Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums Explore Home Audio All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty V-Day Valentine's Day Cards Bring a little greenery into your home Amazon Gift Card Offer girls2 girls2 girls2  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now SnS

Price:$1,999.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 3, 2013
I actually purchased the 2X for work (2 head, 2 color) 3D printer for work. It was such an incredible tool I bought a Replicator 2 for my house. What can I say? This thing can make almost anything. Well, there is a learning curve to do that. First, this is a revision 1 machine and that means it comes with all the problems a first release will have. Some issues can be as simple as not leveling (tramming) the build plate correctly to machines that are DOA. This is a complicated device with both electronics and mechanical devices that can be knocked out of alignment because of rough shipping. They (Makerbot) were also having teething issues with both machines. Loose screws, random items installed incorrectly, an extruder with a problematic tension system. Here's the thing that I found out when I got mine. Some people have a problem with "X" and yet other people never have a problem with "X"....the only thing that was repeatable was the Delrin Extruder needed to be upgraded..it was so apparent that Makerbot now sells the upgrade (but aren't putting in the machines yet probably because they need to get rid of parts inventory). There is also a learning curve on the software. You need to be able to use basic CAD. That's the reason you want a 3D printer right? Various CAD out there..some free (Google SketchUp OpenScad) but I like Cubify Invent. $50 is cheap for a full CAD and Invent is great because it was built from the ground up for 3D printing...not designing houses or modify Ford engines. Then you have to have a mechanical bend to you....you can't just sacrifice a chicken and cool parts fall out of the printer.

Now, after all that you're probably thinking "Wait..he gave it 5 stars?"

Sure did...I own a machine shop with large CNC equipment...but the Replicator is an entirely new way of producing goods. Not only that but I work with CAD all day...so, for me, it's easy to sit down and design art...or print out scanned works of art...or make small parts for around the house...you are (almost) only limited in your imagination. There is also soft rubbery filament you can get, wooden plastic filament, and nylon (STRONG!) filament you can buy. Even though this tech has been around since the 80's and there are professional machines out there that can do incredible things, only within the last few months has their been a product/price point like this. Yes, the kits have been around for a while (2?3? years?) but I wanted something I could take out of the box and learn on. My 2X was making parts from the minute I turned it on. I have sold 2 jobs at work on it and produced in house test jigs for several products we make.

Again, this is not a magic box that you wave a wand at and loving goodness falls out. This is a tool every bit as useful and complicated as a minature CNC machine. You need a certain skill set or the willingness to learn. If you're an artist you'll need to learn some mechanical skills but I know of 3 people on Google Groups who are already selling original artwork from theirs.

"Tea, Earl Gray, Hot" (if you get the reference you need to go order one right now....)
review image review image review image
1010 comments147 of 161 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2013
Received this unit on Nov 27th.
Very excited to be the first "kid" on the block with a 3D printer.
Unboxing and setting it up felt like Christmas had come early. I even bought the glass build plate - to avoid the reported issues with the acrylic plate being out of true.
Printed out the Nut and Bolt test printable from the SD card. Worked great.
Printed the stretchy bracelet - again worked great.
Tried to print the little dinosaur and was good - right up until it got to the head and it looked like the poor little guy had an afro with severe bed head. Or was shot in the head. Take your pick.
Printing got progressively worse from there. Several "air prints", multiple mid print failures, etc.
after each failure I checked the build plate for level - it was. I unloaded and reloaded filament multiple times.
Eventually the extruder would not load the filament at all.
It was completely occluded.
I went online to Makerbot support and found that I had contact support for that issue with this replicator unit.
Opened a support ticket on Nov 30 (Saturday). Did not get a response until Dec 5th (Thursday) . Granted there was a weekend in there but still I would expect something sooner than that for the amount of money laid out for this device. I also called and left voice mails on the support phone line asking for some kind of follow up. Twice. I finally got a response after sending a message via their facebook page.
So I did some more basic trouble shooting under the guidance of support and turned out I need to have the bar assembly replaced. Makerbot support shipped me a replacement assembly which I received on Dec 7th.
This is the process to replace: [...]
This is not something that everyone would want to do.
After replacing the bar assembly and getting ~5 minutes into a new stretchy bracelet I now get Heater Error #4 & Heater Error #5 messages displaying. The extruder refuses to get hot at this point and I can't unload the filament.
I called support back this morning and explained where we were at.. They suggested I disassemble the unit (again) and send them the bar assembly AND the motherboard from the bottom of the unit.
At this point I balked and said I'm not taking this apart again and removing even more components. I asked for a replacement unit to be shipped as I felt this one was defective and had done enough troubleshooting and repairs to warrant an exchange. They responded by saying that they don't have any inventory to do an exchange.
They sent me a UPS shipping label via email to have me ship this unit back for them to repair it and ship it back to me.
Expected turnaround time is 2 weeks (~12/23).
Merry Christmas.

So at this point, I am extremely disappointed with the unit and support. It has promise, and when it does work it seems to be great. 2 Stars for now.
I will post an update after I get my unit back.
22 comments45 of 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2014
I’ve been itching to get into 3D printing for some time now but had never taken the plunge previously due to the high cost and high maintenance required to keep a 3D printer in spec.

That said, my purchase of the Makerbot Replicator 2 was an impulse buy. I just got a wild hair up mabutt and clicked the “Add to Cart”, then removed it, then added it back several times during the day. Once Amazon’s site displayed the message, “Order in the next 6 seconds and get it by Friday 14 March 2014”, I went ahead and purchased it because at that point, it was less a desire for a 3D Printer and more of a battle to see if I could add it to my cart and check out in 6 seconds. (I succeeded, BTW. Curse you Jeff Bezos for making it so easy!)

Fast forward to Friday the 14th of March when it arrived.

Unboxing:

The unit arrived in a well-packed cardboard box. The first thing one sees when opening the box is the Owner’s manual. It sits in a recessed cut-out in a large cardboard piece that sits on top of everything else in the box. Removing that cardboard “layer” exposes the 3D Printer itself. There was plenty of protection for the unit, and its internal parts (the rods and belts and gears) were secured via plastic, snap-on bars and several large, thick zip ties.

Assembly & Setup:

Since the first thing you see when opening the box is the owner’s manual I got the distinct impression the manufacturer wanted me to actually read it prior to assembly and setup. How dare they insult my geekiness! (I did follow the instructions because breaking a $2500 printer trumps gaining a few geek points) Assembly of the unit was painless and straightforward. The manual covered just about every step of the process with the only exception being “when” to connect the USB cable from the printer to the computer. (This is, btw, just an option…you do not “need” to ever connect it to a computer)

Note on PLA vs. ABS Plastic

PLA plastic is a biodegradable plastic filament made from corn or some crap like that. Printing with PLA plastic is a bit easier than ABS since its melt behavior is a bit more predictable, or so I gather from reading on various sites. It is also stronger than ABS Plastic but there is a drawback... it’s more brittle than ABS Plastic. When ABS parts are repeatedly "bent", they flex back and forth until they eventually fail. PLA Plastic will snap rather than bend and eventually fail. I’ve heard it said by people with more sensitive noses than mine that PLA Plastic, when printing, smells faintly like pancakes. ABS plastic smells like, well, nasty, old burning plastic. We all know that smell so if I’m going to spend 5+hours printing out some complex part I’d rather smell flapjacks than some toxic, puke-inducing ABS smell any day…

Initial Power Up:

Powering on the unit for the first time runs what I call the “First Run Start-Up Script”. It walks you through the process of leveling the build plate (where the printed items sit) and feeding in the filament to the extruder head, and printing a test piece.

Leveling the Build Plate:

Leveling the build plate is the single most important part of owning a 3D Printer. If you screw this part up, you’re going to have a bad day, mmkay? Go back and read the previous sentence again. Twice. Leveling the build plate ensures the extruder head prints the PLA Plastic in just the right amount. If the build plate is too close to the extruder, the PLA plastic cannot be extruded. If it’s too far away, the printed plastic is too “stringy” and does not adhere to the layer underneath. There is also another reason it is so important to level the build plate. The build plate is created from Acrylic. Even though it is relatively thick it can, and will, warp over time from being heated in one area while remaining cold in others. Some may see this cost saving step as a detriment, but I do not. It’s simply the laws of economics. Some corners had to be cut to keep the cost affordable. This was one of those cut corners. There are glass build plates available for ~$99-$109 depending on where you buy it and I do recommend purchasing one if you’re going to put the printer through heavy use cycles. I also recommend using the mfg.-supplied blue painter’s tape on the build plate. It makes removing parts easier and protects the surface of the build plate. I also recommend purchasing about 20 of these strips (less than $30 at the mfg.’s site)

Printing your first piece:

Printing one of the designs from the included SD card the printer ships with is probably the best way to see if the printer is properly setup and operational. I recommend the forever bracelet and the nut & bolt. Both put the printer through its paces and provide you with an idea what they are capable of doing.

Mfg-supplied Software:

The software is not included. You must go to the mfg site and download the software. It is basic print-only software. It does not allow you to “create” or “edit” files. You can print it or save it in a different format.

3D CAD Software:

There are many different kinds of free 3D CAD software out there so I will not cover all of them. I haven’t touched a CAD program since 1990 so I am approaching this as someone who is brand new to CAD and just wants to get started making things, rather than getting an engineering degree before I even power the printer up. I will cover only the ones I tried, and I my “rating” of them is, at best, subjective and based on my personal learning curve…YMMV, obviously, depending on your experiences with CAD software.

1 – Blender (Freeware)
Pro: Very powerful! Tons and tons of options and capabilities!
Con: Overly complicated for the “Novice” user, in my opinion. To me, it was a PITA compared to the other CAD programs, TBH. I could print everything I ever wanted to print using the other programs below before I could master this software enough to design & print 1 item.

2 – 123Make/Design (Free online version. Design stuff right in your browser!)
Pro: Surprisingly easy to get started with and create stuff quickly.
Con: It sometimes doesn’t want to let you download what you created. It’s not so much a case where it wants you to upgrade to the premium account…the wwb site just has some "eccentric" idiosyncrasies you must deal with, though they are tolerable enough that I often use this program.

3 -- TinkerCAD(Free online version. Design stuff right in your browser!)
Pro: Also surprisingly easy to use and also able to quickly get stuff created.
Con: Not “quite” as powerful as the 123 software, though it is close enough that I use it as much as the 123 software. I use this about 50% of the time and the 123 software the other 50%. Often times, I'll create in this program, then "tweak" the design in 123 since it allows a little more fine-grain control.

CAD Software Summary:

In case you haven’t guessed by now, I use #’s 2 & 3 most often. When I’m done with what I’m designing, I save/download the file as a .stl file and import that into the Makerbot print software. I could also copy the .stl file to the SD card and put it into the SD Card reader on the printer and print out the part without using the computer at all. (In case I want to get some gaming in while watching my print)

Failed Prints:

I have had 2 prints fail. In each case, however, the failure was my design, not a defect in the printer.

Failure 1 – In the first instance, I started printing a part and realized that, because of my poor design, there would be an un-supported section that would most likely fail, so I stopped the print. (Think of “printing” a wall with a doorway…if you printed it lying down, as a flat surface, it’d look like a flat square with a missing section, where the doorway is located. If you print it oriented vertically, the “arch” of the doorway is not supported and the plastic would dip down and ruin the print, so I stopped the print process about 1 minute into the print so I could design in support for the archway of the door)

Failure 2 – In the second failure, it was due to my forgetfulness. I have an Ultra USB 3.0 USB to SATA Adapter so I created a USB 3.0 Docking Station to put it in so I can hot swap my spare SSDs. In the design phase, I realized it needed an internal width of 1mm larger than I initially drew it... When I went back into the program to widen it, I got sidetracked with adding some bells and whistles to the design and completely forgot to widen it, lol.

Sources of 3D Objects:

Thingiverse is a major repository of 3D Designs you can access and download to print or modify. There are thousands and thousands of designs available and you may find what you want to print has already been created, thereby saving you much time and effort. Additionally, there are many conversion programs available that convert one file type into another so even if the item you want is in a different format, you may be able to export or convert it to a language the Replicator 2 can print

My impressions after having used it for four days:

I’m happy with the purchase thus far. And, I’m also cognizant of the fact these printers require maintenance and replacement parts on a fairly regular basis…which increases their cost of ownership. It’s something you should keep in mind as well unless you have $2500 to just throw away.

I’m having a lot of fun designing and making things, and I’m learning CAD skills as I go along. The more stuff I make, the more I think, “Gee, I want to make one of those XXXX too!!!”.

I started with only the goal of printing some fan grills, case parts, and air ducts for my computer. My list has grown to 60+ items I now want to make, and the list keeps growing and growing and growing…This is a good sign because it means I plan on using the heck out of this printer…and I’d better be using the heck out of this printer for the price I paid…
0Comment48 of 53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2013
This was my second makerbot. I had a cupcake CNC so I wasn't new to 3D printing. This item printed horribly from day one with a major Y-axis problems. After over 1 week of me servicing the item and 15 hours later, the printer still didn't work. Makerbot in 99% of cases does not accept returns. They will refurbish a new $2000+ item and mail it back to you at your expense both ways. This is the extent of their support.

They did finally agree to a return with me again paying shipping both ways and charging a 4% stocking fee. Look at their terms at makerbot.com. Do not support a company with these policies or you may be out a significant chunk of change for a broken, unsupported item.
0Comment106 of 126 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2013
OK. This is just too big and complex of a purchase not to put some words down for potential Replicator 2 owners.

First let me say, I am in tinkerer heaven with this machine and somewhere in technological and logistical purgatory.

A bit of background might be in order. I am more from the designer/filmmaker background and not so much of a technological person. I love to tinker, but learning new software and reading manuals is tough on my brain. I have been designing houses and products in Sketchup Pro for years and am having some growing pains trying to get into higher level 3d programs and more intense CAD programs.

Why is this important? Because with all of my challenges and the temperamental nature of 3d printing, I'm having a great time with the Replicator 2. I have been printing the spools off of this thing and my kids are having a great time.

Much of what I started with were the simple gadgets and gizmos that came on the included SD cards, but I have since moved on to things printed off of Thingiverse using the Makerbot software. I had a few hits and misses, but went back to Standard settings and just using default settings and things have been working out really well. I would say I'm at about an 80% success rate. Not all failings are the printers fault as well. Part is due to my impatient nature.

Mostly I bought this printer so that I could start my wristwatch company again and get back to working on design prototypes without paying thousands to have an industrial designer help out and then send them off to a print service. I'm HAPPY to report that I've printed many copies of my first watch from SKetchup and was even able to add working parts to it in order to make it a working prototype. That alone has made the whole purchase worthwhile. A couple more projects like this and the printer will have paid for itself (even though, I still think it could be a little less expensive, because of the competition coming from other companies). That said, you get what you pay for and it seems that I've gotten a lot in my opinion.

Right now, as I type this the Replicator 2 is churning out another watch band for my ipod nano. I had one break on me, when I was trying to remove the rafts (learn what this is and use it) after the print was complete.

As for problems, there have been a few, but were easily fixed...even by me:) Tech support has been good at getting back to me and the PDF manual has tons of good stuff. Also, there are so many videos and such to help out when you get stuck.

I had the print head freeze up already. After freaking out for a bit and cursing the thing back to hell, I settled down, found some info on what might be wrong and set about taking off the fan and extruder. Just as was thought, there was some built-up plastic jamming things up in the extruder. After a couple minutes with needle nose pliers, I was able to put it back together, plug it in and get back to having fun. NOTE: Having to take it apart once actually gave me a better feel for how this thing is built and less scared to take it apart in the future.

So, why the 4 stars and not 5? Well, nothing is perfect and this thing is far from it. HOWEVER, when it's working and I'm paying attention and showing patience it is doing almost everything that I ask of it. It's not going to make very salable products for me, but when it comes to design prototyping and making the kids happy, it is all worth it.

RANDOM TIPS AND NOTES:

-Take the time to read every page of the owner's manual.
-Find as much other info as you can.
-Print the sample files first, just to get a feel for print speed, resolution, etc.
-Use Rafts as much as possible. Especially on long, low objects.
-If you buy JustPla filment you will want to print the holder that someone has posted on Thingiverse.
-Download a boat load of stuff to print from Thingivers and practice.
-JustPla's filament seems to work fine. The quality is fine, but it can be a bit inconsistent. I've had a knot of sorts mid-way through a spool and my latest spool has a few feet that are fairly wobbly and kinked, but it's easy to get and affordable and seems to print fine. I have four colors from them and all seems ok. Again, they wont fit the factory spool for the replicator and neither will the Sainsmart(?) I sent that back because of the cardboard spool.
-DeltaMaker filament seems pretty good. I've used it a lot. It fits on the stock spool holder, but what I don't like about the stock spool is how far it sets the spool out from the printer. I don't think it really does anything bad, but it just seems odd to me.
-pay attention to load and unload the filament properly and save yourself headaches.
-I use the blue Scotch tape sheets on all my prints after having various problems with either side of the print platform.
-Makerbots filament seems like the best so far. I've never ordered extra from them, so I can't speak to the shipping speed that others spoke of.
-Keep the machine away from cats if possible:)
-Canned air is your friend.
-If you're printing in a carpeted room, discharge your static electricity before playing around with the printer. I've had no problems, but have had a couple of tiny zaps from static. Doesn't seem too harmful, but since there's an SD card and such, why take chances.
-LEVEL THE PLATFORM from time to time. It stays pretty level most of the time, but just for good measure I go through the two minute process every few prints, just in case. It's a pain to get through and hours print and not have noticed that something is bunged up, because the platform wasn't leveled.
11 comment33 of 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2013
So Ive had the machine for a week now and it will not successfully print anything. Ive watched youtube videos and adjusted thermocoupler wiring, updated firmware, and restored factory settings all to no avail. I contacted Makerbot support and their best guess is that the wiring the machine was shipped with is bad. They want to send me new wires and have me rewire my brand new $2200 machine... WTF... They dont even know for a fact that will fix it but they said that theres a 90% chance. I knew I was rolling the dice with this product and its really my fault for thinking maybe the company had fixed all the little bugs and issues from some of the earlier negative reviews Id read. Guess not. If their support team comes through and surprizes me with a fix and the machine works great after this I may update my review but as of right now I have an expensive paperweight that Im regretting purchasing. Please dont buy this product...
UPDATE 11/14/13
After speaking with Makerbot support this morning Ive decided this printer is not for me. If this part is failing right out of the box imagine whats in store 6 months down the road. I figured itd be best to cut my losses now because I realize this company is more than happy to help you fix your printer as long as you are willing to continue to pay. So the guys over there said theyd take back the printer that never worked but I have to pay a restocking fee and Im out the very expensive insured shipping charges... when I spoke with Shikira in support she explained to me that the wiring they ship the machines with is not as good as the wiring that they will send you to fix your machine so my question to this company is why ship your machine with substandard crappy parts to begin with? I dont want to become a makerbot repair wizard. If you want a project printer that doesnt work out of the box this is your machine. Im not the only one. Trust me. Just watch all the youtube videos and read the reviews. DO NOT BUY!!!!
44 comments21 of 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2013
My company had a requirement for some light prototyping and thought this product would be a perfect fit. We purchased the unit with the extended warranty and set it up last week. The unit will print for the first couple of minutes and then just stop dispensing material. We have not been able to get a complete build as of yet. I can tell that we have spent well over 16 hours troubleshooting (myself as well as other engineers) this machine. Since it was a a brand new machine I would of expected Makerbot to just replace it but instead they drowned us in pointless step by step troubleshooting instructions that were given to us over the course of 3 days to no avail. We have done everything from take the print heads completely apart to update the software to a new 7.3 version. Now we are spending more time taking the heads off the machine and sending them back to Makerbot to rebuild. This is all on a brand new machine!!
BTW there is no exchange or return policy if you open the box you are stuck with that machine. There are other companies out there that have better return polices and product support. Look Elsewhere!!
1717 comments113 of 142 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2013
Now, to prefix I've build 20+ printers, I own two, and I'm designing my own. I know my printers. This has got to be hands down the worst printer I have used.
It comes out of the box fine and prints great. Initially you will be impressed, but then the trouble starts.

The extruder jams constantly. CONSTANTLY. This is due to more bad design choices that I care to list. I have tried everything to get this to go reliably from custom addons-to oiling the filament before it goes in, and I have just learned to accept that I will have to try three or four times to get a print.

The XY stage is terrible. The printer might have a steel frame, but all the parts that actually move are injection molded plastic of the absolute lowest quality. I mean, there is a visible 1cm sag on the Z stage molding. So what happens is that you. A. have to oil it constantly due to the cheapest brass bushings you can imagine. and B. it wobbles like that song about wobbling. It shows on the prints, surfaces are never uniform like you'd expect.

Terrible electronics. The ribbon cable that drives the X-carriage will break. It will, this is a fact. You will have to repair this after about 100 hours of printing. Then after another 100 hours, you will have to repair it again. The way it holds the cable in place flexes it thousands of times a print in one spot. This wears the cable out and breaks it. It is also the incorrect type of ribbon cable to use in this situation to begin with. I don't get the impression that the makerbot engineers have the slightest idea what they're doing anymore. The main control board is also frighteningly easy to fry. Hope you bought makercare.

The interface is nice, the software is okay.

The machine looks cool, but honestly I get the feeling they spent more money on the appearance than they did the mechanics.

Support is great if you have makercare. They are sometimes just extraordinarily slow.

Don't buy this. Get a Makergear M2.
11 comment24 of 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2014
First off I'd like to tell you I ordered my Replicator 2 from Autodesk not here on Amazon. There was a special offer with access to their site so I ordered it there Big Big mistake, not that ordering the machine here would of been any better since its a piece of junk to start with. I ordered mine February 16th and received it about a week later and have been trying to get the thing to actually work correctly since.

First thing out of the box was the front cooling fan did not come on, no big deal things happen during shipping, so I contacted their support, told them the fan did not work,so they sent me a new control board saying that they thought this was the problem along with a new fan just in case. I thought cool they are really on the ball I'll be up and running in no time.... not really, it took a week to get the first parts they sent me after installing the new board and fan I started it up and still had the same problem no front fan, so I checked the wiring and there I found that whoever assembled this machine crushed all the wires completely in half no connectivity at all, contacted support again telling them the problem and waited another week to get replacement wiring and cooling fan that had been crushed as well as front fan wires.

All I could think was wow this is the industry leader and this is the junk they let out their door?
First it had to go through some kind or quality control and be tested, so again someone dropped the ball their since the wires were cut the fan could not of worked during this process. and it still made it out their door and to mine, I'm sorry thats NOT an Industry Leader thats chinese junk

So I received the parts and installed them, but, wait still no front fan again, by this point I have lost a major job and the customer who placed the order so I'm not really happy with my new $2400.00 purchase ( $2100.00 for the makerbot and another $350.00 for the warranty). The tech person helping me was the only redeeming quality of this product since he had a few more ideas and after another round of testing we found that I had received another bad control board from them. They tested the board that was originally sent in my replicator 2 and found that it was bad as was the one shipped to me so he sends me another control board and again I wait a week to receive it and install it and finally have a working machine after just over a month of working on it.

Now this is a company that promotes itself as the Industry leader in 3d printing, I have worked with several industry leaders (In other fields) and have never had these kinds of issues or wait times for parts this is what I expect out of cheap knockoff junk ordered out of china at a cut rate price. If this would've happened with an industry leader I wouldn't of had to wait a week between finding the problem and getting parts and they would of offered some kind of incentive or compensation for all the trouble and to keep me as a customer. Makerbot says its working so there you go happy printing.

I'm sorry I waited so long to post this but wanted to wait for the anger to go away a little before writing this. I understand that this is a new field and new tech and that its going to have some problems to start with but that should not be in the assembly of the product. this is a 3rd rate product be careful when purchasing since it doesn't come with a warranty. ( you have to purchase that separately)
22 comments16 of 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2013
The makerbot rep 2 suffers from reliability issues. I speak of this first hand as I am the owner of 2. First unit arrived with a motherboard failure and it was sent back to their NY HQ for replacement. Then the endstop switch broke, print head went out of alignment and so forth. We were in the middle of a project, so we decided to pick up another one in the meantime. The printer arrived brand new from Amazon sold by Makerbot, and after printing just one part, it quits with heating failure #4. Nevertheless I am deeply disappointed to say the least. I wouldn't recommend the Makerbot Replicator 2.

Updated: Round 2 of new problematic Makerbot.
First up I need to give credit to where credit is due. David Kim is an excellent tech and is extremenely helpful. However it doesn't diminish the fact that this is a sub par design with fallible parts right out of the box. My new makerbot would not extrude and the filament is jammed. I was instructed to preheat and push the jammed filament out. It turns out that the filament is caked on good and won't even budget with heat. I even tried to push the caked on filament out with a hex tool and no luck. Now I have 6K worth of machines dead in my office.

Final update:
Parts arrived and the faulty bar mount was replaced. Thanks to a YouTube video, replacing the bar mount was pretty painless. Happy to report that Makerbot has been printing non-stop for 3 days now. Like a champ!
I've changed my initial one star to four stars for one sole reason - Makerbot support team is top notch and very helpful. They even overnight the parts to us just to make sure that we got the parts in time. Would I still recommend the Makerbot Rep 2? A cautionary YES. You just need to be prepared to take the unit apart and fix it on your own with the help of their support team. It is still much like a hobby machine where much tinkering and tuning are needed to make it run 100%. If you are not willing to get your hands dirty so to speak, this machine may not be for you.
11 comment15 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.