Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums Explore Home Audio All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Knock snow out cold Amazon Gift Card Offer girls2 girls2 girls2  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Winter Sports on Amazon.com SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 24, 2011
What a disappointment. I got this for my adult son, who was, at first, thrilled with it. Pour in the hot water, make the Tardis sound and watch it disappear and reappear on the other side of the mug. Do it only once, never again....

We've always washed this mug by hand in lukewarm water, no soap, no scrubbies, just using our fingers, lightly. No messing with the outside, we wanted to be extra careful the decal didn't come off.

Sadly, it started to chip, when dry, almost immediately. And today, after 2 months of occasional use, not even once every day, I was rinsing the mug, as always in lukewarm plain water, and a lot of the decal just slid off on my fingers. When I looked at the mug, much of the decal still on the mug was wrinkled, so I left it. After it dried, most of what was left was glued back on, some areas weren't. My son won't use it again lest the rest of the decal slides away.

Bottom line, this would be cool, watching the Tardis disappear and reappear is fun. But after the first time, set it on a shelf and just remember how it worked. Not made for using every day for any length of time, you'll end up with a plain dark blue mug.

If you want to keep it looking good, use it to hold pencils or paperclips. Keep it room temperature and dry. Don't touch the outside, except the handle and bottom. It might last longer than 2 months if you're very careful.
1515 comments252 of 261 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2011
I was SO excited when I received this as a gift. Being a huge Doctor Who fan, I obviously love this mug. Disappearing TARDIS? Awesome idea. But after just ONE wash, the paint started chipping off. I kept using it because I just loved it, but after 4 washes, the entire mug is almost bare.
As a note, I don't have a dishwasher, so I hand wash using non-acidic, all natural dishsoap. I could understand if this isn't dishwasher safe, but please, I didn't even use a scouring pad.
11 comment138 of 145 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2011
I am sooo disappointed in this product, the decal is very shoddy and is already peeling after only a few times of use. I wish I had read the other customers comments before I purchased the item. :( this is an EPIC FAIL in my book!
0Comment34 of 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is just a wonderful cup for Doctor Who fans. My son got one for his sister, and the TARDIS still disappears and re-appears after several months of regular use and hand washing. At 12 ounces it's the size of an average coffee mug so she doesn't fill it quite up when she makes a cup of tea so the tea steeps strong enough for her tastes. She's been simply thrilled with it and I've been very happy with how well it's held up. No fading at all on the image.

EDIT: The first couple of months the image held up just fine, but then the decal started peeling. My daughter was very disappointed, she loves this cup. We are currently using it for holding pencils so it doesn't need to be washed. We only hand washed it, it's never been in a dishwasher. I recommend rinsing only if you're going to be using this regularly.
0Comment86 of 98 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2011
I was given this as a gift and I read the care instructions carefully and have followed them to a T, but after a few months, the design doesn't last. It is really cute and is fun at first, but then you have an ugly mug.
0Comment26 of 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2011
My son purchased this mug for my birthday. Great idea except the decal that is put on the mug of the tardis just keeps peeling off. It has always been hand washed and more pieces come off every time.
0Comment29 of 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2011
This product, for starters, is no toy. It has been mistakenly labeled as such, possibly affecting its overall rating. Regardless of this mishap, it still looks cool...darn cool. The Tardis actually disappears and reappears on the other side, depending on how hot the liquid contents are. Truly, this is a great idea for a sci-fi themed mug. It can be used in the microwave and its larger size makes it perfect for a cup of hot tea. Now for the only disappointment: It is not dishwasher safe. So, be prepared to hand wash this mug after every use.
33 comments44 of 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2011
When I got this for christmas I was excited. I read all the care instructions and followed them. Despite this the decoration on the mug started to chip right away. No, I never put it in the dishwasher or the microwave. Save your money.
0Comment18 of 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2011
Well first off this isn't a toy.

I am very pleased with it. Good size, perfect for a morning cup of coffee. I had no issues with the Tardis disappearing and re-appearing as advertised. A must-buy for any Doctor Who fan.
0Comment8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2012
The mug looks great, has great weight and is comfortable to hold. It feels durable and is slightly larger than most coffee mugs. The Tardis disappears and reappears as advertised and the artwork is top notch for a mug. The problem is that after the first use, the paint is already chipping slightly. It may have been a bubble in the paint, but I hope it does not spread and ruin the cup. A great novelty item.
review image review image review image
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.