Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Fujifilm 16326078 pro 400H Color Negative Film 15473707 ISO 400, 35mm, 36 Exposures (Green/White/Purple)
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon March 22, 2012
Whatever subject matter you shoot, you will not be disappointed with this film. It has an excellent tonality that interprets portraits well, but it is vibrant enough for landscape and photojournalism.

PROS
- Provides more contrast and saturation than Kodak portra
- 400 speed for extreme versatility
- Prints very well
- Forgiving in the darkroom (so I'm told)

CONS
- Grain (minutely) too prominent in low-light situations

Given the current trend of over-saturation and high contrast in digital photography, this film doesn't look out-dated, and particularly fits well with modern wedding photography. As a wedding photographer, this is a plus, although I'm not convinced that I wouldn't desaturate a little if taking this on a professional shoot. With good lighting and a decent camera, this film really shines and I would definitely recommend it for photojournalism, street photography, travel and landscape photography. If you're primarily a portrait photographer not into high contrast and color saturation...you're probably better off with Portra.
22 comments| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2012
If you shoot film (and more people should), this is the best film for skin. The key is to slightly overexpose it anywhere from 1-3 stops (in shade over expose more, in sun overexpose less). This brings out the contrast and the rich and luscious pastels that this film is famous for!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2012
I've only shot one or two rolls of this film, but I really like its characteristics. As others have mentioned, its great for portraits because of the beautiful skin tones it produces, and its not too saturated, so you don't get funky colors with this film. Instead, you get sort of pastel-looking colors, including really soft and smooth skin colors. Don't expect to capture a really vibrant scene on this film. I also did a little macro work with this film, and I was pleased with the resulting images. Though the images don't "pop" the way some colorful macros do, I actually like the sort of subdued colors that this film produces. The grain is prominent in low-light, and this film doesn't work all that well when pushed, so just keep that in mind. Still, sometimes a little natural film grain can add to an image, so just experiment and see how you like to use this film.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2015
Good film I like it although I would not use it for its stated use as a portrait film. It's colors are a little vibrant (like most Fuji color film stock) for portrait use. It's great for when you want to give your colors a little pop. If shooting portraits is your thing I'd suggest Kodak Portra. The photo is a scanned negative of a shot taken with this film with no edits other then the name and phone number of the liquor store being blurred out.
review image
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2016
I have gone back to 35mm film photography. I still have my very good DSLR but I done not need to see my photos instantly. This film produced very good pictures but they were a little washed out. Thus I cannot give it a 5 star rating. I will say this for a film with a 400 ISO the pictures which were scanned and downloaded to my computer were more than adequate. I am now trying a color film with a 100 ISO for comparison.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2016
If you just want to test it out and don't want to commit to buying in bulk this is a great offer. It was important to me that it be delivered quick as I didn't want the film to take long in transit and possibly spoil. It is by far my favorite color film stock. I bought it after reading an in depth blog by Johnny Patience. [...]/ go check his blog out. He talks about Jose Villa's film stock and how to emulate the look on digital. Although I have tried, (with Mastin Lab Presets) nothing compares to this actual film. The greens in this stock are amazing. The photo was developed by Richard's Photo Lab, another great lab to use to develop your film would be the FIND lab.
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2014
I recently started shooting some film again and decided to give Fuji Pro 400H a try based on what I had read in several places. This is a great all around film that provides very nice greens and other cool colors. I shot the roll metered overexposed 2 stops (shot at 100) and the results where very nice saturated images (processed normally at 400).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2015
I have used this film for many years and will continue to do so since I still use film cameras as a professional photographer.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2012
Fresh. clear. sharp and bright I adore this film. 35mm film is still the standard we rate a photograph and this film will not disappoint. Film is hard to get so I am also gratful to be able to buy it online with such positive results.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2013
Great portrait film - excellent skin tones, fine grain and subtle overall color rendition. Gives new life to my collection of F-series Nikons.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.