Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: SoYoung Charlie Diaper Bag, Khaki-Green
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Price:$174.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 31, 2012
As all new mothers, I searched a long time before buying my 2nd diaper bag as the 1st one wasn't working out. (my first one was a lower priced skiphop bag)

I bought this bag, although the price was above my budget, because of the large insulation pocket. I recently took this bag out on a day trip and couldn't believe what fitted in there.
In the insulated pocket I had, one 8oz Dr Brown bottle (fits standing up), sippy cup, 2 x 4oz containers with food and one banana + spoons. In the main compartment I had her back up outfit, 5 diapers, wipes, stuffed animal, hoodie, formula dispenser, sunhat, pacifier, bibs. In the mommy pocket, my credit card wallet, 2 sunscreen bottles, cell phone, sunglasses. Through the large item pocket I had a folded receiver blanket.

So yes it does fit a lot and the bag looks very compact, with all of this in there I still had great oversight. The clear pockets in the main compartment and the contrast lining work very well.

Also, my husband doesn't mind carrying this bag at all, that was important to us.

Why not 5 stars, the side pockets with insulation are very small, they fit a small sippy cup well (without the handles) but not very good for a bottle, they aren't high enough.
The smart phone pocket is not wide enough for an iphone and the sunglass pocket is rather small too, my sunglasses don't fit easily. But that is not the reason why I bought the bag, although since it is in there it would be nice to be able to use it. The main reason for the 4 stars is that the shoulder strap is not padded, it would be nice to have little bit of padding on the shoulder strap especially because the bag does carry a lot of items.

Overall, a great bag, worth the money I believe.
(other options considered : babymel messenger diaper bag, oioi man diaper bag and landsend)
11 comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2013
I love this diaper bag so much - it must have been designed by a mama (or savvy papa) Here is my long list of loves:

-great style: doesn't look like a traditional diaper bag
-lots of great pockets, inside and out, that are easy to open/close
-insulated pockets for bottles/snacks
-easy to wipe out the inside (waterproof type fabric on inside)
-converts easily between messenger, purse and backpack style (huge plus as I go back to work soon and will use it as a backpack when I ride my bike to work and because it looks like a tote and not a silly diaper bag, it will be great for work and travel)
-good size - bigger than a regular purse (it has to be to fit all my babe's things) but not so big that it looks silly

So glad I invested in this bag - I was dreading buying a diaper bag and I still can't believe how much I love this one!
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2014
I was really hoping I would love this bag, but it is not the one for me, personally. I do think this could make a great bag for many people.

Pros:
- Lots of thought into the pockets- I LOVE the magnetic closure pocket on the outside!
- 3 big pockets for organizing: Parent pocket (love the sunglass holder), baby pocket, and cooler pocker (also love!) This is just a great idea to stay organized!
- Multiple carrying options

Cons (for me):
- The bag is heavy. I really prefer a lighter diaper bag. This is not crazy heavy, but I like a very lightweight one. Once it was full, I really hated carrying it
- The mommy pocket is too big for me and the baby pocket is too small. I really just want a spot for my wallet and sunglasses. I would have to put baby items in the mommy pocket to fit all my things, which defeated the organization for me.
- Awkward to open when in backpack option. Unlike others, I found the backpack option easy to carry, but opening the compartments was awkward with the backpack strap attached
- The shape of the bag is kind of square. I thought it looked strange carried messenger style because of this.
- The zippers were a little hard to open. They aren't terrible, but I am someone who would rather not zip if there is any hinderance. Then, my bag is hanging open.

Overall, it is a really nice bag. It just didn't work out for me. I wish it had as I really loved many of the features of this bag, which aren't found anywhere else. Despite all the cons, I would have kept the bag if it were lighter.

Want to know what I ended up keeping? The Lesportsac Ryan diaper bag- large, lightweight, but without all the great pockets and options this one has. There was no perfect bag for me!

Just an FYI, the khaki color does have a slight green color to it. It looks a little army style. I would have tried the slate if I were going to keep it
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2014
I looooooooove this diaper bag. My stuff is so organized I can hardly stand it. I don't know why people have complained about the sunglasses pocket not being big enough. Are they wearing those giant clown sunglasses? I can fit both my aviators and my husband's Oakleys in there at the same time. And the cooler pocket is plenty big enough to hold lunch for an adult and a baby.

Anyway. Only 3 stars because the insulation layer in one of the water bottle pockets has torn all the way across already. I've had the bag less than a month and haven't used the water bottle pockets much, so there hasn't been a lot of wear and tear. I guess I'll try duct tape!
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2016
Great bag, not to big, not to small. Liquid proof on the inside. I like have the backpack option as well. Great bag for baby stuff, and looks nice. Holds plenty of items for a full day or even two of activities.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2014
I LOVE this bag! It has many more pockets and storage areas than the picture shows. The front flap (as seen in the product picture) has a magnetic closure and is perfect for my phone and keys. There is also another storage pocket between this front one and the bag. There is a zipper section that can hold your personal things (with a magnetic pocket for your sunglasses - and I have BIG sunglasses that fit - a zipper pocket for lip gloss, etc., a bigger area for your wallet and plenty for those other "items" that seem to find their way into a woman's bag). There is the actual baby storage area that is easily organized AND there is a hard interior flap that folds down to the bottom and holds the bag's shape; I have a pocket for diapers, the changing pad rolls up and fits nicely in the corner, my wipes container fits nicely and there is room for extra outfits. There are two mesh pockets (fits baby's sunglasses, pacifiers, etc.) and two clear plastic pockets. There is a big zipper pocket that is advertised to hold a laptop (fits my MacBook Pro very well) and there is a pass-through pocket on the very back that can hold a blanket and whatnot. The shoulder straps work well and the cross-body messenger strap works if you like that style. I have not tried it as a backpack yet, but I do like the stroller straps.

I had a Diaper Dude bag previously (I wanted something "manly" for my hubby and my baby boy) and while it is perfectly acceptable and holds what is needed, I am so happy with this SoYoung Charlie bag. I LOVE IT!!
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2013
I really like this bag: it looks like an everyday bag, super cute and fits a lot of stuff. The only thing that is difficult is its weight. It is a little heavy for my shoulders and my shoulders are quite tired at the end of the day. The double zipper is a little inconvenient when I only have one hand, meaning it is a little difficult to zip both at the same time. But it seems to be getting easier over time - I think the more you wear through it, the easier the zipper becomes. Despite these minor difficulties, I am very happy with it! and I would recommend it to my friends and family!
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2013
Yes the price for this bag is high for a diaper bag, that is a fact. But like everything else, you get what you pay. One key feature is that you have multiple ways to carry this bag including a stroller strap. The material is strong and easy to clean inside.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2013
I spent quite a bit of time looking for the right diaper bag. I considered some of the designer bags (Kate Spade, Prada, etc) and also some mid-grade like Mia Bossy, Pottery Barn, and Skip Hop. However, I realized I wanted my husband to feel just as comfortable with the bag as I did and I wanted to be able to use it after it's diaper hauling duties were over. So I let him pick something out.

He quickly found the SoYoung Charlie bag on Amazon. We've used the bag for the past few months and really like it. Here's the pro and con list.

Pros:
-There is a LOT of storage space, but the bag itself is not huge. The structure of the bag keeps it contained, but there are lots of different compartments to stash stuff. It's also well constructed and the materials are high-quality.
-Lots of laminated surface for cleanability. Even the bottom has a laminated covering.
-They seemed to think of everything. When it first arrived, I had to consult the insert to figure out what all the options were for. While I don't use many of these options (for example, the two stroller straps I don't use bc my stroller has lots of bottom storage), they really thought through this stuff. Fits a laptop? Converts to a backpack? These are awesome features when you need them.
-Unisex design. I didn't think I'd like the design as much as I do, but the neutral canvas and the interior design have grown on me. So much so I ordered a changing pad replacement (see next bullet)
-Customer Service - we lost the diaper changing pad the first few weeks, and were so disappointed. We loved the design. We found the SoYoung site and ordered two new changing pads and they shipped the same day! Awesome.

Cons:
-Just having an insulated zippered section is a pro; however, it's not at all expandable and has no width. If it could have expanded out just a few inches I could have stood up my bottles and fit several more. But since it doesn't - everything has to lay on it's side to fit, which isn't ideal for bottles that seem to always leak a little bit.
-I agree with the previous reviewer, the insulated side sections for drinks are again nice to have, but could have been designed better. Really, a standard small water bottle will barely fit and it's not high enough for the insulation to really do anything.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2013
I bought this because I saw a video review that made it seem like a great product. Unfortunately, when I received it I felt like the material was fairly cheap on the outside. I returned it because I would prefer something more durable.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.