Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Off to College Essentials Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 22, 2014
I have had the camera about three days now, and was having an issue with losing a connection after about an hour after power-up. Would always return after a reset. On the weekend I spent time locating and installing FOSCAM's most recent Firmware, and it appears the Firmware update has resolved the loss of connection problem I was having. Also, I had a issue with not getting a video image when starting up the "IP Camera Config" application. This was in IE 11, and found if I added the website "http://192.168.1.##:port#/" to the Compatibility view (i.e. IE11 => Tools => Compatibility View Settings => Add this website) then I would get the video. Hopefully, this information will assist new owners of the FI9805E camera. The HD video is amazing, but definitely a bandwidth hog. Picture snapshots are about 200k, and the MP4 captured video's are beautiful. I now have 4 FOSCAM camera's (2 FI8805E, 1 FI8910w, and now 1 FI9805E). The first three camera's are a little over a year old and are working flawlessly.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2014
First, I just wanted to say these camera have great resolution, and easy to set up. But, there support is down right terrible. If you are are looking for audio along with your security camera, DO NOT buy this brand/model. None of the products I bought(and returned) just to get audio were compatible with their audio port.

When I called Foscam for support,, only thing they did was is remote into my machine checked the settings, then tell you need extra hardware. I do not mind buying extra devices but Foscam rep never sent me the links to the cable/speakers that are compatible. Great camera for video only, crappy customer service.
22 comments| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2014
I've had this camera since mid December this year and just now got around to installing. I use Blue Iris to manage this camera, so I don't really care about the cameras integrated feature set due to being ONVIF compatible.

First impressions in comparison to my other cameras, this thing is physically big, so check the dimensions and make sure this thing is for you. Also the cord splits into about a half dozen connectors and a reset button. Of all the ethernet is the largest, it took a 1" hole and some work with a hacksaw blade (notching out a corner) to get the connectors inside my garage.

So far this camera has performed outstanding at night, but there's one problem with the IR-cut, it's apparently stuck in position so everything is purple during the day, but IR-mode and LEDS work as expected at night. I'll attach a picture for reference. Also I've contacted FOSCAM regarding this issue and will augment this review based upon how they handle this situation.

EDIT: 2015-01-21

Received a replacement from FOSCAM yesterday, it appeared to be a new unit. After installing it in the old ones place, the daytime image appeared as expected (no more stuck IR-cut). At least that's what I though.. When it got dark out it was apparent something was wrong, after toggling the day/night mode it was apparent that the IR-cut on this camera is stuck in day mode. I have contacted FOSCAM support regarding the second camera I'll keep you posted on updates.

EDIT: 2015-01-31

FOSCAM sent a pre-paid label to ship the second defective FI9805E back, and its replacement just arrived today. Unfortunately they sent an FI8905E (vs FI9805E) which is a major difference. I have contacted support regarding this issue and I'll continue to post updates.

EDIT: 2015-02-06

FOSCAM sent a new FI9805EP, after installing this last night (2015-02-05) it appears that everything is working as expected. It took a few firmware updates to get things current but this is typical and not a 'negative', though for non-advanced users I would say that it might be a challenge. FOSCAM hasn't mentioned returning the FI8905E yet, but I don't think these old ones are worth the shipping assuming they are only 640 x 480 resolution, but they do have impressive IR range which may make it a decent spot camera/IR illumination.

SUMMARY:

Four cameras and four weeks later I now have an equivalent and functioning replacement, FOSCAM support is fairly prompt and communication is significantly better than other RMA procedures. As the status quo goes like more places the first RMA is your cost on shipping, everything after the second camera was free shipping. A summary of the units received: replacement #1 defective IR cut, replacement #2 incorrect model, replacement #3 was a valid/functional replacement.

I may have been pretty forgiving through this whole process but with ~$160 on the line a guy has to remain civil. The incorrect model on replacement #2 which wasn't asked to be returned is being accepted by me as a valid peace offering assuming I had to make a 30 mile round trip into town several times returning cameras. I'm hoping the current camera (replacement #3) remains functional. This type of support is something that should be commended and imitated by almost any distributor/manufacturer, despite some product issue(s) and a happy clerical error I would consider this a open/closed case.

I will say that there may be an issue with the IR-cut on this model, though there may be several contributing factors considering it's the only mechanical mechanism in this device 1) shipping cross country, on gravel roads 2) temperature differential, after receiving the camera(s) the were deployed into low temps (within spec) after being indoors 3) this is probably the harshest environment that's within spec for this camera, if it lives past 3 years I'll be impressed.

Thanks FOSCAM support, hope this is useful to other amazon(ers).
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2013
I have had this camera for 2 weeks now. Its mounted outside in -10 to -20 temperatures without any issues.
The settings do require some technical savy, escpecially to get visibility from the camera, outside your home
network. Picture is clear, the advanced motion detection settings, along with a schedular works very well to
alert me when something tiggers the camera. Very good product, would buy again. Price was 169.99 from Foscam
on special. Sorry Amazon you couldn't beat it. Foscam does supply very good technical help, but you may have
to wait on hold for awhile.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2014
The cameras work great and the large screen format is super clear. Ordered 4-cameras but after 24-hours one camera had its IR filter get jammed and it won't operate normally, only in IR mode (black & white). Had to order another one right away to get paid for the installation. While I could send it back I think I'll just take it apart so I can determine what it takes to repair them. The color and clarity can't be equaled for the price. I've bought more cameras since and had no problems.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2015
If and I say "If" you get a good one then it is a super camera. The infrared night vision is so clear it is scary and it can see in the dark out to over 100 feet. The picture day or night is very good
However, out of six cameras that I purchased three were bad for different reasons right out of the box.
One had an all red picture at all times.
One would go to an all static picture when night arrived.
One kept losing connection with the recording PC.
Foscam replaced the cameras with no hassle. It is just a shame that every one you get isn't a good one.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2015
I currently have two of these being used as expensive live deer cameras hooked up to Blue Iris NVR. The cameras are very large but have a excellent field of view and seem to be manufactured well. The mounting hardware and setup software is included in the box. The resolution and clarity of the cameras are wonderful with you easily being able to pick out the smallest of details. The range on the IR is excellent as well but are a magnet for spiders and bugs as to be expected for IR lights. These cameras do seem to lose network connectivity briefly at times for some unknown reason. They come back right away but it is enough to notice if you happen to be watching when it occurs.

*** Edit 10/26/2015 *** Had to drop to one star due to one of the two camera failing less than a month after being deployed. The network connection on one went out completely and while it will still power up, it will no longer respond on the network. Both cameras were still displaying the same symptoms of random disconnects as well prior to the one going out completely. I attempted to hook up locally as well as manual resetting using the button but nothing would bring the network back to life. Lucky for me, Amazon has excellent support and issued a RMA for the failed unit without any issues.

*** Edit 11/30/2015 *** The last remaining one has now failed also showing the exact same symptoms. At this point, I am done with this manufacturer. Much better options are available in this price range and did not plan on having to work on this stuff every month. I have 4 other cameras from a different manufacturer that have not failed yet.
review image review image
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2014
This is my first usage of PoE on a camera .. It worked great and saves a lot of cost for long 60' runs of power cord ... This is my 3rd Foscam camera and all are operating to my expectations. Needed a little Tech support and it was there and got all the problems, of my lack of experience fixed, on a Sunday !! I would recommend a call to Tech. service before a lot of time is spent on set up, if you are not an expert on camera set-up ...

The other 2 cameras are PT cameras and movement is smooth & quiet ...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2014
I wouldn't recommend anyone to buy this camera. I purchased one in the beginning of October. I've now had it for less than 3 months and the daytime picture is PINK! My grass isn't green, it's PINK. My trees and shrubbery aren't green, they're PINK! No amount of resets and reboots has resolved this problem and now I find it cannot be returned or exchanged.

In addition, I also bought a Foscam FI9828W also at the beginning of October. This is an outdoor PTZ camera and would actually be OK if it weren't for the nighttime glare created by the clear dome cover. The glare basically blocks 50% of the view making the camera somewhat worthless.

Unfortunately I cannot recommend any Foscam products to anyone.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2015
I really like this unit. Remarkable picture quality at 100+ feet. Day time is amazing High Def clarity at greater than 100 ft. Night time infrared is unbelievable clear at focus point but clarity fades quickly moving outward from the focus point, However my target focus +100' Long and 80' wide and motion detection really works much better than I thought it would, so I am impressed with the Camera's capabilities. It does very well what it says it does. However I still (after two months!) struggle to get this thing to report or record on a LAN Network storage device. Numerous customer service interactions led to mostly Unintelligible (sorry - but true!) frustration on both sides of the phone, where both parties just kind of decided to give up and "try some things" after hang-up. I even went as far as to buy their recommended (Amcrest 4-CH 1080POE.) NVR and Amcrest Customer Support simply could not make the model work on their equipment even though I bought it from Foscam! Simply an amazing and frustrating miscue by Foscam! So now I have a great - long distance HD camera, that I can log on to and look at in awe. Just can't do anything with the data, even though I now own a high quality Two Bay-NAS AND a top of the (Amcrest) line NVR. Simply Baffling, that I am now considering calling in the Geek Squad (BestBuy) to somehow make it all work, or have a computer electronics fire sale that Rivals a Circuit-City Bankruptcy! Product was delivered in proper packaging, but took a very long time to receive both products..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 23 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.