forward to using the S Pen with the drawing Apps on the large monitor and TV displays.

I'm very satisfied with this HDTV adapter. Of course YMMV depending upon what Samsung you used this with.

Aloha.. Al
22 comments| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2011
Yes, I had a LOT of trouble to even find this particular item. The other similar composite AV cords I saw on Amazon all said that those red/yellow-colored cords will fail to work with this 10.1" Galaxy Tab. I had been very worried as there were no reviews yet available for this product to verify if it even matches. However, now that I received it, I'm certain it works okay now I that I tested it.

The only other way to avoid this problem is to buy a different tablet altogether that has this HDMI port already included. Toshiba Thrive, for example, thoughtfully included the HDMI port so that you don't need to hunt down one like for this Samsung Galaxy Tab. But, if you still want this Galaxy, and want HDMI port for TV output, this item works okay.
55 comments| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2013
I recently bought the Galaxy Tab 2 10.1 tablet and wanted to mirror the tablet on a HDTV using HDMI. I did a lot of research and there were a lot of confusing information on the web. Most sites only sell the adapter for the original Tab 10.1(first generation) and lots of people claim there is no adapter for the Tab 2. At the end, I decided to give this a shot, as both the Samsung website and lots of web reviews indicated that this adapter indeed works with Tab 2 10.1, specifically with the model # GT-P5113.

I'm glad that I tried it as this adapter works like a charm! Mirroring works perfectly. I just plugged in the power onto the adapter, and connected the adapter to the TV and off it goes. I unplugged and plugged it back in multiple times and it detected and mirrored everything perfectly. Audio is also working properly via the HDMI cable! As other reviewers mentioned, the power cord must be plugged into the adapter in order for it to work.

Again, if you have the Tab 2 10.1 model GT-P5113, you should really give this a try. It works really well.

For what is worth, I tried it on two different TVs (RCA and Mitsubishi) and it worked on both.

The adapter is kinda pricey but I don't think there is any more affordable alternatives.

Good luck.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2012
This item did exactly what I had hoped. It output my tab (10.1) display to the hdtv at the beach house where we were staying, and let me charge the tab at the same time - perfect! The picture quality was great, framerate on some movies was subpar (but that's likely the tab's fault, not the adapter), and it requires absolutely no setup.

I did find that to get the hdtv to recognize the device, I had to connect things in the following order:

1) Plug my tab charger into the wall, then into this adapter,
2) Plug the hdmi cable into the hdtv & this adapter,
3) THEN plug this adapter into my tab.

Otherwise it was hit-or-miss whether or not the tv was going to see my tab at all. When I did it in that order though, it worked every time.
11 comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2012
I received this product for Christmas, and it didn't work. I tried it on 3 different Samsung 10.1 tablets, 4 different HDMI cables, 2 different HDTVs, and a total of 6 different HDMI ports. It always would drop signal every 30 seconds or so.

I spent hours on the phone with Samsung and got 7 different " possible problems", but ZERO solutions. Samsung phone support was useless, they didn't know or couldn't do anything. The Level 2 techs are never available, and when you finally do get them they tell you they will call you back and never do. When you corner someone, they finally admit "We don't actually make this part, a 3rd party does and we don't have any support for it" "We can't fix it, we can't send you another one either because we don't have any, and there is no one I can transfer you to that could help."

I was forced to return it.
11 comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2011
This is exactly what I needed. Now my toddler can watch clear videos on the big screen TVs.
the picture is clear.
One thing need to notice is: if you use video players other than the tablet's default video player, it might be choppy every few seconds. I used my favorite android player - RealPlayer. I found when you play HD videos (1280x800). the screen goes black every few seconds.

I bought this item from expansys-usa when Amazon has this item out of stock and some greedy Amazon seller was selling this for $94+ . I got this adapter for only about $33.

Now, the Amazon's price has this item restocked and the price is in-line with Samsung's listed price. still it is a little expensive. I always thought Amazon's price is competitive to other online stores, but why not this item!
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 93 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.