Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 24, 2013
It has 5 gigabit ports that can power most Ubiquiti gear (any that runs on 24 volts). These use passive, non-standard PoE, so be sure you know what you are buying. These get quite hot when several devices are being powered through them; moreso than any standard PoE switch I've used.

I bought two of these to replace a rats nest of separate injectors, cables, additional switches, and power bars. One of the switches works perfectly, but I've had trouble with the other. On two occasions I have needed to unplug the switches to rearrange the networking gear in my garage. On both occasions, the troublesome switch booted up but was unable to pass any data through the main 5 ports. I could access the web interface through the management port only. The solution on both occasions was to unplug the switch for a few hours and plug it back in when it had cooled off. Once it starts working, it doesn't stop working unless I power cycle it while hot.

Anyway, I've been running them for several months now and have had no performance issues besides that which I mentioned above. All in all, these are nice switches to have if you need to power a lot of Ubiquiti devices in one place.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2014
We have bought $$$$ thousands of dollars of ubiquity devices, and this item was the 1st "POE Switch" from them. It has been well documented on their own web site (wiki site posting) that this product has several serious design problems.

We do detailed testing of products before we accept them as good. This device was up and running with no problems for a day or 2 and then we did a power loss test. RESULTS: device freezes and locks up every time. No way to recover, Must reset and setup all over again. Cannot login to device.

We returned it for a refund and bought a MicroTik RB260GSP that does EXCATLY THE SAME with SAME SPECS AND SAME PERFORMANCE for 1/2 the cost. Works great with Ubiquity POE devices and we are very happy with this MicroTik product.
55 comments| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2014
I like the Ubiquiti gear, solid equipment at a decent price point.
Pros:
Easy to program
Good Web interface
VLAN capability
Port security
ssh access
12v PoE
Cons:
5 ports/ 6 if using management port (Pro has 8)
Not 802.3af compliant, i.e. not ~48v
33 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2013
Excellent product, utilized to replace a amateur setup in a large clients home. Unit is providing ethernet and power to 4 uniQ WAPS said clients home and I have had no issues going on 6 months. Incredibly easy to setup for this "IT professional" (I got the 20 year old certs to prove it -:\ ). Would purchase again if faced with a similar job. 5 stars.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2014
Perfect switch for the UniFi PoE APs. I picked this up with a three pack of their basic APs, and the church in which I installed them loves the fact that there is no need for outlets where they wished to hang the APs. Just be sure you know how to configure a static IP on your NIC, because you'll have to do that to do the initial setup on this switch. Word to the wise; give this switch room to breath. She felt a little warm stuffed in a tiny area with other equipment sitting on top of it. Mount it off to the side on its own and it should stay plenty cool. Been running a few months now without issue. Definitely recommend it!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2013
Just pulling it out of the package you can tell the switch is built to last. It feels expensive, but it's Ubiquiti! You get quality for cheap. Have not had any issues with this switch. Love the web interface!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2013
I am a partner in a medium-sized communications company, and we have purchased over $30k in Ubiquiti products this year. We have not had ONE failure, or ONE instance where something didn't perform as expected. This product is no exception. Purchase with confidence. Be aware that this product provides POE for Ubiquiti devices ONLY (24V not 48).
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2015
This switch seems to be very well made. I have been happy with other products from Ubiquiti. The only reason I gave it four stars is that I bought it for use with a Ubiquiti PRO access point but this switch only puts out 24 V for the Power-over-Ethernet (POE). The PRO version of Ubiquiti's access points require 48 V. So I had to return this unit and order the PRO version. I am docking it one star because it would be nice if Amazon/Ubiquiti would include more information in the description to make it clear which version of ToughSwitch works with which version of the AP's.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2014
It does the job if you're rolling out a Ubiquiti system and want to use PoE without having to have multiple in-line power injectors. However, the idea of needing a separate switch to PoE just for these devices sours me a bit, considering that I have multiple PoE switches already deployed in my network. This was still the less expensive option than buying the UniFi devices designed for use with Cisco PoE switches.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2016
A bit of a pain to set up but working as intended so far, I'm using it with 4 Ubiquiti Access Points.

Note: running the Ubiquiti access points through this switch disables the lighting feature of the access points where they turn green when they work fine and turn purple or amber when not functioning properly, I suspect because the powering of the access points is done through the switch rather than their own individual bricks so the lighting is always green even when you are definitely disconnected from the network.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 27 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.